Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews

Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.

Review
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
95%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.3

based on 168 reviews
95%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

168reviews

  • 5 Stars
    92
  • 4 Stars
    48
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    3

good location.easy access

By

18 October 2014

Always try to use this hotel when going to the NEC.
Easy to get to and park.
Very near Solihull shops and bars etc.

Read More
Read Less

Pleasant Stay

By

14 October 2014

Good hotel in good location. Room we had was very large and very comfortable and we had a good night's sleep. Swimming pool and gym are excellent. Shame about the bar food service.

Posted byHotelStaff
17 October 2014
Dear Peter96, Thank you for you super five star review and for completeing a Heartbeat guest satisfaction survey, we're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I'm sorry to read of the problems with your food order and that the dishes were not as you ordered. I don't why this was at present but I will be finding out. I'm glad that this did not affect your overall enjoyment of your stay. Tim Sparrow, Resident Manager.
Read More
Read Less

Comfortable room, good attentive staff

By

09 October 2014

A great hotel for a relaxing weekend away, shame my friend wasn't in the same part of the hotel as me as she was facing the noisy nightclub opposite!

Posted byHotelStaff
11 October 2014
Dear A sugarcrafter, Thank you for taking the time to write this fantastic five star review, we're really pleased you had a relaxing time. I'm sorry to read of your friends experience, I hope she spoke to us at the time. We look forward to welcoming you both back again soon. Tim Sparrow, Resident Manager
Read More
Read Less

fantastic staff and a very pleasant hotel

By

08 October 2014

We have stayed at this hotel during the last 5 years for business purposes - and can rate the events and all
staff extremely friendly and helpful.

Would like more room in a lounge with more comfortable chairs to sit in.

Posted byHotelStaff
11 October 2014
Dear Gower, Thank you for your fantatsic five star review. It's great to read that you enjoy your stays with us and choose to return, we appreciate your business. We have some exciting plans in the new year for the lounge / lobby area which I'm sure you will enjoy. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Tim Sparrow, Resident Manager.
Read More
Read Less

Wonderful location and staff

By

08 October 2014

I make quite a few business trips to the UK from the US. I always look forward to coming back to this hotel. The staff is great and remember me. The rooms, although small compared to the US, are spacious enough to be comfortable. The only negative comment I can make is the WiFi in the rooms leaves much to be desired. In the 10 or so stays I have at this hotel I can only remember 1 room where the WiFi service was decent. During a business stay internet access is my lifeline for work, communication, etc. If I cannot get a decent and stable internet connection it makes my stay that much less productive.

Posted byHotelStaff
11 October 2014
Dear Dhars, Thank you for your great four star review, it's great to hear from our regular guests. I'm not sure when your last stay was but we've had an internet upgrade just this week and there are more upgrades in the pipeline. As you are a regular guest, we'd also be happy to allocate you your preffered room at the point of reservation whenever possible. Please feel free to contact me on your next visit. Tim Sparrow, Resident Manager.
Read More
Read Less

Quality of sleep

By

07 October 2014

Only complaint is the soft pillows don't seem very soft to me. Difficult to tell apart from firm pillows sometimes

Posted byHotelStaff
11 October 2014
Dear romsey7, Thank you for your fantastic five star review. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we've noted your comments about our pillow types. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Tim Sparrow, Resident Manager.
Read More
Read Less

Have stayed many times in the past and will stay again

By

02 October 2014

The staff are very helpful and the food is always excellent!

Posted byHotelStaff
05 October 2014
Dear Hilary123, Thank you for excellent review. It's great to read that you enjoyed your stay and will choose to stay with us again. I've received you additional feedback for which I am grateful and will respond to under separate cover. Tim Sparrow, Resident Manager.
Read More
Read Less

Poor quality of room decoration, heating and electrics

By

01 October 2014

The room was classed as an executive suite
The decoration was tired and needed a re-fit.
Pillows on bed were small and did not go with the bed.
Lighting was poor
Three types of heating in room.
eLECTRONIC A/C WHICH DID NOT SEEM TO WORK., A RADIATOR WHICH DID NOT SEEM TO WORK AND AN ELECTRIC HEATER.
Bathroom large but basic
No heating in bathroom
Shower weak.

Posted byHotelStaff
05 October 2014
Dear indinia, Thank you for your review and Heartbeat survey. I'm sorry that you didn't find your executive room to your taste. We would have happily done whatever we can to have made your two night stay better had we know of your concerns. I have checked the room which is to standard and the heating and air conditioning is working but I'm sorry if there were problems during your stay. The pillows are standard sized but as the bed is king size, I appreciate your comments in that respect. Additional pillows are always available. I hope that you will consider using us again, and should you experience any problems, not hesitate to get in contact with us at the time. Tim Sparrow, Resident Manager.
Read More
Read Less

Fantastic staff

By

30 September 2014

I have stayed here several times and I will stay here many more time for work.

However, twice there was a problem with my booking (my company hadn't book me a room). Thankfully, the staff at Holiday Inn Solihull were fantastic in helping me get a room that night on both occasions! Brilliant service. I know one time the lady at the desk was called Chloe, but all of the people at the reception deserve praise.

Two (minor) downsides to the hotel are:
- the terrible wifi reception outside of the bar area; and
- the poor selection of drinks at the bar! could you stock a couple of local ales in your Holiday Inns across the country? Would be nice to try some local tipples, rather than the boring bland ales on offer!

Posted byHotelStaff
02 October 2014
Dear timmytomtom, Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments, especially with you being a regular guest. I'm pleased to say that we are currently in the process of increasing our internet bandwidth with other upgrades due in the near future. I've also noted your comment about our ales. We have recently increased the variety of our bottled ale offering but they aren't local as you suggest. We'll see what we can arrange in that repect. Please feel free to discuss with us next time you are here. Thank you for your kind words about our reception team and about Chloe, who works in reservations. They are all a credit to our hotel and I will pass on your comments. Tim Sparrow, Resident Manager.
Read More
Read Less

Fantastic place to stay for a shopping trip

By

24 September 2014

club

We often stay at the Holiday Inn Solihull as we love the Touchwood shopping centre and the area in general.
We have always found the reception staff very welcoming and the rooms comfortable.

Posted byHotelStaff
05 October 2014
Dear steveieboy, Thank you for your fantatsic review and for your choice to stay with us when in the area. The team and I are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to the next time. Tim Sparrow, Resident Manager.
Read More
Read Less

Another lovely stay

By

08 September 2014

I stay at the Holiday Inn Solihull regularly. Staff are always great and room is always good. Would recommend it to anyone.

Posted byHotelStaff
20 September 2014
Dear paddit, Thank you for your superb five star review. It's great to hear from our regular guests and that we are able to continually impress. We look forward to your next stay, please feel free to contact me should I be of any assistance. Tim Sparrow, Resident Manager.
Read More
Read Less

Excellent stay...again!!

By

05 September 2014

club

WE love this hotel. It has everything you need, and is in close proximity to the Touchwood Shopping Centre, which includes Food Outlets, Cinema, Bars, and the surrounding shopping streets are conveniently located.Roll on the next visit!!!

Posted byHotelStaff
20 September 2014
Dear Barry66, Thank you for your amazing five star review. The team and I are really pleased that you enjoy your stays with us and we look forward to the next time. Tim Sparrow, Resident Manager.
Read More
Read Less