Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
64%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

3.7

based on 50 reviews
64%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

50reviews

  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    7

Hotel Worth $50

By

September 04, 2021

This hotel is absolutely horrible the appearance the cleanliness the shape of it.
The bathroom is filthy for new C/I’s things falling apart in the room, the desk the bathroom handle, microwave didn’t warm up food and the ENTIRE hotel smelled like smoke but like they tried to cover it up with horrible air freshener. Dont stay here it’s not worth the $100 a night they’re asking for. Bathroom tub/ shower had hair in it and rust everywhere.

Read More
Read Less

Filthy room

By

June 27, 2019

platinumelite

When I checked in, there was no toilet paper in the room; a trip down to the desk.
When I went to use the toilet, it was plugged. Another trip down to the front desk.
The toilet seat was dirty; given that the toilet was plugged, I don't even want to know what it was.
The easy chair in the room had dirt on it; I assumed it was mud until I found a package of Huggies stuffed under the bed.
The dishes in the cupboard had food on them. The microwave turntable had food on it.
I went to write this all up and the pen was dry. (OK, a lot of lazy people leave the top off; not necessarily the hotel's fault.)
When I went to the gym the treadmill didn't work (again, not necessarily their fault).
ALL of this was given to management on check-out: no response. A few days later I detailed it all again in an email; no response. I asked to be contacted by management; no response.
And for all this I paid THEM???!!!

Read More
Read Less

Great staff, but that is about it

By

October 14, 2014

platinumelite

The staff is excellent very friendly and fun. The property needs a complete clean and remondel. I was told that I received a 'suite' but it seemed just like a standard room that I would get at other properties.

Read More
Read Less

Good location, right nest door to holiday inn for 1/2 price

By

October 09, 2014

platinumelite

My only complaint is the electrical outlets located on the bedside end-table lamps do not fit conventional phone chargers. This is the same in all IHG hotels I've stayed at.

Read More
Read Less

nice hotel, but only made for two people per room

By

October 09, 2014

club

Celebrated my birthday in Richmond, Va. I booked Candlewood because I wanted a full kitchen in room. I didn't realize their hotel had rooms for two people only, no living room, and do not provide roll-out cots. Two of us had to sleep on floor, and then they charged me for room (which was fine) plus separate charge of $20. I asked staff about extra charge on my card, and he could not give me an answer because it was done by another staff member. I paid cash for cupboard items the night I checked in, so why charge me without informing me . I should of left after seeing how small room was, and that it had no living room area.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 13, 2014
Dear Wahaker, First of all allow me to thank you for your honest review of our property. It is only with reviews such as yours that we can better ourselves as a hotel, and strive to always be better than what we think we can. I do apologize for the issue or misunderstanding you had when booking your queen studio through Bookings.com for 2 adults, but you guys had to sleep on the floor? We are an extended stay hotel and most of our guest are 7 plus nights. At check-in we do require a credit card for incidentals and that is a $10 authorization per day, but it is released at checkout. I will reiterate with my staff the check-in process. If I can be of any further assistances please feel free to contact me. Kindest Regards, Melissa P. General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Dirty room and torn chair

By

September 11, 2014

club

I would not give a good review of this hotel. Although the staff was friendly and knowledgeable, the hotel itself needs some help. The kitchen sink had dirt in it, so I washed it because it grossed me out. There was a club type of chair in the corner that had something that looked like someone took a bit out of the front of the arm. I know it is a dog friendly hotel, which is great, but if something is damaged it should be replaced if not repaired. Any sorts of things can be growing in that chair. The room itself was freezing cold in there that we turned off the air conditioner for a while just to let the room warm up. I will not be staying again, nor will I stay in any f the same name again. Kinda gross to be sleeping in a dirty room. I did not complain as we arrived late after driving all day. I would have if it was earlier and I wasn't so tired.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 19, 2014
Dear Drury, Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had because of the chair in the room. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We realize we have some challenges here and we are working hard to overcome them, We are in progress of replacing furniture & bedding in the rooms but obviously missed the mark with your room. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. Kindest Regards, Melissa P. General Manager
Read More
Read Less

I normally don't review hotels

By

September 11, 2014

platinumelite

In this case I'm making an exception, as the staff at this hotel are top notch. They did everything with in their power to make my week stay as comfortable as possible. I will stay here whenever I'm in Richmond. They love dogs too!

Posted byHotelStaff
September 19, 2014
Dear Cookie&Clark, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We pride ourselves here at the Candlewood Suites Richmond in providing excellent service and accommodations to our guests. I appreciate that you took the time complete a review on our hotel & staff; your stamp of approval is why is strive to do our best daily. We hope that you will come back in the near future to see us again!! Kindest Regards, Melissa P. General Manager
Read More
Read Less

the pillow and the bed was great

By

September 11, 2014

club

this was great for what we wanted in a stay . It was close to the race track

Posted byHotelStaff
September 19, 2014
Dear Jean2014, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Race weekend here is always a fun time in Richmond. Hope to see you next year as well. Kindest Regards, Melissa P. General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Wonderful!

By

August 30, 2014

I was very happy with my first stay at a Candelwood Suites hotel! I was traveling to Florida from Pennsylvania and needed to find a hotel for overnight. I stopped here and could not have been more pleased. The room was spacious and spotless, the bed was extremely comfortable and the wifi worked perfectly! I wish I had been staying more than one night! I will definitely recommend this hotel and Candlewood Suites whenever possible!

Read More
Read Less

Excellent location

By

August 22, 2014

Enjoyed the stay and convenient to I95 and Richmond.

Read More
Read Less

Candlewood Suites Richmond South

By

August 18, 2014

I have been staying at this hotel during the week for over a year. The rooms are always clean, the beds are comfortable, and the kitchen supplies are adequate. The staff knows me by name and are always friendly and eager to help in any way. My reservations are always correct and ready upon arrival. I will continue to stay at this hotel while my work is in this area.

Posted byHotelStaff
August 20, 2014
Dear Meb Mike, Thank you for your comments. I will be sure to let our staff know how much you have enjoyed your time staying with us. It is great to hear when we get it right! We look forward to having you with us again Warm Regards. Rebecca Wilber Operations Manager
Read More
Read Less

Simply okay, but not terrible

By

August 18, 2014

Although overall I gave 2 stars, it wasn't a bad experience, I just would have preferred someplace else, but the extended stay offer due to my business trip was good enough. There was a line at the front desk, so the wait time was a bit too much for me.

Posted byHotelStaff
August 20, 2014
Dear Nurseauthor18, We appreciate your feedback about your accommodations. We are sorry that you found our check-in process a bit long. On busy days check-in can take a little longer, but we truly appreciate your patience. Thank you again, we welcome any opportunity to improve. Best Regards, Rebecca Wilber Operations Manager
Read More
Read Less