Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
74%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

3.6

based on 50 reviews
74%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

50reviews

  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    7

nice room for a quick stay

By

October 16, 2014

nice place. stayed here before. good bargain. hopefully they get the leaky ac fixed so it doesn't leak all over the carpet. the smell wasn't pleasant, but we weren't staying long enough to request a new room.

Read More
Read Less

Could be better but it'll do for a short stay

By

October 11, 2014

club

When I go to Topeka to visit family there I generally stay at Candlewood. I have 3 reasons I stay here:

* The price is reasonable
* Good location - shopping and food within minutes
* Kitchenettes are decently equipped

I have 4 reasons I'll stay across the street at the Holiday Inn Exp:

* You smell cigarette smoke as soon as you step out of the elevator
* The cable/satellite for TV is flaky (last stay it didn't work at all; guy at the front desk told me to "just bang on the side of the TV but if that didn't work he didn't know what else to have me do")
* No full, hot breakfast (yes, I know I can make my own but that's not the point here)
* Rather apathetic staff

On the last morning of my last stay I woke with a bad migraine. I knew there was no way I'd be able to check out on time so I let the front desk know. Did they care? Nope. They charged me for another full day even though I checked out around 2:45. Was the place full? Nope. Was it that big of a deal the room did not get cleaned that day? Nope again. I'm planning to talk to the IHG Rewards people to see what they say about this.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 15, 2014
Dear, grouper487 I am very sorry to hear about your recent stay experiences with us. I will make sure to look into the issue's you provided us and make sure we handle customer service better. I do know we recently improved our cable with adding a bunch of HD Channels and 7 HBO channels. We are trying our best to fight the smoke smell and considering new options, but for future stay experience the 1st and 2nd floors are completely non-smoking. Unfortunately, Candlewood Suites do not serve any kind of breakfast. We do however have the Candlewood Cupboard that sells breakfast items. We do usually try to grant the latest checkout possible without having to issue the full night fee, but if housekeeping leaves before the room can be cleaned we're forced to apply the fee. I am more than willing to try to make up for the lack of customer service that we have provided you. If you could please contact the hotel and ask for the GM, It would be my pleasure to try and help resolve the situation. Thank you,
Read More
Read Less

Nice Hotel Good Location

By

September 23, 2014

platinumelite

Nice Location Good location Centrally Located Clean Room

Posted byHotelStaff
October 15, 2014
Thank you so much for the nice review. We appreciate the feedback so much and thank you for choosing us out of all the hotels in Topeka! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay!
Read More
Read Less

Excellent Staff

By

September 23, 2014

platinumelite

Recently stayed in this facility and was greeted very professionally. Great room, clean and the staff was the best I've had for along time.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 15, 2014
We appreciated you taking time to leave us a review and was really glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you so much for your wonderful comment!
Read More
Read Less

Nice place to stay

By

September 17, 2014

I have stayed at Candlewood Suites in other cities and I am a member of IHG Rewards. This was the best one I've stayed in so far.

Read More
Read Less

Good location for Race track

By

September 12, 2014

platinumelite

Front Desk people were great. Room was a little noisy, but outside noise lessened and no problems to sleeping. Furniture was very torn/worn, towels were hard.

Posted byCustomerCare
September 24, 2014
Dear HotRodPowerCorvette09, Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club Platinum Elite member and for leaving us a feedback. We appreciate your kind comments about our front office staff. Our hotel is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. Please accept our sincere apologies about the noise and quality of furniture. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve. We value you as an IHG Rewards Club member and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs. Sincerely, Lera P Case Manager IHGCare
Read More
Read Less

Great value and excellent amenities

By

September 04, 2014

platinumelite

Good value. Extra amenities including full refrigerator, microwave, and two burner electric stove made it easy to bring in beverages and snacks and leftover meals..

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable room for good price.

By

August 28, 2014

club

Decent room but elevator and common areas smelled of smoke.

Read More
Read Less

Very Nice

By

August 25, 2014

club

Rooms were perfect couldn't have asked for a better stay. If I visit Topeka again this will be the place ill stay!

Read More
Read Less

Good pet friendly hotel

By

August 22, 2014

Good pet friendly motel and will recommend it to family and friends as well as stay again on next visit to city.

It would be nice if the two room suites had king size beds also.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 10, 2014
Thank you for such a great review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and I hope you come visit us again! Thank you so much!
Read More
Read Less

Convenient Location

By

August 18, 2014

club

The Candlewood in Topeka is conveniently located close to I-70. In fact, too close. If you are a light sleeper, like me, a room facing the interstate is not going to be very comfortable. The rooms are sufficient but nothing special. The desk chair in my room was in very poor condition. Internet is complimentary as is coffee. If you are looking for basic and relatively inexpensive, not a bad choice.

Posted byCustomerCare
August 29, 2014
Dear memphisrealestatepro, Thank you for writing a candid review about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know that our location and complimentary WiFi were suitable for the purpose of your travel. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our best to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. As for your concerns regarding the noise challenges and some of the room amenities, we apologize for any inconvenience these aspects may have caused Your feedback is very important to us as this helps us in improving guest satisfaction. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please don’t hesitate to ask the manager on duty. We look forward to serving you again. Best Regards, Tracy V. Case Manager IHGCare
Read More
Read Less

Nice Hotel

By

August 14, 2014

The Topeka Candlewood Suites is a very quiet and comfortable hotel. The location is perfect, with easy access to the highway and local restaurants and shopping. Its in an area that feels very secure, almost park like. I loved it and will stay here again!

Posted byHotelStaff
August 19, 2014
Thank You so much for your heartwarming review. We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next stay with us!!! Chris M Assistant GM
Read More
Read Less