Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
93%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.5

based on 151 reviews
93%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

151reviews

  • 5 Stars
    111
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    5

Major let down

By

February 21, 2022

Where to begin? Blood stains on the bedding, private area hairs in the sink? Disgusting floors? Old worn out chairs? Broken HVAC systems one night, system that won’t go to A/C the next. Incredibly hot the whole weekend, dogs barking, kids dribbling basketballs loudly for hours, smell of “trees” in the hallways.
Not much went right. Short on remedies and apologies, long on excuses. The housekeeping was PATHETIC, hopelessly behind on maintenance. I have Never encountered a hotel coasting by on its reputation more than this. If there was one person that actually cared about guest experience in the whole organization they didn’t work during one of the busiest weekends of the year.

Read More
Read Less

Was given incorrect room, hotel will not refund the overage

By

August 26, 2021

I initially booked a room for (2) adults in a Queen Bed Studio Suite. However, I had to make a correction to this reservation the next day, as I learned a 3rd adult would be staying in the room - I modified the reservation to a Bedroom Suite Queen Bed room, because the description on the website states that a sleeper sofa would be included in the room.

When I checked in, we were given a room that was a Queen Bed Studio Suite and not the Bedroom Suite Queen Bed, as it did not include a sleeper sofa. I went back to the front desk and explained the situation, asking if we could switch rooms or be given a rollaway bed. I was told we could not switch rooms because the hotel was completely booked, which is understandable - however, I was then told that they had no rollaways to give us because "they just recently got rid of them", and all that could be offered was a set of bed linens to sleep on the floor.

Upon checking out, I was charged for the Bedroom Suite Queen Bed, and not the Queen Bed Studio Suite that I received.

I have contacted this location three times now, and the hotel chain's customer service five times, all with no resolution.

Read More
Read Less

hotel appearance

By

July 05, 2021

platinumelite

The first impression is always in mind when I stay. Walking in the door with a freshly used lawnmower in the access point of getting into the hotel was not appreciated. The rugs were dirty with lawn clippings and the smell of gasoline not pleasant. Inside most areas were clean, but we were on the top floor and the entire 8 days our hall had flower and shrimp clippings on the rugs. I contacted the desk several times and was told they were short staff and would get to it. WEll that never happened. The staff were young and this didn't seem to be a problem to them. After staying at this hotel several times in the past few years, we will be making other IHG choices with our next visits.

Read More
Read Less

Disappointed

By

July 22, 2019

The room had a horrible stench. I was in a smoking room so i expected an odor but it was so bad that it made my eyes water. I had to go out and purchase febreze and renuzit things just to make it tolerable, however i was woken up every time i moved my head in the night from the smell of thick stale smoke comming from the pillows. The ceiling was cracked the length of the room and in the mirning i was greeted in the bathroom by a long bug running across the floor as well as some kind of bugs on the wall in the hallway. The veneer had staryed to come off the table so they used black tape strips to hold it back on. The curtains were so full of smoke they were stiff and the handles wete sticky as was the toilet seat. The key card only worked when it felt like it and i often found myself struggling to get in the room only to struggle to get out when i needed to.
Also the shampoo bottle was empty and someone needs to scrub those black marks off the tub.
The vent fan, which i had to run my entire stay just to make it tolerable, was thick with grime, nicotine and dust. I umdetstand its a smoking room but if you arent going to care for it as well as a nonsmoking room then you shouldnt charge the same rate. Also, i booked 2 queen sized beds and recieved 2 full sized beds. I couldnt wait to get home and take a shower.

Read More
Read Less

Views

By

October 21, 2014

platinumelite

All the rooms are built into a cliff and the views are amazing. You look over the tree tops- mountains ,golf course below. Hotel itself was beautiful, room was great fabulous layout. Loved it recommend to anyone and everyone

Read More
Read Less

room

By

October 20, 2014

platinumelite

the view was awesome it was close to the highway and the people that work there where very nice

Read More
Read Less

Nice place to stay

By

October 17, 2014

Visited on trip through Penn. Hotel is convenient to I-81. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Stay was a good value when using the RoomSaver coupon. Location of queen bed was not ideal (pushed into a corner) making entry/exit inconvenient. We would stay here again when traveling through the area.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 22, 2014
Thank You for choosing Candlewood Suites Hazleton! We are very happy to hear that our staff took great care of you and you enjoyed your stay. We apologize you were inconvenienced with the placement of the bed. I am happy to know that you will continue to stay with us. We do have our beautiful one bedrooms suites that have the bedroom separated and have a king size bed in the middle of the room. The next time you are coming let us know and we can see how we can accommodate you. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Read More
Read Less

A pleasant surprize

By

October 16, 2014

club

I booked this hotel strictly on geographical location knowing that we would need a night on the road in this area. I was most pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of this hotel. Everything appeared new. This place is within a 2 or 3 minute car ride from stores, gas stations and places to eat, and is right off the I-81 exit. This is one of the nicest places I have stayed in, and the reasonable room price made it even nicer! I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 20, 2014
Thank You for choosing Candlewood Suites Hazleton! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are happy to know that this was your first trying us out and you were happy. We are very conveniently located. We hope we can accommodate you again the next time you are passing through.
Read More
Read Less

Great service

By

October 15, 2014

I love staying at Candlewood Suites. It meets my expectations.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 20, 2014
Thank You for choosing Candlewood Suites Hazleton and your continued loyalty. We love that we are meeting your expectations. We hope to see you again soon!
Read More
Read Less

Driving through

By

October 14, 2014

club

Great hotel, right off interstate 81. Employees were very helpful

Posted byHotelStaff
October 20, 2014
Thank You for choosing Candlewood Suites Hazleton! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are conveniently located off of I81 and close to many restaurants, stores and much more. We strive in offering the best customer service. We hope to see you again soon!
Read More
Read Less

Great Place!

By

October 13, 2014

club

Great place to stay, clean, comfortable and easy access from the highway.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 16, 2014
Thank You for choosing Candlewood Suites Hazleton! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very conveniently located off of the highway and close to local restaurants and attractions. We hope to see you again soon!
Read More
Read Less

PA Stay

By

October 13, 2014

club

Awesome View, Great Place! Traveled to the area for business and will be back for the view and the local history. My first trip out East was a success and I look forward to returning.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 16, 2014
Thank You for choosing Candlewood Suites Hazleton! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the beautiful view of the valley. We do have many attractions that are a great experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Read More
Read Less