Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
86%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.4

based on 8 reviews
86%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

8reviews

  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
  • 2 Stars
  • 1 Stars
    1

Poor Service

By

October 14, 2014

platinumelite

Although this is a new property it is not very well organized and the staff is not trained well. The first room had a live cockoach in it and the second room the glass in the bathroom was dirty but had a lid on it. I extended my stay and stopped at the desk to update my room key staff was not able to do that correctly and I had to go back down to desk again to get that corrected. Not a good overall experience

Posted byHotelStaff
October 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. We do need to know about guest's experience during their stay whether it is good or bad. I do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced and would like you to know that we discussed the issues with the hotel staff. As we are a newly opened property, training the staff is very important and we take it seriously so our guests can have a positive experience. We hope that you will try Candlewood Suites South again and have a much better experience. Betty Anderson Director of Sales
Read More
Read Less

great location and amenities beyond expectations

By

October 14, 2014

I did not expect such a restful visit but this suite was beyond what i thought i would get.
The beach is a 10 minute drive and the city is at the most 20 minutes downtown.
The mall is only 5 and great eateries along the way.
comfortable bed with a nice little recliner to stash away and read a book or watch TV.
the staff was friendly and helpful plus knowledgeable with the area.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review about our hotel! The entire staff at the Candlewood Suites South works hard to ensure that all of our guest's expectations are met or exceeded. It is so good to hear that we succeeded. We look forward to hosting you in the future and, again, thank you! Betty Anderson Director of Sales
Read More
Read Less

From great view to hate view

By

October 08, 2014

When I checked in on 09/23/2014 the 1st person I saw was Mr. T (too-shay) standing behind the front desk. He had a warm, inviting smile and was very courteous and professional. I was only in town for one night and was checking out the next day. I arrived around 1600 and there was a small snafu with checking in. Mr. T had a problem with charging me. He didn't quite know how to do it because I reserved the room with a c.c. but was actually paying in cash.

It took about 5 mins to make a phone call and get everything straightened out and I was given my room key. I was assigned room 305 and it was beautiful! It has a view of the bay and you will get a nice sunset in the evenings. The Queen size bed is very comfortable and the kitchen is a very nice touch. I'm about 5'10" and the shower ceiling seemed to be 20 ft. high!

After freshening up I went to the lobby and there is a small but useful blu-Ray library. The movies are not the newest but they are FREE! I returned to my room and this is when I had a downfall in service. I put the disc into the in-room player and low and behold there was no signal from the player to the T.V.! After some investigating I noticed the HDMI cable was broken where it plugs into the T.V.

The T.V. is mounted on the wall and swings out and around for optimal viewing but somehow the cable bends when the T.V. is flat against the wall. After letting Mr. Touchet know about this, he immediately reassigned me to a room after checking with me to make sure I didn't mind. He told me to bring all my property down to the lobby so I could do the exchange.

I was only staying one night at the hotel but have been traveling for more than a month so I brought a lot of clothing with me. When Mr. T turned around and saw me standing there with a massive amount of property he was very, very apologetic because he had assigned me to room 306 which is right across the hall.

Needless to say I had to lug a complete wardrobe back to the elevator and down the hall but I did use a luggage cart on my return trip. Once inside the room I was actually a little disappointed. Room 306 seemed a little more crowded or slightly smaller than room 305 although they are directly across the hall from each other and share the same layout and furnishings and everything!

The biggest disappointment came once I looked out the window...the view is of a rundown repo business and the freeway leading towards N. Padre Island. I also noticed the door to Room 305 did not fully latch and required an additional tug to make sure it locked properly. This didn't bother me because I always pull doors fully closed but could be a safety issue to those who don't.

I checked out around 11:30 the next morning and was pleased to meet Pris at the front desk. She was a very kind spirited young woman and knew the area very well. She told me a few places close by that I could go to get my oil changed before making the trip back to San Antonio. I was also pleased to know that Mr. T had made a work order for the HDMI cable for room 305 and Pris made one that morning for the door of 305 once I made her aware it wouldn't latch properly.

The gym was very nice, the pool and veranda are amazing and I even had another guest tell me to try out the Barbecue pits there. He said they even clean them after you use them. When I went down to look at them, they looked brand new and barely used. They are under a veranda so your not baking while your cooking lol.

Lastly I would recommend getting a room on the odd number side. They have views of Oso Bay. Very beautiful setting.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. We need to hear from our guests about their stay - good or bad. I'm sorry that you had some negative experiences during your stay. We are a newly opened hotel and our staff is learning how to handle different situations. The Front Desk Associates did learn from this and, going forward, will know how to better handle these types of situations in the future. On the positive side, thank you for your kind words about our property. We are very proud of our hotel and our staff works hard to ensure that all of the guests have a great stay. Our guests do love all of the amenities we offer and use our facilities on a daily basis! Again, thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again! Betty Anderson Director of Sales
Read More
Read Less

great service and hospitality

By

October 07, 2014

We were greeted by a very friendly staff member. We were made to feel welcome from the very beginning. Everything was excellent. Clean room, nice TV, great bed, large desk area. Loved the kitchenette. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 10, 2014
Thank you for the great review of our property! The entire staff strives to ensure that all of our guests have the best stay ever! We appreciate the fact that you have taken the time to write the review and hope you can stay longer next time. Betty Anderson Director of Sales
Read More
Read Less

Best Place Best Price

By

October 07, 2014

platinumelite

In August we stayed there because the Holiday Inn downtown was full where I like to stay when we're in Corpus but my wife picked this place and I was upset but oh well; but it turnt out to be a great place and the staff their was simply wonderful. In it was truly like home away from home, I guess that was because my wife got up in the middle of the night to fix me steak n eggs, we'll obviously having a stove n refrigerator in the room was a BIG plus.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 10, 2014
Thank you for your kind words! We are very proud of our new hotel and the staff. Hearing from guests that they experienced everythiing that we strive to provide -- great service and a home-away-from-home atmosphere -- makes our day! Again, thank you and we hope to see you again! Betty Anderson Director of Sales
Read More
Read Less

Great Service, Clean and Comfortable

By

October 01, 2014

club

First time at Candlewood Suites. I loved the customer service, clean rooms, comfortable bed and all the amenities. Will definitely return again.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 10, 2014
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We appreciate the fact that you have taken the time out of your busy schedule to write about us. The entire staff works hard to ensure that your stay is everything you want it to be and more. Again, thank you, and we look forward to having you back. Betty Anderson Director of Sales
Read More
Read Less

Quick Leisure getaway

By

September 01, 2014

club

I just want to say that, our stay at Candelwood was great. the staff members and the Hotel all excellent! The customer service was outstanding and next time we come to the gulf coast this is our spot.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 10, 2014
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! Our staff strives to ensure that all of our guests have a wonderful stay and it is to good to hear that you did. We look forward to your return and love being your "spot" in Corpus! Betty Anderson Director of Sales
Read More
Read Less

Great Staff/ Hotel/

By

August 24, 2014

My Family and I had stayed at this Hotel for a week, the Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms are Clean and have plenty of room space, bathroom great size. Nice quality TV, Blue ray DVD player. They have extra small appliance that we use, just had to ask for them.

We like that the housekeeping Staff, When ever we need clean linens we could just ask for them. It seem like we where at home, very relaxing stay.

Gym great size, New top of the line equipment to use, Free Laundry Room very Clean plenty of washer's and Dryers to use.

Grocery's near by HEB, Walmart, Restaurants, Beach near by, Fishing spot near by. Boating Launching not far from the hotel.

Family loved the pool good size, New Grill's I was grilling most of the stay, they work great.

It was our first time that we stay at a Candlewood Suites great experience. Next time we come to Corpus we know where to stay the night.

For the Future Guest of Candlewood Suites, Candlewood dose not offer Free breakfast that's why they have full kitchen in the rooms. But they do have Free Coffee down stairs

The price could be little high but its Corpus Christi TX, if you do find a hotel with low price you will find out fast why.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 10, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review of our hotel! We appreciate the fact that you took the time to write it. Our hotel staff works hard to ensure that your stay will be the best ever and it is good to hear that we succeeded! Thank you again for your great comments. Betty Anderson Director of Sales
Read More
Read Less