Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
84%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4

based on 60 reviews
84%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

60reviews

  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    8

Nasty and dirty place

By

August 10, 2022

I am extremely upset on how this Candlewood hotel experience wae. I am a military member who has always used IHG properties for military duty. This particular hotel was poorly managed. The room was filthy. The gym was inoperative along with the washer/dryers. I spoke to the new GM (Brenda) who disregarded by pleas and request for service and a room change. The entire staff does not know what they are doing and the entire hotel is filthy. I do NOT recommend this hotel to ANYONE

Read More
Read Less

I felt nasty after my stay

By

July 04, 2022

club

I planned on staying in this hotel for the week. After I checked in I noticed a lot of ants in an all around the ac I seen what it appeared to be cereal inside the vent of the ac that they were being attracted to. I called the front desk, they moved me. I stayed in the next room for two days in the morning of the second day I went to take my charger out the wall plug behind the night stand I saw two empty bottles and a pack of cigarettes. None belong to me and I don't smoke. I instantly felt dirty. I immediately went to the desk an address this with the manager (owner) and showed him the picture I took. I told the manager what room I was in and that I was pressed for time and could not rectify the issue right then an there.I've called and come back to the hotel and have not heard anything at all about this. I still feel sick!

Read More
Read Less

Won't be returning Candlewood Suites in Newport News, VA.

By

November 21, 2021

club

My wife and two adult children stayed the evening of 11/18/21. We were in town for a funeral. The room my wife and I stayed in had a door that didn't lock, a toilet that backed up, and the television didn't work. My daughter's room had a door that wouldn't unlock. When my daughter and I went to the front desk for assistance, there wasn't anyone there. We waited about 20 - 25 minutes. About 11:53 pm an employee pulled up in her car and came in to the lobby. I imagine she was there to start her shift? She issued my daughter another card so she could finally get into her room. The room my son had had see through curtains but no drapes. Fortunately he was on the 3rd floor. His door wouldn't unlock either, but because he discovered this shortly after we arrived he was able to get another card to open his door from the front desk. I'm retired now but traveled quite a bit in my career. I've stayed in many hotels, in many states, in 3 different countries. I would count the experience my family had in this hotel as one of the worst in my many years of travel.

Read More
Read Less

Smelly damp room with visible mold. Avoid.

By

August 24, 2021

The bed and linens and towels were clean. And the location was quiet. But that was about the only thing worth praising.

We had been promised a room with 2 queen beds but it had only one plus a pullout sofa. But at 1AM we were in no mood to move rooms and didn't complain.

The room (320) stank of mildew, and there was significant black mold on a piece of wood screwed into one windowsill to stop the window from opening. The floor was sticky and damp, and the carpet didn't feel clean. My wife refused to even get out of bed without putting on her shoes.

The bathroom door was swollen and stuck in its frame, probably due to the humidity.

The bottom of the countertop support that touches the carpet was swollen by over a half inch, as if it had been soaking up water for some time.

The adjacent stairway on the west end of the building smelled extremely strongly of trash, even through my KN95 face mask - perhaps the trash bins on the 1st and 2nd floors were not being emptied often enough.

Both door key cards stopped working by the morning, and one of them didn't work again even after being reprogrammed. Perhaps the door lock battery was dying. Fortunately someone was still in the room to let me in both times.

The room key also didn't work on the west building end outside door - but fortunately it didn't close and latch automatically, so I was able to still use the door while loading our luggage in the morning. But that should be fixed for resident security.

The front desk lobby clerk was competent, but a bit sullen and never smiled or warmly greeted me, and never actually said anything unnecessary. Not rude, but certainly not welcoming.

This was all surprising, given the overall 4.3 star rating. I don't think we'd stay there again. It's worth noting that a number of very recent reviews have similar complaints, so perhaps this is a new bad trend at this location.

Read More
Read Less

Excellent Customer Service

By

August 20, 2019

The room I booked online was no longer available due to another guest extending their stay so when I was informed I was extremely upset because we had our 4yr old granddaughter and I felt the space would have been to small. After speaking with Dontae at the front desk who was very accommodating by the way, I was no longer upset and my granddaughter actually enjoyed the view and didn't seem to care about the small space. I would absolutely stay here again and again. Donte was absolutely amazing, even when we were checking out, he was handling my check out along with helping another guest and neither one if us felt neglected!!! More hotels need people like Donte who cares about the guest and their needs. ☺

Read More
Read Less

Convenient location with easy access

By

October 15, 2014

Comfortable hotel with newly renovated rooms and lobby.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Dear DCNC53, We are pleased that you enjoy your stay with us. It is a fact we are fine tuning our newly renovated hotel. Thank you for choosing the Candlewood Suites Newport News Yorktown.
Read More
Read Less

Great Getaway for a Great Value

By

October 09, 2014

This suite provided a comfortable, affordable getaway option for me and my Mother on a quick trip to the area to see some old friends. It was roomy and gave us the ability to each have our own bedroom without breaking the bank!

Posted byHotelStaff
October 15, 2014
Dear Kim_1, Thanks for you and your mother choosing to stay with us. We are glad you got the chance to enjoy our two bed room suite. It is indeed spacious, economical and one of a kind in our area. We only have one of them so it's booked most of the time. We are lucky it was available during your visit. We look forward to your return to Candlewood Suites Newport News Yorktown.
Read More
Read Less

CockRoach Infested HOTEL STAY AWAY FROM

By

October 06, 2014

platinumelite

If you want to sleep and awake to cockroaches crawling on you then be a guest at this hotel.

The hotel staff were unresponsive and lacked any type of concern for my heath and welfare.

When I asked for a refund, The attendant just laughed at me.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 08, 2014
Dear lsieben, Sorry you had an unpleasant experience during your stay. We are not aware of any problems to this degree. We take pride in the cleanliness of the property and I'm sure you would have a different experience should you return. Thanks for choosing Candlewood Suites Newport News Yorktown. A home away from home.
Read More
Read Less

This place is a gem!

By

September 07, 2014

platinumelite

Love the staff, clean rooms, gym, etc - the location is perfect - close to Fort Eustis (I do a lot of contract work there), restaurants, and recreational activities (a movie theater and the "Noland Trail" which I love to run on when I have time while over there! Place is well managed and I love the recent improvements!

Posted byHotelStaff
September 17, 2014
Dear Larry W II, You were very kind in your comments. We do stress cleanliness and great service. The Regal Theater is indeed across the parking lot; along with many other venues in our shopping center walking distance. Glad you got a chance to try the Noland Trail being a runner myself! Looking forward to your return so you can see our completed renovation. See you soon. Thanks again for the awesome review.
Read More
Read Less

Simple overnight stay

By

August 27, 2014

platinumelite

This hotel met our needs. I was looking for a place I could use reward points, and this was the best value. It seemed like just about every other Candlewood I have stayed.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 01, 2014
Dear GaryM, Yes you are correct. We are a part of the IHG Rewards loyalty program. We try to ensure that the experience you get with us is consistent with every luxurious Candlewood Suites in America. Happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
Read More
Read Less

You cant judge a book by its cover

By

August 21, 2014

club

if you stay at this hotel, make sure to bring your own rugs and rags

Posted byHotelStaff
August 25, 2014
Dear dollar, We are sorry that you didn't enjoy yourself during your stay with us. Perhaps the active renovation is why you wasn't able to get the full presence that our other guests share with us. Please come back when the remodel is complete so you can share a different experience. Thanks again for choosing Candlewood Suites Newport News Yorktown.
Read More
Read Less

Comfortable and convenient place to stay.

By

August 20, 2014

club

We selected the Candlewood because of its location and the Candlewood brand. My wife and I were on a trip to look for potential places that we might move to. The Candlewood is conveniently located in the Hampton, New Port News, and Williamsburg area. We had a one bedroom suite which was very clean. The hotel staff was very courteous and when we requested a toaster oven they promptly got us one. The free laundry and dryer setup was great especially when you are staying for a long period. My wife used the fitness center and found the equipment and room clean and the equipment in good working order. I would recommend anyone coming to this area either for vacation or business should consider this hotel.

Posted byHotelStaff
August 25, 2014
Dear Sailingdude, We are very pleased to hear you and your wife enjoyed your time with us. We strive in giving excellent costumer service and a museum like cleanliness each and every day. Happy to hear you were able to utilize our brand new fitness center as well. Feel free to contact us directly the next time you are in the area to book your future stays. Thanks again for the awesome feedback .We look forward to your return to the Candlewood Suites Newport News Yorktown.
Read More
Read Less