Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews

Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.

Review
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
76%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

3.7

based on 194 reviews
76%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

194reviews

  • 5 Stars
    69
  • 4 Stars
    51
  • 3 Stars
    36
  • 2 Stars
    17
  • 1 Stars
    21

omfortable bed

By

October 17, 2014

overall good experience, Beautiful hotel with clean, spacious, comfortable rooms. Sleeping was great in a very comfortable bed in a room that was completely dark and very quiet despite a tropical storm raging outside. Staff is extremely helpful and polite.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Dear maomao12, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate you staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely, The Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo Team
Read More
Read Less

Front desk experience

By

October 12, 2014

club

Elaine was always cheerful and efficient. She helped to get my IHG number attached to my folio for proper credit for my stay.

Read More
Read Less

Transportation Issue

By

October 09, 2014

On Thurs Oct 2 I called the front desk about 5:45 AM to order a cab at 7AM. I had a critical business meeting at Guidewire and had to be on site to meet clients at 7:30. Guidewire is 5 mins away.
When I got the lobby at 6:55, there was no concierge available. I went outside and there were no taxis. I went to the desk who referred me to the concierge, who after moving luggage told me she would phone for a taxi. I waited outside and none arrived....at 7:15 I asked again, and by 7:25 had to phone a colleague to pick me up, with the result that I was late to this important meeting. This directly affects my job.
The bottom line is that if Crowne Plaza cannot guarantee me a cab with an hour's plus notice, it will be hard for me to stay here again. I realize a 5-min trip is a low priority to the cab companies, but if Crowne Plaza is not a valued priority customer to the cabbies, again, I cannot depend on you to get me where I need to go in a timely manner.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 13, 2014
Dear Smott999, Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. We realized where we failed to meet your needs and expectations and sincerely apologize for our mistakes. We take reviews like yours very seriously and please be assured proper actions are being taken place by management to prevent similar situations. At the Crowne Plaza, our number one priority is our guests, it is our hope you will consider us again for your future accommodations. We hope serve you better in the future. Sincerely, Crowne Plaza Foster City Management
Read More
Read Less

It's like a new hotel.

By

October 07, 2014

This hotel has been around a long time. Lucky for us, they are just finishing a major renovation and it's beautiful. The lobby is very welcoming with great seating for relaxing with a Starbucks from the friendly barista. The front desk staff were friendly, welcoming, efficient, helpful.

The room was completely new. Very comfortable. A great bed. Nice linens. Clean, fresh bathroom. With our Platinum IHG membership, the breakfast in the executive tower was exceptionally good!

The thing that really stood out about our stay here was the staff. Without exception they were friendly, polite, gracious. Everyone from the front desk, housekeeping, room service, breakfast room staff; no exceptions. They were proud of their "new" hotel and seemed delighted that we were there to experience it. Kudos to the GM and your other hotel leaders. Your people are awesome! That doesn't happen by accident. We're in the Bay Area regularly. We'll be back!

Read More
Read Less

Great time in my last stay

By

October 07, 2014

platinumelite

Loved the hotel (first time) loved my room (executive building) but above all, I met an amazing and welcoming reception lady who such i never meet before in other hotels. She was worm and helpful during my check in and my entire stay.
Thanks Jeannen for making the last business trip so good
You are one of a kind and have a new friend for life

:-)

Thanks

Meir Uziel

Read More
Read Less

Hotel

By

October 05, 2014

Good hotel! I had a good visit. I hope to visit another time!

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable bed, quiet

By

October 04, 2014

club

I enjoyed my stay for business purposes. The room was quiet, comfortable,

Read More
Read Less

Feathers and Dark Doorways

By

September 30, 2014

Stayed in the Executive Tower. The sliding doors require key card access after a certain hour at night. My key card never worked. This wasn't a problem though, because the door that faces the dark and very limited parking lot is always unlocked. Unfortunately, this dark door is also right next to the elevators, so it leads you to feel as if someone (anyone) could sneak in and not be seen.

Next, I asked for a feather free room (allergic to feathers). I was told by the front desk that "ALL rooms are feather free unless the guest asks for feather pillows." This is FALSE. I had a king size bed with 4 pillows. Two of the four were feather pillows, thus unusable. I looked for the extra two pillows in the closet and found that the pillow cases were discolored and looked stained. No thanks! Luckily it was just me, so my travel pillow and the 2 foam pillows were OK, but it was certainly not what one expects.

Read More
Read Less

Clean but noisy and overpriced

By

September 26, 2014

- Room door didn't close until you pushed them really hard. Not comfortable to find this out in the morning.

- The bath tub didn't drain. I wanted to report this but it got fixed the next day so probably room service acted proactively.

- No real walls there, you can hear coughing and toilet flushing two or three rooms away.

- Some hotel facility (pool, laundry, air conditioning?) made a loud humming noise coming through the walls and the bathroom air vent that prevented me to fall asleep. It kept going on and off till early morning.

- The parking lot behind the tower was insufficient as most of the capacity was fenced off and served as storage area.

- No complimentary breakfasts raised some eyebrows given the base price we paid. Also the variety of food was poor (no cereals, no yoghurt, no white bread), certainly not worth the price.

- Wifi connection was slow and not reliable, redirecting to the hotel page every few hours.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 03, 2014
Dear bflmpsvz, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Crowne Plaza Foster City. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At the Crowne Plaza, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the issues you have brought up. Thank you for your review, and look forward to your future stay. Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza! Sincerely, Crowne Plaza Foster City Management
Read More
Read Less

Clean Room, comfortable bed, need new pillows

By

September 25, 2014

club

We were there for a wedding. The Staff was great. The dinner served at the wedding was really good. The Lobby , lounge, room, and bathroom were clean. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was good, but a little pricey.

Read More
Read Less

Decent room and excellen room staff

By

September 23, 2014

I think that the front desk person during check-in was not very friendly. And, since she is going to set the tone for the entire stay, she needs to improve.
Also, either the last guest sprayed the room with the "relaxation spray" or the staff did and I found it unpleasant (the first two days it bothered my allergies).
I know they are working on the facilities and have redone the first floor. However, after having the dining room closed for four months, i don't see any significant changes to "common areas."

Posted byHotelStaff
September 30, 2014
Dear Michelrj54, Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Foster City. We strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please be assured your comments are noted to prevent future occurrences. Thank you for bringing the issue to our attention. We hope to see you again in the near future. Sincerely, Crowne Plaza Foster City Management
Read More
Read Less

Comfortable

By

September 19, 2014

club

They should get rooms temperature-ready for incoming customers. Particularly during the transition period between summer and fall, when those unexpected warm days pop up...

Posted byHotelStaff
September 22, 2014
Dear josre, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Crowne Plaza. We strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the room temperature in the guest rooms upon check in. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Crowne Plaza Foster City Management
Read More
Read Less