Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
95%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.4

based on 65 reviews
95%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

65reviews

  • 5 Stars
    42
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

A bit tired and serious cleanliness issue

By

09 August 2021

We booked the holiday Inn Aberdeen West via a booking website. We booked two rooms for 4 adults and 1 child including breakfast.On arrival on 29/07,2021 there was ample parking outside. We went to reception to check in. We were given adjacent rooms on the 3rd floor. The receptionist then requested payment for our stay. However prior to inputting my card PIN I noticed the amount was double what I had booked for. The receptionist apologised and cancelled the transaction and then entered the correct amount. We were given the keys to our rooms. There are two lifts in this hotel but only one was working at the time of our visit. We ended up taking the stairs most of the time to avoid queuing for the lift. There was hand sanitiser on the third floor foyer and a vending machine. We checked our room and noted it was spacious and appeared clean. The decor was a bit worn and outdated though. The room did not have a fridge which we later found out is only available in executive rooms. Our bathroom was clean modern and spacious although the shower gel dispenser was empty and we requested more from housekeeping. Other family members had the adjacent room and returned to advise us that there was a used mask lying on the floor of the room. We checked their room and there was indeed a used mask lying on the floor. We contacted reception who in turn alerted housekeeping. A few hours later housekeeping attended the room and cleaned it. However they failed to remove the mask. We contacted them again and showed them where the mask was which they then removed. Due to Covid restrictions any toiletries, bedding or towels had to be ordered via reception or housekeeping. Likewise any rubbish had to be uplifted via reception. This was to reduce the contact with other persons which made sense. We had breakfast included as part of our stay. Breakfast had to be booked via reception so that you could be allocated a time slot. Our breakfast was in Luigi's Restaurant. On arrival we were allocated a table near the window in the corner for our party of 5. However the table had not been cleaned. This was pointed out to the staff who apologised and cleaned our table properly. Our first breakfast was a la carte and the portions of food were good and it was very tasty. The next 2 days the breakfast changed to a buffet breakfast and again the items were varied and tasty. There were cooked Scottish breakfast items in the buffet as well as packaged pastries, mini boxes of cereals and fruit. The hot buffet items were replaced frequently. We used the hotel as a base of operations for exploring the surrounding area. Prior to our first excursion, we found that the safe in our room was broken and we asked for reception to fix this. However this was not done during our stay. We ended up using the safe in the adjacent room. We did use the ice machine in the foyer which was handy. On the last evening we went to the bar and had a few drinks. The bar was well stocked and the staff were friendly and we were served quickly. Overall I was disappointed with the hotel. I felt the hotel was a bit tired and needed a bit of TLC. In addition I felt that the coronavirus measures and cleaning at the hotel where severely lacking. The staff were friendly and did try their best. We enjoyed our stay in Aberdeen despite this hotel rather than because of it. Unfortunately we will not be back.

Read More
Read Less

NOT THE BEST STAY !!

By

12 April 2021

I know things don't always go as planned but my stay was frosty to say the least,
with gales force winds ,snow and ice battering Scotland last week i never expected to be so cold that i would need to where a hoodie to bed, i did as the heating was not working, i went to the reception and told them about the heating not working to be told the men had been to look at it that day and are coming back the next to resolve the problem, this was not a solution to my problem , the next morning after a very cold uncomfortable nights sleep i inquired again about the status of the heating and was told it should all be ready when i get back later that day,
it most certainly was not sorted when i got back to the hotel from work as i was handed a old dusty electric heater.
i plugged it in to the socket when i got to my room and once all the smell of the burning dust had dissipated the room started to feel warm , i then went to moved the heater away from the window only to receive an electric shock, i thought it may have been static so once again tried to move the appliance only to receive a larger shock than before, i instantly went to the plug socket as i felt unsafe with the appliance , as i approached the unit the socket exploded and i was once again given a large shock throughout my body.
once the dis-belivement was over i called down to reception to warn them of what had just happened and advised to maybe recall other units which had been given to other guests, i am unaware if this happened, i to date have not had a true apology from the management of the hotel and hope after this i don't get one.
i have returned to the hotel this week to find my room has been down graded without my knowledge from Executive which i booked to standard which i don't want , i booked executive because it comes with a fridge which i need for my medication and also its good to have cold drinks.
could really do with someone to have a look at systems within the hotel as we may have a few broken links in the chain.

Read More
Read Less

WOW

By

16 October 2014

club

A truly outstanding Holiday Inn, room was a bit small but had everything we needed and was very comfortable, impressive 42" TV and powerfull shower, also enjoyed the shortbread & hot chocolate.
Very varied selection of food in the restaurant & lounge, we had dinner in the lounge nice atmosphere good staff and the food was very good quality and good value too, the drinks were also reasonably priced for a Holiday Inn! We did encounter a noise problem from the room next door, after going to sleep, but the duty manager dealt with it very quickly & efficiently. The breakfast was good quality, even the eggs were freshly cooked, but the staff could have been a little more attentive, my first coffee was served cold and at no time after this did anyone return to ask how the breakfast was or if we needed a refill, I eventually had to summon a waiter and received a hot cup of coffee. The reception staff were very friendly & efficient, altogether the best Holiday Inn we have ever stayed in, (we have stayed in quite a few), and if we ever return to this part of Scotland we now know where to stay

Posted byHotelStaff
20 October 2014
Dear Simo7, A great many thanks for your "WOW" review. It was fantastic to read you had a very enjoyable stay with us. I appreciate your constructive criticism and will share your experience with the team members and ensure an increase in service training is conducted. I am delighted that this has not deterred you from retuning to stay with us in the future. Kind regards, Marc Jones General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Friendly staff and good dining variety

By

14 October 2014

club

A well-placed hotel for Westhill and the business park.
Rooms at the back of the hotel (floor 3) were spacious and quiet.
Openable windows for fresh air.
Some corridor noise and noise from self-closing doors.
Good access to local countryside.

Posted byHotelStaff
16 October 2014
Dear meat free, Many thanks for taking the time to write your review, it is greatly appreciated and highly motivating to the team here. I was very pleased that you found our dining variety good and that the team and the hotel were to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future should you be returning to the Westhill area. Kind regards, Marc Jones General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Perfect day

By

02 October 2014

club

Our daughter was married here on 20th Sept 2014, it is a lovely hotel, staff could not do enough for everyone, excellent service.

Posted byHotelStaff
09 October 2014
Dear AM S65, A great many thanks for your high praise of the team and the hotel, it was a delight to be able to ensure that your daughter and son in law were able to have a great day to remember. I am sorry I was not able to be there on the day to help the team and wish you and your family all the best, as it was my wedding day too! Kind regards, Marc Jones General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Friendly staff

By

24 September 2014

Can recommend this hotel for good food and friendly staff. Rooms comfortable

Read More
Read Less

Pre crew change stay

By

23 September 2014

club

Wedding party in rooms next door do not make for a good nights sleep when working next day.

Read More
Read Less

Fabulous service!

By

13 September 2014

This hotel was brilliant. Staff were very friendly and attentive to all our needs. The room was clean, tidy and comfortable!

Posted byHotelStaff
17 September 2014
Dear Sarahk14, What a great review, the team and I are delighted we looked after you so well and that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. We all look forward seeing you again soon. Kind regards, Marc Jones General Manager.
Read More
Read Less

RETURNING TO THE AREA AFTER 30 YEARS

By

10 September 2014

HAVING BEEN EMPLYED AT THE ORIGINAL WESTHILL IN SOME 30 YEARS AGO I WAS DELIGHTED TO FIND THAT ALTHOUGH IT IS NOW OWNED BY 'BIG BROTHER', THE AMBIENCE AND QUALITY OF ALL ASPECTS IS STILL THE SAME. WOULD THOROUGHLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL!!

Posted byHotelStaff
17 September 2014
Dear DELBOY64, Thank you very much for your recommendation, your professional recognition is appreciated by the whole team. We have made every effort to keep the friendly and approachable aspect to our service and ambiance as would be expected of a community hub, I am so pleased that you recognised this. Should you be retuning to Westhill in the future please do not hesitate to contact me directly whereby i would be more than happy to give you a show round of the back of house areas "for old times sake" . Kind regards, Marc Jones General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Good Hotel but breakfasts could use some work

By

09 September 2014

Excellent staff, clean and comfortable rooms, good parking. Dinners are fine but the cooked breakfast seems to need some work.

Poached and fried eggs case hardened in the buffet from being there too long same with the bacon. All but indigestible. Solution might be to cook smaller quantities and renew more often.

Posted byHotelStaff
17 September 2014
Dear Technocrat, Many thanks for your five star review, I was delighted to read you had an enjoyable stay with us. I will address your concerns with breakfast, your points are appreciated and are precisely the standard operating procedures that should be adopted, I apologise that this was not the case on this occasion. Please be assured the breakfast team will be appraised of this. I hope we can welcome you back very soon. Kind regards, Marc Jones General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Probably the best Holiday Inn I've stayed in

By

31 August 2014

The title says it all - really good staff, great food, lovely room - can't recommend highly enough!

Posted byHotelStaff
03 September 2014
Dear RJB2001, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel, the team and I are delighted that we could look after you so well. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards, Marc Jones General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Wedding Reception

By

28 August 2014

Wedding Reception was the reason for our stay. Very clean

Posted byHotelStaff
02 September 2014
Dear JPATG, Many thanks for your comments, we are delighted that you rated us at 5 stars and look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards, Marc Jones General Manager
Read More
Read Less