Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
85%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4

based on 70 reviews
85%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

70reviews

  • 5 Stars
    36
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    5

Stay Away | One of the worst experiences

By

November 29, 2021

One star is too high. Place wreaked of weed. Hallway was like walking through a cloud and the room was not any better. There were people yelling in the hallway and stared us down till we got to our room. Windows were left open probably to air it out. We asked to have our room moved since we didnt want to smell weed all night, us or our kids. They moved us to the bottom floor, which smelled a little better, but was right above the entrance to the below ground parking, so every headlight would beam right into the room. Throughout the time, a police officer sat in the parking lot monitoring the area. We decided to leave and not stay. The front desk was unapologetic about everything and told us that the managers do not work on the weekends and call Monday and the manager would take care of the refund. We called Monday and the manager refused to give a refund because they moved us to another terrible room. She was extremely rude and also unapologetic. She said they weren't responsible for any of the complaints we had.
I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone. There are plenty of other hotels in the area that are much better. This place wasnt even much cheaper either but it is a complete waste of money. I honestly have no idea how they have good reviews....

Read More
Read Less

Leaves Much to Be Desired

By

September 21, 2021

Candlewood Suites is on the lower end of the IHG brands and I know that going in. Chose to stay here because the price was good and sometimes you just take a chance based on reviews. The whole place is a bit run down and not “dirty” but just not up to par. Our room was not ready at 4:30 - no biggie - everyone is short handed these days - we went out to eat. When we checked in, the room smelled heavily of cigarette smoke and the room just wasn’t properly clean. Floors were a bit sticky, dirt in corners and on edges, couple tables were not wiped down, etc. We asked for another room, but apparently none to be had. We stayed the night and were happy to leave in the morning. The gal at the front desk was sweet and apologetic, but there is very much a lack of professionalism that you don’t see at other IHG brands. Texting while working, left a soft drink on the counter where paperwork was being done, etc.

Lesson learned - back to HIE or HI - what I’m used to and can always count on.

Also, the Brewery right across the street is a great place to eat!

Read More
Read Less

Bed was ok

By

June 14, 2021

club

With this being my first time with Candlewood Suites it was Fair.
When we check in and went to are room we found used eye lashes on sofa bed. the kitchen area could have been cleaner. We found a message from candlewood suites saying we clean once a week for 7 day stay. So if you are only staying for a couple of days they dont bring you new wash cloths and towels like other hotels do. We had to ask for new towels and wash cloths for the second day. The room had a odor like someone smoked in the room also.

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable

By

May 20, 2021

I came to Reading for a celebration of life. It was a busy day, so I was exhausted. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable.
Just a couple minor issues.
I am glad that I brought my Amazon fire stick, as I could not find any TV channels that I like. There was a channel guide on the TV, but it didn’t identify the channels.
The coffee maker is in sore need of replacement. The area that heats the water was filthy.
My stay was for rest, as I traveled on to another family gathering. The rest here was perfect.

Read More
Read Less

I'll be back

By

October 17, 2014

platinumelite

This is my go to hotel in the Reading area. Clean inside and out, friendly professional staff and great value for price paid.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Thank you so much Mister Z.. We are more than happy to be considered your "Go to Hotel" in the Reading Area. It's our pleasure! Thank you, Kathy Lemon/General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Convenient Location

By

October 13, 2014

club

The hotel was located in a very convenient location to my worksite. Amenities were available within walking distance.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you found our location so convenient for your needs. Hope you visit us again the next time you are in the Reading, Pa. area. Kathy Lemon/General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Great

By

October 07, 2014

The location is not too far from Lancaster, I was there going to Sight and Sound and everything around the play was SOLD OUT. I found this and fell in love. The town is cute and close to everything. The area was safe, the room was great with frig, dishwasher, stove top and microwave. Very nice and I have been to three other locations since this one in different areas. Candlewood forever!!! Well I will try thier sister hotel next. Staybridge suites, I heard great things about them also.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 14, 2014
Wow! We are so pleased that you loved our hotel and the Candlewood brand in general. We can't wait to have you back with us again. Sincerely, Kathy Lemon General Manager
Read More
Read Less

friendly staff and great location

By

October 05, 2014

Great place to stay if you're visiting the area. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was very clean and comfortable. It was surprisingly quiet for sleeping. Not far from Sandanter Arena, easy to get in and out of. Best hotel I've stayed in in a long time.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 14, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are so glad we suited your needs and that you enjoyed your visit to our area. We welcome you back again soon! Sincerely, Kathy Lemon General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Clean Attractive Hotel

By

October 05, 2014

club

Arrived to a well lite parking lot with a fresh appearance. Check in went smoothly. Room was as requested. Very clean and comfortable King suite. The rooms were a nice size and having 2 TV's was nice. There was several chairs at the kitchen table and a big comfy chair

Posted byHotelStaff
October 14, 2014
Your feedback is so important to us and we really appreciate that you noticed the appearance and amenities of our hotel. Thank you so much for letting us know about your stay and we look forward to you coming back to us again in the future. Sincerely, Kathy Lemon General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Clean and quiet

By

October 02, 2014

The hotel is modern and clean. The room was perfect for our needs. Overall rating good value for the area and good location

Posted byHotelStaff
October 14, 2014
Thanks so much for your kind review of our hotel. We pride ourselves on our service and cleanliness and we are so glad you were pleased with us. Sincerely, Kathy Lemon General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Antti

By

September 20, 2014

platinumelite

Never was a fan of in room kitchen. There must be a problem because of this. During my stay i saw a lot of small ants in room running around cooking area, decided to check out next day and went to Holiday inn.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 23, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for letting us know your issue with your room. I apologize for the situation you encountered and I can assure you this is not the norm in our hotel. Nevertheless, we would love to have you give us another chance if you're back in the area. Sincerely, Heather E. Gilbert Area Manager
Read More
Read Less

Great service

By

September 15, 2014

club

I arrived very late my first night of check-in. The front desk was very accomodating and had everything ready for me upon my arrival. I must have been the last one as they greeted me by name before I even gave it to them. The room was very clean, and quiet and the bed and pillows were very comfortable. I had a very pleasant experience and would recommend this facility to others.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 14, 2014
Thank you for your great review of our hotel. We strive to ensure all our guests feel right at home and welcomed at all times. Thank you for staying with us and we sure hope we get to welcome you back very soon. Sincerely, Kathy Lemon General Manager
Read More
Read Less