Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews

Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.

Review
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
85%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.1

based on 439 reviews
85%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

439reviews

  • 5 Stars
    219
  • 4 Stars
    118
  • 3 Stars
    48
  • 2 Stars
    27
  • 1 Stars
    27

Awful customer service

By

01 July 2019

I am writing a second review to try and get the staff's attention. They have not dealt with my complaint, they do not respond to my emails and they do not even answer their phone! Imagine, a hotel that does not answer the phone. Either something has gone badly wrong with their processes for dealing with dissatisfied customers or they really are just incompetent and rude.

Perhaps if you read this, you could get around to opening up your email and sending a reply?

Read More
Read Less

Ideally placed for any function at the NEC; comfortable stay.

By

18 October 2014

We stayed in the Phil Lynott suite (room 201) when attending the Horse of the Year show. The room is close to the lift, generous in size and the bed linen crisp and clean with two comfortable beds and an array of chairs. Breakfast was the usual hotel fayre with plenty of choice, so no complaints here.

To improve;
1. Have more than 2 cups / 2 glasses in the room; noting that it's a suite it is likely than more than 2 people will be booked in, or a look at the booking would have seen that 3 of us would be staying.
2. Room service was good in terms of quality, but it was slow in delivery.
3. Could have done with some more staff at Breakfast.

Posted byHotelStaff
22 October 2014
Dear Woody522014, Thank you very much for your review about your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your time and I will be passing your feedback for the areas of improvement on to the relevant departments. I am looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in future. Kind Regards, David Steel Cluster General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Relaxing break

By

17 October 2014

club

We have stayed here about 3 times whilst visiting the Horse of the Year Show.

The staff are very pleasant and would definitely recommend a stay at this hotel.

Posted byHotelStaff
22 October 2014
Dear shelucky47, Thank you very much for your feedback and it is great to hear that you are staying regularly with us and are always enjoying your time with us. I hope you will stay with us again next year for HOYS. Kind Regards, David Steel Cluster General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Quality and Service

By

16 October 2014

club

our 10th stay at this venue and we remain very satisfied with the standards and service throughout.

Posted byHotelStaff
22 October 2014
Dear wh70, Thank you very much for your feedback and it is great to hear that you are a very regular guest in our hotel. I am looking forward to welcoming back to the hotel again soon. Kind Regards, David Steel Cluster General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Disappointing stay

By

13 October 2014

club

We have always had an excellent experience when staying at NEC which made our last trip such a surprise.
The safe in the bedroom would not lock, the hair drier did not work which I only found out after washing my hair, the kettle had old water in it, a teapot was found at the back of the shelf which had not seen daylight for a long time, the bathroom bin lid was broken, no air extraction in the bathroom, fridge did not work...there us more but I guess you get the picture.
The staff are the saving grace as they cannot do enough for you - something is going wrong somewhere! On the Express Check out it asked for feedback so I noted all of the above points, and more and disappointingly I have heard nothing since!

Staying at CP has become a ritual when attending events at NEC
, possibly we need to try elsewhere. Everyone makes mistakes but so many at once, but worse than that to not even get an acknowledgement in this day of feedback is a poor shoe

Posted byHotelStaff
16 October 2014
Dear J4ewe, Thank you very much for your feedback. I am very sorry that you had such a disappointing stay with us and that there were a large number of issues that you encountered during your stay. I really appreciate your feedback and it will help us to focus on the areas that you mentioned. I am very sorry that nobody has comeback to you regarding the feedback. This is definitely not the kind of service that we want to give to our guests. I hope you will give us another chance and stay with us again. Kind Regards, David Steel Cluster General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Amazing Staff

By

13 October 2014

club

The staff at this hotel are fantastic, they really look after you. They are very friendly and pleasant, and go out their way to make sure everything in fine. Especially the bar staff, with a special mention to Danielle who has a fantastic attitude and really makes you feel welcome.

Posted byHotelStaff
16 October 2014
Dear Mr Vouchers, Thank you very much for your feedback. I am pleased to hear that our staff is providing you with great service and I will pass your comments personally on to Danielle. I hope you will be staying with us again soon. Kind Regards, David Steel Cluster General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Most pleasant and comfortable room.

By

13 October 2014

club

Excellent staff and facilities. A warm welcome on arrival and departure.

Posted byHotelStaff
16 October 2014
Dear OMEY, Thank you very much for your positive feedback. Kind regards, David Steel Cluster General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Great service

By

13 October 2014

club

Staff exceptionally helpful. Rooms looking a little tired and rather warm - air con not very effective.

Posted byHotelStaff
16 October 2014
Dear Smile2, Thank you very much for your feedback and I am pleased to hear that you received great service while you were here. Kind Regards, David Steel Cluster General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Over night Airport stop

By

12 October 2014

Great Hotel in grounds off NEC Birmingham. Easy to get to airport. Realy nice hotel with friendly staff.

Posted byHotelStaff
16 October 2014
Dear skodabirkill, Thank you for your review and I hope you will be staying with us again soon. Kind Regards, David Steel Cluster General Manager
Read More
Read Less

No crown at this plaza

By

12 October 2014

club

Checking in was not the best.. My room was allocated to another member of our group. The room is small and just on the limit of cleanliness. The 5 night stay, the room was generally left in an appalling state.
Bar staff we're good to be fair considering the numbers in the area.
The restaurant staff we're polite and friendly, however I have never had such variable quality of food. The set menu is very limited.
Room service is a joke! Forgotten breakfast, forgotten water request, no cutlery, when I did complain they even forgot my free drinks!
I travel a lot and I'm not being difficult but this hotel really needs a huge kick up the back side. If it was not for the NEC I'm sure most would stay else where considering the prices. Our American guest asked if this was like "faulty towers"

Posted byHotelStaff
16 October 2014
Dear David0000156 , Thank you very much for your feedback. I am very sorry that you did not have a pleasant time with us and that you encountered a number of issues throughout your stay. This is definitely not the standard of service we want to provide to our guests and we will be looking into the issues that you raised to improve future service. Kind Regards, David Steel Cluster General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Excellence - a few niggles AND A REMINDER

By

09 October 2014

Great room, fabulous staff, clean rooms and everywhere else.
Grand experience. Would not hesitate to return.

The niggles...all to do with my wounded ego ;-)

Had to wait for serving staff to find chef to let me know which items were suitable for a gluten free diet: would have thought that would be a standard option these days.
No bath towels in the room on arrival. Sorted without problems.
Waitress forgot my breakfast coffee and served several others before I reminded her. Genuine mistake on her part.

The room keys repeatedly lost their programming and so trips to reception for reissue were a feature of the weekend.

Overall, warm, comfortable, welcoming, and willing staff always doing their best.

******** REMINDER********
THERE IS MORE THAN ONE CROWNE PLAZA IN BIRMINGHAM: Birmingham Central and Birmingham NEC

Swapping is not an option because the hotels are individually owned and managed.

READ YOUR CANCELLATION POLICY CAREFULLY AND DOUBLE CHECK YOU HAVE THE CORRECT LOCATION BEFORE YOU BOOK!!!

Posted byHotelStaff
16 October 2014
Dear RLBird , Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding your stay and I hope you will be staying with us again in future. Kind regards, David Steel Cluster General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC

By

09 October 2014

club

Good attentive staff, good standard of services and staff were the most helpful of any hotel staff i have met this year.

Posted byHotelStaff
16 October 2014
Dear Rich999 Fire, Thank you very much fro your feedback and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon. Kind Regards, David Steel Cluster General Manager
Read More
Read Less