Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
82%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.1

based on 198 reviews
82%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

198reviews

  • 5 Stars
    107
  • 4 Stars
    41
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    16

No A/C, bad smell

By

July 22, 2022

club

This was the first and last time that I will attempt to stay at a Candlewood Suites. I thought it would be on par with Holiday Inn Express and it was no where close. The clientele were questionable. There’s a big sign in the lot that says that the hotel is not responsible for your belongings getting stolen, basically. Then, it was really hot at the front desk, thought maybe it was a fluke. Nope, my room was 76 degrees. I turned down the AC and the room went up to 77. The front desk person told me that I could come get a fan. What?! They were supposedly “full”so they couldn’t give me a different room. I ended up leaving and asking for a refund. All I wanted to do was go to bed after a very long day. Never again.

Read More
Read Less

No A/C Rude employees at front desk

By

June 27, 2022

I’m a frequent user of IHG hotels across Michigan and this is the absolute worst hotel I’ve been. First off the A/c didn’t work in the room when I brought it up to an employee at the front desk she told me to open a window in my room. After I did I realized there was No SCREEN to the window! Multiple bugs flew in my room from the 4-5 min I left it open to have some relief from the temp being so high in my room. Secondly we needed another blanket in my room and the front desk employee with extremely long eye lashes denied our request! She also was at the front desk complaining how irritated she was. Very unprofessional and rude! Also the beds are hard and not comfortable. I have a trip I need to take to Grand Rapids at the end of July and I will not be coming back to this hotel.

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable beds and great location

By

May 09, 2022

club

Good stay and good price only issues were keys staying magnetized to enter the rooms and having to do a king suite instead of the two queens because the door to the two queen would not unlock.

Read More
Read Less

Worst ever!

By

August 24, 2021

club

Worst experience ever at a hotel. No A/C in first room, 2nd room, or 4th room. 3rd room had air but the air conditioning leaked and the ceiling had fallen into a tub in the middle of the floor that was catching water. 5th room had air, bare wires where the smoke detector used to be, a loose bathroom sink faucet, a slow flushing toilet that clogged and the room was musty and dirty. Luckily the 5th room was on the first floor because the 1 elevator that was working stopped working. The hot tub had caution tape around it and the pool was filthy. David at the desk was pleasant, the maid we spoke to was not. Summed up--it was awful. (The pictures looked nice though)

Read More
Read Less

Pass on this location

By

August 01, 2021

This hotel should be removed for the intl hotel group roster, or someone with them should go in and see the lack of quality, cleanliness and customer service.

The room was dirty, (have photos) including genital hairs on the tub, dirt on the floor, stained towels, the bathtub clogged, the shower leaked out in to the hallway, and the TV shut itself off without reason, one of the beds appeared to have been slept in or sat upon, the overall condition of the room seemed partly remodeled by unskilled workers with screw holes in the walls, old doors, a missing security bolt, paint on the floor and doors etc., the police presence at the front door upon arrival, the broken elevator, what seemed to be a demolished room on the first floor with the door standing wide open and a man sleeping in the room, and lastly the unconcerned and surly "manager" encountered in the morning.

We arrived in the afternoon on Fri, dropped our bags and left. By the time we realized the condition of the room - it was nine thirty pm or later - after showering and having to wash my feet separately because I was standing in ankle deep filth water, I called intl hotels group to simply ask for a return of my points. I was left on the line three times that night, called the front desk - no answer.

I then called intl hotels group again in the morning and after morn than a half hour on the phone a borderline nasty woman in guest relations stated that intl hotels group cannot provide points back, that I have to get resolution with the hotel. She then called the front desk and informed them of the issues and ended our call. The front desk called the room immediately and advised a supervisor named Michelle would be calling me after eleven am.

Upon checking out, I spoke with Lisa (very nice front desk clerk) and she informed me the manager was on the phone right next to her and I could speak with him. This man then stated that the hotel cannot give points back and can only offer me another room or another stay. He did not ask about the concerns, the room, or why I needed a refund of points. I asked if he meant at that location and he replied yes, to which I said no thank you and left. The survey sent by the hotel or intl hotels group for feedback does not work and it seems all make it intentionally difficult to find help on their website or by phone.

I do realize that short staff is a concern in all workplaces, but the customer should not have to go in to a room and have to fill the bathtub or inspect the towels to ensure a proper stay. If the rooms were being cleaned, that person would know the tub does not drain, but the left over genital hair and the dirty back up water tells its own story.

Read More
Read Less

Gave us 4 different rooms all had issues except for the last one!

By

July 19, 2021

club

Terrible experience would not recommend! First room had a ceiling leak was assigned a different room. Second room was good we went and checked it to make sure and then left. Returned a few hours later our room key wasn't working so I went to the first desk again to get it reprogrammed. Long line of people waited over 20 minutes to get help. Was told I probably had my room key next to my phone. Went to the room my boyfriend said he heard people in the room (he waited in the hallway with all our belongings while I went to get a new key) so we knocked and then used our room key before it opened a lady opened up the door. They gave our room away to a different guest! Went back to the front desk again. The worker didn't even know who she gave our room to. Was told they don't have anymore king rooms available so gave us a double bed room. Went into that room to find that it was also leaking in the ceiling. So went back to the front desk yet again no apologies just gave us a new room on the 2nd floor this time. The other rooms were on the first floor at this point it been almost a hour and we still haven't been able to get comfortable in our room. Last room was okay... around 12:30am got three calls from the front desk. The first two calls the calls dropped but the third call she apologized and had the nerve to ask me what my name was because she knew she assigned it to somebody but didn't know who! This has been the worst hotel experience in my life. Also I still got charged for a King room but the manager in the morning did change it to a double room. Wasn't offered any discount or even a comp room for the bad experience.

Read More
Read Less

Staff was amazing!

By

March 18, 2021

Staff was very helpful during our stay. And... Kim is pretty!

Read More
Read Less

Needs to be updated

By

March 02, 2021

The room was quiet, comfortable, and very clean. The staff was great! The location is also great - their is a Meijer right in the same parking lot, and it is also very convenient to I-96 and the airport. My biggest complaint was that there was no secondary security lock on the door.

Read More
Read Less

Great place, but warm room

By

October 20, 2014

club

We were surprised at how nice the property was and enjoyed it. Only issue we had was the airconditioning did not work well and it got too warm in the bedroom. Maintenance came up and "fixed" it, but it did not entirely fix the problem. Internet was very slow and spotty, but the facility was great and we enjoyed the suite.

Read More
Read Less

Long wait, understaffed

By

October 17, 2014

My friend and I stayed here a couple weeks ago. When we came to check in around 430pm, our room was still not ready and we were asked to sit in the lobby with a lot of other people who were waiting for their room. After a half hour or so, we were called up to check in. We asked about a discount then, and the girl said we would have to call the manager on Monday. She was the only one at the desk, and obviously flustered. I would be too if I were helping people by myself while other workers stood around.

Then we got up to our room and saw at least two room cleaners on their phones. When we got into our room, the couch bed was left up, microwave door open, cupboards left open, just not welcoming at all.

I understand things happen, but in this case it would have been nice for the desk employee to give us a discount on our room instead of making us call. I never did call on Monday, as that's just another thing to add to my to do list. Not a great experience.

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable bed and great service.

By

October 16, 2014

club

I travel a lot for both business and leisure. I stay in hotels between one and two weeks per month. I found this hotel quite pleasing. The room was very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I usually stay with a different chain and collect their award points, recently however I have become less satisfied. It was time for a change so I gave Holiday Inn Express a try and was very satisfied. I am likely to switch my allegiance.

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable and welcoming

By

October 16, 2014

We were very pleased with our experience at this hotel. From the moment we entered we felt welcome and appreciated. The staff was friendly and provided great suggestions for restaurants and attractions. When we returned from dinner, we got a friendly welcome back and inquiry as to how we enjoyed our evening. The hotel is attractive and well maintained and the rooms and beds quite comfortable. Would definitely stay here again!

Read More
Read Less