Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
85%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.2

based on 36 reviews
85%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

36reviews

  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1

Poor Management

By

April 12, 2022

The staff in this hotel is poorly trained. It should not take 30 minutes to get check in. Person at the front desk did not know what he was doing and searched for the manager while guest were waiting. It appears this hotel is short on staff as the person at front desk was also working in the rooms. Wrong room type given to me. Body wash and body lotion were mislabeled. No hair dryer in the room. No one at the front desk - sign indicated they were working in the rooms. Could not get receipt at check out. Manager promised to compensate me but did not. As Spire member I stay in many IHG hotels. This one damages the brand name. Will not stay there again.

Read More
Read Less

WEDDING

By

September 27, 2021

ONE OF THE BEST STAYS I HAVE HAD RECOMMEND THIS PROPERTY TO EVRY ONE I KNOW THANK YOU AND YOURE STAFF FOR ALL THE HELP THEY GAVE ME

Read More
Read Less

Staff was great and very accommodating.

By

December 23, 2019

When I arrived the room smelled a little musty and the carpet was very dirty, I was going to be a guest there for a while so I asked the front desk if I could get it shampooed. Scott was very nice about it and got it shampooed right away. The rooms are roomy but are in very bad need of updating. I have read about people liking the bed so maybe I had a different mattress because It was not comfortable at all, it was just the old fashion basic kind of spring mattress, no pillowtop, just that shinney light blue material, thin spring mattress. I had a small dog and when we went out back to the designated doggy potty area for the first time there was dog poo everywhere and no poo bags. I told the front desk and they cleaned it up and got bags out there right away. I had a good stay but if I went back to the Elgin area I would probably stay somewhere else unless this hotel had been remodeled then I would definitely go back.

Read More
Read Less

good value

By

October 20, 2014

club

nice room, good value. they don't have housekeeping services on a daily basis, but you can exchange your towels and linens as you wish.

Read More
Read Less

Convenient to Interstate Highway and Business Areas

By

October 18, 2014

club

Choosing a stay near the Interstate Highway, between family members in the Chicago land area was convenient. Was a little tricky initially finding the suites in the business area the first time, but after that, piece of cake. Loved that we could cook our breakfast in the morning before heading out for daily adventures. That was one of the main reasons for choosing the Candlewood Suites. The staff were great, the few problems that we initially had were taken care of immediately. Would totally recommend staying at the Candlewood Suites.

Read More
Read Less

Nice place but maybe not so nice

By

October 16, 2014

club

Room was very spacious and nice except for stains on carpet.Staff was very accomodating of my one day early check in. Staff was not very understanding about how inconvieinient check out day is with no working elevator (broke the night before I checked out and was not fixed by morning).Other customer complaints heard in lobby were met with the same derision.

Read More
Read Less

Excellent stay

By

October 15, 2014

platinumelite

The staff was friendly and the room was clean, bed comfortable.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Thanks Again, Hotel Staff
Read More
Read Less

Great stay

By

October 12, 2014

platinumelite

Front desk employee very friendly. Very convenient location near the interstate and good sound proofing for a quiet night sleep.

Read More
Read Less

Great hotel if you can find it

By

October 09, 2014

platinumelite

Hotel was great, new and clean but hard to find. The kitchen amenities were excellent, great for cooking and had everything I needed.

Read More
Read Less

Bad Manager

By

October 02, 2014

platinumelite

The manager, Mahendra, has no people skills. We arrived at the Candlewood, Elgin, and Jamie, who was at the desk started to check us in. A guy came in AFTER us and the manager, Mahendra, came out to assist him. When we were done checking in Mahendra instructed Jamie to give the other guy a room before us even though he arrived AFTER we did. Jamie apologized to us and told us she did not know why Mahendra told her to assist the other guy first. What kind of nonsense is this!!!!

Posted byHotelStaff
October 06, 2014
The Gail Dunteman from hotel talked with guest and hopefully we can make it up to him on the next trip to our area. He has no futher question/issue.
Read More
Read Less

Great stay

By

September 25, 2014

club

This hotel has always amazed me. We first stayed in May of 2014 and again Sept. 2014. We are looking forward to our next stay in May of 2015!

Posted byHotelStaff
September 29, 2014
We know that you have a lot of choices when it comes to hospitality venues and hotel stays. We appreciate that you chose the Candlewood Suites Elgin NW for your current visit and provide the feed back.
Posted byHotelStaff
September 29, 2014
We know that you have a lot of choices when it comes to hospitality venues and hotel stays. We appreciate that you chose the Candlewood Suites Elgin NW for your current visit and provide the feed back.
Read More
Read Less

Un-Clean and Un-Healthy Room

By

September 10, 2014

I was very disappointed when i first entered the room. I found long hairs on the room floor, in the bath tub and in the sink. I was afraid to use any of the kitchen utensils for fear of what i would encounter. I won't be using this place again when i am back in the area.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 18, 2014
We are so sorry you experienced these issues during your stay at the Candlewood Suites. Although we do a thorough inspection of each room after cleaning, your room must somehow have been missed. Please accept our apology and give us another try soon. Thanks,
Read More
Read Less