Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews

Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.

Review
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
71%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

3.7

based on 432 reviews
71%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

432reviews

  • 5 Stars
    167
  • 4 Stars
    98
  • 3 Stars
    68
  • 2 Stars
    57
  • 1 Stars
    42

Great Location!

By

November 22, 2021

Pros - The location is fantastic! You are right next to the beach with a walkway, and adjacent to the pier. You are within a few blocks of Old Town Ventura with restaurants, shops, farmers market, etc. You are minutes to the Marina. The complimentary coffee is great. The views of the sunset and ocean are wonderful.

Cons - The noise of the freeway and train in very loud! Ear plugs should be given as other hotels that are in noisy locals. I usually sleep with the sliding door or windows open. I had to keep the door close because the noise was so bad. I even changed rooms to get a little further away from the noise.

After a wonderful, long evening walk, I went to talk a soothing bath and found that the plug did not work. It was late, 10:30 and I had to call and have it repaired. This was very inconvenient. The hotel is very old and attention needs to be paid to things that need to be replaced. The carpet in the hallways are also very soiled.

I was at a banquet at the hotel, and found some of my food to be at room temperature instead of hot. Further inspection revealed two of the burners on the food to be out., This was not good. Otherwise, the food was tasty.

Lastly, in order to enter the pool, you must walk through the restaurant. I found this to be unacceptable as I did not feel it was appropriate to walk through that area in swim clothes. The outside gates should have been equipped to be opened by guests.,

Read More
Read Less

Standard View Rooms are Substandard

By

April 02, 2021

My boyfriend and I have stayed here several times, and the quality of service has gone way down in recent months. They seemed to be nicer and more accommodating during the construction/renovation than they are now.

I booked a Standard View room, like we always have, and when we checked in, Monique was going to give us a room on the south side of the building on the 4th floor. My boyfriend asked if we could be on the north side instead, so that he could check the surf point from our room. She told us she had a room on the north side of the hotel on the 2nd floor, and gave us that room. We got to the room, and couldn't see anything from the "balcony" (photo attached) because there was a huge, rusted AC unit right outside the room.

We called right away and asked to be switched back to the room on the 4th floor, and Monique said it had been assigned and was no longer available. She also told us we had booked a standard view room, and that was considered standard view. I asked to speak to the supervisor, and she told me he was busy on the phone and put me on hold. We decided to go downstairs instead, where Lilliana told us the supervisor was on a break, but that she was able to put us back into the 4th floor room we were originally supposed to get. So Monique lied when we called. I wish the staff we used to see still worked there. Andrea was always so friendly and helpful when we would check-in.

We like this hotel because of the location, but other than that, rooms are just ok. Standard room bathrooms have no counter space, which makes getting ready inconvenient because you can't leave things out, and have to get ready out of your suitcase each time. Bathroom doors are opaque glass, which doesn't feel private, and also means anyone going to the bathroom at night wakes up everyone else in the room when the light bleeds through the glass doors.

Location is convenient, but has always been sketchy, and seems to be getting worse. Had a car window smashed in the parking garage once, and items were stolen. Another time, while walking toward the parking garage to leave the hotel, we were approached by a man outside the garage who repeatedly tried to lure us toward a taxi/uber we didn't request. Thankfully made it to our car and got away safely. And this last time, while walking back to the hotel from downtown, a homeless man by the train tracks was yelling at us, and followed us for a bit.

Read More
Read Less

Beautiful room and views

By

May 08, 2019

Absolutely loved our room! Exceptional views, most friendliest staff all throughout hotel! Staff made us feel very welcome and comfortable great atmosphere. Food from La Consecha was delicious Daniel from room service took good care of us.Drinks made by Alicia at the Aqua bar were delicious.Thank you so much for a wonderful stay. Definitely telling all are friends and family!

Read More
Read Less

First Impression — Wonderful

By

October 18, 2014

This Crowne Plaza was the first one I've stayed at. The staff took care of all my needs from beginning to end, and even upgraded my room to a suite when there was a switch with my room, courtesy of Angelica and another girl during the morning shift.

I was going to stay at one in San Diego, and that hotel had certain things that I thought this Crowne Plaza in Ventura would have, but to my surprise, not all Crowne Plazas are the same. But regardless, from this stay, I'm definitely looking forward to further stays at Crowne Plaza. Though I didn't swim in the on-site pool, it looked clean and very accommodating.

Thank you Crowne Plaza staff!! It's always the staff that brings the hotel to life; not the amenities.
Brandon

Posted byHotelStaff
October 22, 2014
Hello Bobbio7, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay and the 5-star rating; we are always glad to hear that our staff has made a difference in your stay. We too look forward to your return trip to the Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach Hotel. We will pass this review on to Angelic and the front desk staff. Best regards, Douglas wood General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Nice oceanfront, but beware

By

October 17, 2014

Being right on the ocean with most rooms having a view is a major draw. Were it not for that, I'd never stay at this hotel again. The hotel is dated and overdue for a major cosmetic makeover. Worst: The mattress on our bed was extremely saggy and uncomfortable. The hotel food is high priced and not very good. Walk a few blocks into downtown Ventura and you'll find some great restaurants. The heating/cooling system in the room is very loud and not efficient. Had to run the loud fan all night, needs modernization. Postiives: The staff are very friendly and responsive. No complaints there.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 22, 2014
Hello Dex1952, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay; I am sorry to hear that it was not a good time for you. Please feel free to call my direct line to discuss further if you like, it is 805-652-5101. Best regards, Douglas Wood General Manager Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Read More
Read Less

Great service/location!

By

October 16, 2014

club

This is a great location if you want to relax on an oceanfront resort. Beach is just steps away, there is a pier with a few restaurants. Bike rentals at the resort. The carpet on the 5th floor where we stayed needs to be cleaned or changed on the hallways and a bit overpriced to me. The staff was great however and breakfast is very good and not that expensive.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 20, 2014
Hello Roger32, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay and the 5-star rating you gave us. We appreciate you kind words regarding our location and staff; also your comments regarding the hallway carpet; the great news is that all floors will be replaced soon. Best regards, Douglas Wood General Manager Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach Hotel
Read More
Read Less

Great time and beautiful location

By

October 14, 2014

We were there to quietly celebrate my mother's 75th birthday. We were gifted the best whether ever and spent many hours at the front of the hotel in front of the lounge in front of the beach!! Best thing for my mom who isn't very mobile. The food there was ecxellent as well as the breakfasts in the morning at the restaurant. Well done!

Posted byHotelStaff
October 18, 2014
Hello kahea66, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay and the 5-star rating. We appreciate your kind comments about our staff and the food; we strive to be the best here at the Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach Hotel. We are very happy to hear you mother enjoyed her 75th birthday here and the weather was great for you. Best regards, Douglas Wood General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Great ocean views with balcony

By

October 13, 2014

club

Always enjoy coming to the hotel every chance I get. They have updated their rooms for a modern look. The bathroom is small and the tile around the tub needs to be redone. They have a great happy hour with great foods and prices. I have dinner at the hotel every time I stayed here. Their fitness center have very outdated equipment! Overall, is a great stay if you don't mind the train noises.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 16, 2014
Hello Dickson, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay and that you enjoy coming here; please stop by and ask for me the next time you're here and we will update on some of the plans to update the fitness center and more. All the best, Douglas Wood General Manager Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach Hotel
Read More
Read Less

One of the best hotels on the American West Coast

By

October 13, 2014

platinumelite

It's really hard not to like a hotel right on the beach. And this hotel is one of my favorites. The rooms and staff are impeccable. They rent multiple person surreys that can be ridden up and down the boardwalk and into town (if you have that kind of energy).
During my most recent stay, my wallet fell from my pocket while riding one of the before mentioned surreys. A fellow guest found it, brought it to the hotel and the front desk called my cell so I could retrieve it.
If you are in the area or considering a visit to the area, the Crowne Plaza should be the only hotel you'd consider staying at.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 16, 2014
Hello StPat, Wow, thank you for your great comments; please stop by and ask for me the next time you're here. We strive to be the best at the Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach Hotel and guest feedback like this is what spurs us on. We too appreciate the 5-Star rating. Best regards, Douglas Wood General Manager
Read More
Read Less

location ideal but overpriced

By

October 13, 2014

if you are looking to walk onto the beach then this is the hotel for you. however, the staff was not friendly, the hotel states it was renovated recently but we found no evidence of that. the rooms and bathrooms are outdated. the bathroom area very small . the area outside of the hotel had a lot of transient type people loitering. the noise from outside was loud ( bar with outside seating and train station behind hotel) for the same price you can stay at a much nicer hotel in the area, therefore we feel the price per night was very high. the pool was dirty and not very big. also there is not a gift shop/food store to buy things like drinks, snacks, forgotten items, only vending machines.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 16, 2014
Hello TravelsWithChildren, I am sorry to hear about your stay and if you have the time, please call me, my direct line is 805-652-5101 or email me at dwood@cpventuraventura.com. Best regards, Douglas Wood General Manager Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach Hotel
Read More
Read Less

A Home Away from Home! -- the Best Hotel in the Entire Ride 2 Recovery

By

October 12, 2014

I'm extremely visually impaired ever since a vehicle whacked me rather violently a year back. So I want to thank the Crowne Plaza because your hotel helped my rehab go so much smoother!

You see, even though I used to fly to the very nicest places in the world for athletic competitions, I'm was no longer used to such a luxurious setting as Crowne Plaza, because after my coma and finally getting my feeding tube removed, I lived in different hospitals for several more months when even digesting food was really tough. And with little energy from food, the rehab was so exhausting I really needed a break (quite a fall from being spoiled by having a competent body as a US Olympian in prior years). So when I finally felt good enough to leave the hospitals, I joined our wounded war veterans in the Ride 2 Recovery (riding our bicycles 60 to 70 miles each day for recovery and fun).

Of all the accommodations we had on our daily bicycle therapy ride from Palo Alto down to LA, by far the best was the Crowne Plaza on Ventura Blvd. Because I'm so visually impaired since my head whack, at all the previous hotels I had to wait a long time to get help to get on-line to send emails back to my family. But your superior service set an unbelievable record: in 1 minute Jake Ornelas came quite a distance from the front desk to my 7th floor room, and personally connected my own computer in the next minute, Then my talking email did all other work over a lightening fast connections. I was grateful to be securely on-line at the exact same time as most of my 100 other veteran fiends (what a pleasure compared to other hotels where even 30 simultaneous connections grinds connectivity to a halt).

Everyone appreciates sleep when we're exhausted, but after a year of suffering from a twitching leg, the comfort of my room made such a difference that I woke up feeling wonderful, after getting ALL 10 hours of sleep that my injuries still demand..

Lastly, your buffet breakfast was a delight just before we left. (Sorry all those biking miles made us so hungry you probably lost a couple bucks on that one, but it's wonderful Not to be nickel and dimed!) What a pleasure when we all topped off on unlimited bowls of fresh pineapple, blueberries, and raspberries!

Thanks Crowne Plaza!
Dale

Posted byHotelStaff
October 20, 2014
Hello Dale123, We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay and the 5-star rating. Your kind words about the hotel and staff are also appreciated and glad to hear you had a great time. We look forward to your return trip and glad that you are on the road to recovery. All the best, Douglas Wood General Manager Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach Hotel
Read More
Read Less

very comfortable, ony the pillows a little hard,

By

October 09, 2014

it vas very nice weekend, only that the balcony was liking water from the top floor so we couldn't seat outside the liking was constantly.

Other than that I was very happy with this room, and will stay again next time, I highly recommend this resort.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 13, 2014
Hello SyIVine2011, We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about you stay and the 5-star rating. We will look to see what the leaking of the air conditioning units were in the room above and have softer pillows for you on your next stay, which is soon hopefully. Best regards, Douglas Wood General Manager Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach Hotel
Read More
Read Less