Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
86%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.1

based on 89 reviews
86%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

89reviews

  • 5 Stars
    47
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    4

Overpriced and a terrible experience

By

August 23, 2021

When I checked in the room was freezing, the air was blasting and I could not turn it down. The only way to make the room comfortable was to turn the heat on (in August!)

There was no remote, and when I went to the front desk no one was there. The internet was sporadic.

There was no end table next to the bed, just a space where there clearly should have been one (All of the room pictures on the site showed an end table.) I have to make and end table out of other things in the room.

The bathroom was the worst. There were large cracks in the bathtub. Some attempted to fix on with a terrible caulk job, there was another crack they didn’t even try to fix. There was also mold in the bathtub. I was not even able to take a shower (see pics).

Additionally, the room rate was jacked up almost 3 times to JMU move in weekend. I paid $289 w/o tax.. today that room is $105. I paid luxury price for this room.

Read More
Read Less

Cleanliness Has Gone Down. Staff is still WONDERFUL!

By

August 13, 2020

platinumelite

We have stayed at this hotel several times over the past several years.

The staff has always been friendly, helpful, and excellent. That has not changed.

The problem is the cleanliness of the rooms. That has deteriorated over time.

We bring our furry friends so we pay a fee. No problem but when the room is not clean, that is.

1. The carpet was so dirty, making our feet black, we had to wear socks/shoes at all times.
2. Our cats found a cup of kibble scattered under the AC/Heat unit. I found a hair clip while cleaning it up.
3. Found a dead roach on the floor in the bathroom upon arriving in the room.

We will stay here and I gave the hotel a 4 Star because of the staff and the location.

Read More
Read Less

Great Staff made me feel at home.

By

October 20, 2014

platinumelite

I have certain standards, that is why I choose IHG properties. The staff at this hotel just exceeded all expectations of front desk staff. They made me feel like I was arriving at home, not a hotel. They offered to help bring in my luggage, asked if the room was missing anything. The room was great; the bed very comfortable, I felt very safe, the room was clean and well lit, and the kitchen was really nice. That said, the stars of the hotel are the Staff. Thanks guys.

Read More
Read Less

Harrisonburg

By

October 20, 2014

club

adequate hotel needs updating-not sure we would stay again

Read More
Read Less

Queen bed at Candlewood is not Queen Bed in the world

By

October 19, 2014

club

At first it appeared to be a lovely suite with separate bedroom, bathroom, kitchenette and living area. After enjoying a day exploring the area and cooking steaks on the outdoor grill, we got ready for bed. The first thing we noticed was that the bed was only slightly larger that the full size bed we have in our guest room at home. After a lengthy discussion with the staff we were informed that this is a queen size bed at Candlewood Suites. Now it is time to go to sleep. Our friend opens the sofa bed, and there are no sheets, blankets and pillows. We had to go down to get them because there was no one available to bring them up. The sofa bed mattress was not comfortable, but fortunately we brought a mattress topper. Finally the sofabed is made and everyone is going to sleep. The a/c and heating system is right next to the sofa bed. The bedroom is stuffy so we lower the temperature but the air does not flow through a vent in the wall, so we open the window and the door. Our guest is bundled up because she is freezing and we are sweating. Needless to say it was not a comfortable bedroom to sleep in. Fortunately when the day manager arrived the next morning he gave us another room with two (queen?) beds and allowed our friend to stay in the suite. The room with two queen beds was comfortable, but our friend who stayed in the suite and slept in the bedroom experienced the same thing we did the night before. They really need to disclose that when they advertise a queen bed, it is not actually a queen size bed.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for staying at Candlewood Suites and for your online review. It was a pleasure speaking with you during your stay and I apologize again that the suite with one-queen size bed was not enough room for your family of three. I do hope to see you the next time your in the Harrisonburg area. Warmest Regards, Michael D. Sandercock General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Professional, friendly staff; comfortable room; full-size refrigerator.

By

October 19, 2014

club

My wife and I travel between Florida, Virginia, New jersey, new York and Pennsylvania. We always try and book a room at Candlewood Suites because of the spacious, comfortable rooms, full-size refrigerator, well stocked kitchen and the fact that this chain of hotels is pet friendly.

I was shocked when we checked in and found that the room rate had jumped 300 percent due to Parents Weekend at James Madison University. This phenomenal room rate increase was not disclosed at the time I booked the room months ago. That increase should definitely have been disclosed at the time I booked the room.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Dear Johnny, Thank you so much for staying at the Candlewood Suites during JMU Family Weekend. We sincerely appreciate your online review about the property and for recommending to future JMU Families. I do hope to see you soon! Warmest Regards, Michael D. Sandercock General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Great Hotel!

By

October 16, 2014

club

I stayed at this property for just one night, but the staff and the room was extremely nice! Kitchen, store, lending locker and more available to all guests. I strongly recommend this property to anyone coming to harrisonburg. Thanks so much for a wonderful stay.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for choosing the Candlewood Suites during your one night stop in Harrisonburg. We sincerely appreciate your 5-star review and truly value you loyalty as an IHG Rewards Club Member. I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon! Warmest Regards, Michael D. Sandercock General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Time to redo this motel

By

October 13, 2014

club

Since I was once a very high traffic user of IHG properties, I've seen many.

This unit was ragged and worn.
Obviously a high traffic unit so spend the money more frequently to upgrade.

Lack of breakfast serve the final blow so you won't see us again.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 15, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had of the property. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We realize we have some challenges here and we are working hard to overcome them. We are in progress of doing a complete renovation to the property moving into 2015. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. Warmest Regards, General Manager
Read More
Read Less

A great value with great amenities

By

October 13, 2014

club

Having never stayed at Candlewood Suites before, I was very pleasantly surprised at the quality and cleanliness of the accommodations. Having a kitchen in the suite was very helpful, and it was complete with all needed utensils. The bed was very comfortable and I got a good night's sleep. There was some traffic noise but the auto fan covered it nicely.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 15, 2014
Dear Lilly, Thank you so much for your recent stay and for the wonderful 5-star review! As an IHG Rewards Club Member your business and feedback is truly valued. We sincerely appreciate you recommending our property to future arriving guests. I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Warmest Regards, Michael D. Sandercock General Manager
Read More
Read Less

great stay

By

October 12, 2014

Staff was great. When a housekepper woman stop going home and clean up our room. A vey nice lady. We slept fine and TV and internet worked great. A great stay.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 14, 2014
Dear Bobby, Thank you so much for your most recent stay and for the great review. I am so pleased to learn your experience was great and that the team was able to make your stay more enjoyable. I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon! Warmest Regards, Michael D. Sandercock General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Peaceful Bliss

By

October 11, 2014

club

My husband and I spent two nights at the Candlewood Suites in Harrisonburg. We were mostly hiking in the Shenandoah National Park. Our room was very nice and comfy. After a long day of hiking (13 miles!) is was nice to come back to Josh at the front desk with a warm smile and enough hot water to ease the aches. There was a full kitchen including a dish washer. I absolutely love the little "store" where you can buy items and leave your money in a little box. Complimentary coffee 24 hours a day was a big plus. Checking out with Tanya was simple and hassle free. The only down side, and I'm not really sure it's a down side but my husband thought it was, was the fact that they didn't clean our room each day. We will stay with them again.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for the review about your recent stay and your hike at the Shenandoah National Park. We sincerely appreciate your recommending our property to future travelers and thank you for being a loyal IHG Rewards Club Member. Your comments will be shared with the entire team; Tanya and Josh do a fantastic job at the front desk and will share your wonderful comments. I do hope to see you the next time you hike the Shenandoah National Park. Warmest Regards, Michael D. Sandercock General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Transitioning

By

October 09, 2014

club

The stay was excellent and the room was tolerable especially with two small children. The staff was very friendly and always greeted us when we walked through the doors and asked how our day was. The room could have been cleaned better but with a one year old, he can make the biggest messes that take us days to thoroughly clean! Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is in need of an extended stay hotel.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for choosing the Candlewood Suites during your travels to Harrisonburg. We sincerely appreciate your wonderful comments and thank you for being a loyal IHG Rewards Club Member. I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome your entire family back to the property. Warmest Regards, Michael D. Sandercock General Manager
Read More
Read Less