Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
81%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.1

based on 77 reviews
81%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

77reviews

  • 5 Stars
    41
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    6

If you need to stay for business, find another chain

By

May 28, 2021

The staff was friendly and the room was average but when checking out I was informed that I couldn't have a receipt because my company used a third party to book the room and I would have to get the receipt from them. The booking agent doesn't have a copy so I have to jump through hoops or pay the $300+ bill myself.

I've been on the road for several years and this is the 1st time I've had issued getting receipts.

Read More
Read Less

clean room

By

October 10, 2014

club

good place to stay close to shopping food movie banks downtown Norfolk shopping and eating to.

Read More
Read Less

Nice room for the price

By

October 02, 2014

club

I use this hotel whenever I/we are visiting our student at ODU. The rooms are nice, clean, and the beds are comfortable. We usually check in late and the staff has always been welcoming!

Read More
Read Less

Nice Stay

By

September 30, 2014

club

Great central location for Airport and other places. Friendly staff. Well appointed property. Pet friendly!

Read More
Read Less

Awesome suite at a great price!

By

September 27, 2014

This is my third time at the Candlewood. I enjoyed having the full kitchen, quick access to downtown Norfolk, and nearby shopping. It was easy to get to from the I64 loop. I recommend this for anyone. It's a great deal for the visiting professional with wireless Internet.

Read More
Read Less

Nice place

By

September 19, 2014

Nice place, comfortable and close to shopping and the airport.

Read More
Read Less

Housekkeeping Staff Rude

By

September 05, 2014

club

Housekeeping Staff was rude and unprofessional. As a reward member I did not expect to be treated as such.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 16, 2014
I am very sorry to hear about the bad experience you encountered with the Housekeeping Staff during your recent stay with our hotel. I take moments like these as learning tools so that we are able to grow stronger as a team. I hope you will take the time and reach out to the hotel and ask for the General Manager to further talk about your experience. I appreciate the time you took out of your day to leave a comment behind. I know you have plenty of lodging choices and hope you continue to use IHG for your future needs.
Read More
Read Less

my stay on august 29th

By

September 04, 2014

club

the bed was nice but i slept bad because of the air in the room it didnt work well and no one could fix it. i didnt like the idea of having to go down to lobby to get clean towels and for the cost of the room there could have been a little breakfast served but nothing but ok that was ok but no air and no one moved me and i had to get my own towels i wasnot happy at all.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 08, 2014
I want to thank you for taking the time to leave this comment. I greatly appreciate you bringing this matter to my attention. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service to our guests. Candlewood Suites caters to those guests in search of Extended Stay needs. In order to respect your privacy, housekeeping is provided once weekly. If anything is required in between scheduled visits, the Front Desk is there to service these needs. Candlewood Suites offers spacious suites with fully equipped kitchens and signature amenities that make life away from home a little easier. Our Candlewood Cupboard, is open 24 hours a day, and has breakfast items for a nominal price. You will find that we offer Maxwell House Complimentary 24 hours of the day. If a Candlewood Suites does not match the kind of IHG property you are looking for but are still interested in a Suite with a fully equipped kitchen you should try a Staybridge Suite. They have light housekeeping and also provide complimentary breakfasts. Once again, I appreciate you taking the time to leave behind a comment and hope that for your future lodging needs you will continue to use an IHG property.
Read More
Read Less

Their mistake and we still paid the price.

By

September 04, 2014

platinumelite

When I made the reservation, I requested a late checkout and was told that I would have to put that request upon check in, which I did. At check in my wife Melissa put the request to have a late checkout and was told by the agent that we could stay until 2:00 p.m., and that was fine with me. At 11:00 a.m., while my wife was getting out of the shower, a gentlemen was knocking on the door and when my wife answer, he indicated that his records did not show a late check out for the room. My wife then contacted the front desk and spoke with Stefanie, who informed my wife that we needed to vacate the room at once, because the hotel was all sold out for that day and they needed to clean the room. When I mentioned to Stefanie that we were told that it would be O.K. for us to have a late checkout, she just said that we were given incorrect information and that we would still need to leave as soon as possible. Needless to say that we felt that we were being ask to leave as if we had done something wrong, not to mention that it was the hotels fault for the information we were given and then asked to disregard that information. As a Platinum Elite member of your Rewards Club, we spend a considerable amount of money every year to stay at your hotels and are seriously considering a different program and hotel provider, due to the very humiliating way we were treated. Hopefully, you will take some action, so that no one else has to experience what we experienced.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 08, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comment. One of the many benefits of IHG Rewards Club is the 2pm check out. The late check out is upon the availability of the hotel. We try our hardest to honor this when we are able to. We apologize that we were not able to honor this during your recent stay. We do hope that you will try us again so that we are given the chance to offer this benefit to you. We are sorry once again for the inconvenience that this caused you. I understand that you have many choices when you are traveling for your lodging needs and hope that you will continue using IHG as your place of choose when choosing a hotel.
Read More
Read Less

Candlewood Suites stay

By

September 03, 2014

platinumelite

I've lived in this hotel on and off for 5 years. I'm always comfortable and treated well here.

Read More
Read Less

Love the king suite

By

September 03, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a week. My Mother and brother were here in another room. We had a dog in our room. We all enjoyed our stay here. The rooms were clean, well stocked for the kitchen needs. Staff was great and helpful. Our rooms were quiet. Safe location. Lots of places to eat and shop nearby. We travel two to three times a year on vacation. This has been the best place we have stayed in. Everything was up to date, clean and quiet. Book a king suite you won't be disappointed. The price can't be beat.

Read More
Read Less

Not Happy

By

September 01, 2014

platinumelite

Check out was great, I guess you had my money at that time. Hotel and staff was ok.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 03, 2014
We appreciate the review that you left behind. We will take the opportunity to review our procedures and ensure that no other guests has an unpleasant experience at the hotel. Thank you for leaving a review.
Read More
Read Less