Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews

Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.

Review
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
89%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.4

based on 325 reviews
89%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

325reviews

  • 5 Stars
    195
  • 4 Stars
    89
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    17
  • 1 Stars
    8

Very dated

By

October 18, 2021

We stayed here for my wife’s birthday the review is below

Pros
Ideally located
Lovely public areas
Excellent food
Helpful self
Lovely flowers etc for birthday


Cons
Rooms very dated we had a executive suite which was in a poor state.

Not exactly a four star hotel stay in several Crowne plaza and this is the most poor state one ever

Holes in towels
No bathrobes in room and when they did arrive very shabbie and has holes in them

Certainly very bad value for money compared to other Crowne plaza

Read More
Read Less

Disappointing stay

By

July 06, 2021

First impressions of the hotel as you enter the reception area are good, however..
- The rooms are now more than ready for an upgrade and total refurb.
- The bathroom was in need of a good scrub and re-decoration.
- The Bathtub was discoloured.
- The toilet seat was completely unhinged and we had to keep trying to replace this in order to use the toilet.
We stayed for two nights the first day we went to the zoo and returned to find the room had not been serviced by the maid.
The member of staff we reported this to seemed to be under the impression that as housekeeping had finished for the day that we might manage without the service. So we had to go out again and the room was 'done'.
The Receptionist took the details from us as we checked out.

Read More
Read Less

Great value. A gem in the city.

By

October 16, 2014

club

Was delighted - and lucky! - to be able to book a room at very short notice in the Crowne Plaza Chester. Very impressive hotel with a comfy guest room and quality surroundings. The staff could not have been more friendly; chatty, warm and welcoming. The stay in this hotel really helped make a first visit to Chester a really enjoyable experience. Would definitely recommend.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Thank you for a great review. Im glad you liked the hotel and look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the future Many thanks Peter Gregory Operations Manager
Read More
Read Less

A Lovely Stay

By

October 16, 2014

I had a wonderful spa weekend as a treat for my Mum. We won a competition on Facebook and were delighted to receive such an amazing service. We were given an Executive room on the club floor which has a Club lounge with complimentary soft and hot drinks available 24 hours and alcohol and canope's between 5-8pm. We had 2 treatments each at the Crowne Spa, the girls at the spa were very welcoming and professional and my Mum even said it was the best facial she has ever had! The breakfast choice was plentiful and the freshest of ingredients. I could not recommend Crowne Plaza Chester more.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Thank you for a great review. Its great to hear that you were able to experience all the facilities the hotel has to offer, I will pass on your comments to the Spa team. I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the near future Many thanks Peter Gregory Operations Manager
Read More
Read Less

Crowne Plaza Chester

By

October 15, 2014

I stayed here for a week at the beginning of October for quite an intensive course. I can't fault the hotel on it's facilities, the cleanliness, service etc
The bedroom was spotlessly clean and essentially comfortable but for me the bedrooms were too hot, the airconditioning unit in my room worked fine and cooled the room beautifully when it was on - and here the problem lies, to turn it on you need to be in the room as you have to slot your pass key into the wall slot to make it work, since I wasn't getting back to my room until gone 8.30pm it only gave me a few hours essentially to cool the room as you cannot sleep with the aircon unit running because the bed is in direct line for the outlet and frigid air washes over you, it certainly wasn't too noisy either.
This is only a minor gripe but I can imagine the rooms are baking hot in the summer as my visit was October and I felt too warm. Apart from this the service, staff and hotel in general is excellent.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Thank you for your review. Im sorry you found the room to hot, The air con is controlled by your key for the reason that we are now a Green hotel and do not want to have aircon and lights left on when the room is not in use. I can understand how inconvient this is and I can only apoligise. Im glad you found the rest of the hotel to your liking Many thanks Peter Gregory Operations Manger
Read More
Read Less

Great attentive staff

By

October 13, 2014

This was a special few days for us to celebrate a birthday.
It was one of the best hotels we have stayed in.
We could not have been better cared for by ALL the staff.
We would unequivocally recommend it to others.
A big "well done" to Crowne Plaza Chester!

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Thank you for your great review I will share your comments with all the team. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future Many thanks Peter Gregory Operations Manager
Read More
Read Less

staff are great rooms can be noisy

By

October 10, 2014

staff are great rooms can be noisy, even on the higher floors

Posted byCustomerCare
October 18, 2014
Dear travellertravellertravell, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are pleased that we were able to meet your expectations when it comes to our hotel staff. On the other hand, we sincerely apologize if the noise levels you have experienced may have caused you any inconvenience. We will certainly use your feedback to find more ways on how we can provide you with a better stay in the future. Sincerely, Faith R Case Manager IHGCare
Read More
Read Less

Checking issues but otherwise great

By

October 10, 2014

platinumelite

Nice hotel, great location for seeing the sights of Chester.
Check in was a bit of a disaster as room wasn't ready and then they forgot we were waiting, but we got a free upgrade in the end so was satisfied.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Thank you for your review. Your feedback is very valuable to myself to make sure our service is consistantly high. I will investigate with my Reception Manager to implement any neescessary changes. With your feedback we can only improve Many thanks Peter Gregory Operations Manager
Read More
Read Less

All good

By

October 09, 2014

All good from this hotel. Having a new bed is always a bonus. Food was spot on, staff were even better

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Thank you for your review I will share your comments with the team. Im glad you liked our new beds Look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future Many thanks Peter Gregory Operations Manger
Read More
Read Less

I always stay here when in Chester

By

October 09, 2014

Great hotel. The staff make this hotel. Always attentive and will go out their way to help you. Good food for all meals. The spa facilities are good, with pool, steam room, sauna and gym. Only 2 mins to the shops.
See you again soon! Thanks

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Thank you for your great review Im pleased to hear that you always stay with us when in Chester. I will pass your feedback to all the team I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future Many thanks Peter Gregory Operations Manger
Read More
Read Less

Excellent Experience

By

October 09, 2014

My friend and I stayed here as it was on the doorstep of the Racecourse which is were the start of the Chester marathon was. It was literally across the road which made it so easy. We checked out before the marathon but the hotel allowed us to use the leisure facilities for the day so we were able to shower and use the pool after the run which was a massive help to us as we were getting the train home the same day as the run. We have previously had hassle from other hotels when asking to use shower facilities etc. but with the staff here it was no problem. The rooms were without fault and we got a great nights sleep. Little extras like towelling robes, slippers, sleep inducers etc. made the stay even better. Breakfast was excellent. I have recommended this hotel both on the marathon review site and to other members of my running club who may run the marathon. The hotel is situated at the other side of the town from the train station but it is worth a walk - they also have a car park if you are driving.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Thank you for your great review. Im so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you and your running club to the hotel in the near future. The dates for next years half marathon is Sunday 17th May and the full marathon is Sunday 4th October I do hope you will be able to visit us before and enjoy the hotel and the City of Chester Many thanks peter Gregory Operations Manger
Read More
Read Less

Good Bad - improve Cleanliness

By

October 08, 2014

club

Comfortable Room and double beds, not so good the single bed solutions. Disconcerting lack of toilet brush. Sometimes flowed cleanliness of toilette.

Posted byCustomerCare
October 18, 2014
Dear Max79, Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. We are delighted to hear that you found our room and beds comfortable. Whilst we are pleased with the good comments, we truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. We are sorry for the inconvenience the cleanliness of our bathroom may have caused. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future. Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon. We value you as our IHG Rewards Club Gold member. Sincerely, Krysllin G. Case Manager IHGCare
Read More
Read Less