Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
79%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

3.8

based on 337 reviews
79%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

337reviews

  • 5 Stars
    127
  • 4 Stars
    106
  • 3 Stars
    40
  • 2 Stars
    37
  • 1 Stars
    27

Room temperature issue needs to be sorted out

By

20 October 2014

club

This is a nice hotel in a good location but our two night stay was overshadowed by the high temperature of the bedroom – in October it was over 25 degrees C in the room a lot of the time. The limited temperature adjustment available did not seem to work and the window had a very limited opening. We needed to have the window open all the time we were in the room and as Brindley Place is very noisy until the early hours of the morning with the weekend revellers this made it hard to sleep. After the first night I raised the issue with the front desk who said they would look at it but nothing was done. This issue has been raised in other reviews of this hotel I have now seen. However the location's close proximity to Birmingham's cultural and arts scene make it an ideal location.

Read More
Read Less

Response to Problems

By

20 October 2014

Having stayed in this hotel a number of occasions; i have had the unfortunate experience of having to encounter Hotels Lost property policy; Simply there is not one in existence; Staff never once proactively reported any findings, had to be repeatedly prompted for response

Read More
Read Less

Hotel was clean

By

19 October 2014

club

Pillows could be better the pullout bed is a bit hard. The bathroom could do with a good steam clean

Read More
Read Less

Excellent

By

18 October 2014

Helpful friendly staff, clean comfortable room, easy access to the motorway.

Read More
Read Less

Great breakfast

By

17 October 2014

A really good stay of three nights with super breakfasts to get the day off to a really great start.

Read More
Read Less

Good Overall

By

16 October 2014

club

Stopping away overnight in Birmingham area on Business, decent night's sleep. Food as in most hotels was unexciting and a little bland, disappointing that Bar had no real ale (why is it that there is always plenty of Lager choice but no decent real ale!), overall would stop again.

Read More
Read Less

Great for 1 Night

By

16 October 2014

platinumelite

Perfect location for a 1 night stopover but certainly not a destination hotel! BUT the staff were fantastic from Reception at check-in right through to Dinner/Breakfast service. There is nothing like a nice friendly smile and 'non-corporate' chat to make you feel at home as soon as you arrive!

Read More
Read Less

Two Nights in Birmingham

By

16 October 2014

club

Originally planned to be on my own circumstances changed and my wife came along as well. Had to change the booking but that was dealt with efficiently over the phone.
The hotel is probably in need of an update but nonetheless everything was smart and tidy. It has nice grounds and is a quiet area despite the M6 motorway being close by. Plenty of car parking.
There was a warm welcome at reception on arrival and again at departure.
I'm adverse to breakfasts kept under heat lamps but with the exception of the eggs I have to say the breakfast was good and I especially liked the bacon and sausages.
On both evenings we dined in the hotel and enjoyed the meals. The staff were attentative but not intrusive.
I was a little concerned that on the Saturday night there was a wedding party in the hotel. Apart from the bar being a bit noisy there was no adverse affect at all.
We both slept well although quite a bit of light came in under the door.
As with many hotels there were guests with children running up and down the corridors and those that slam doors. Not a lot the hotel can do about these factors although a look at the door closers may be helpful.
All in all a good weekend away and I would recommend this hotel

Read More
Read Less

Nice time in Birmingham

By

16 October 2014

club

On our recent trip to Birmingham NEC we stayed at this hotel, the staff were most helpful especially the waitresses. The hotel is quiet, clean, and easy access to the motorway. Recommend this one .

Read More
Read Less

some very friendly staff some less so

By

14 October 2014

club

very polite and cheerful staff in restaurant

at the bar on the morning of the 10th i ordered a coffee and caramel shortbread
serving was a trainee and regular member of staff
the trainee had very little idea about what to do and the member of staff was not terribly helpful
the coffee took ages, the change was never given (4p) and the shortbread wasnt delivered as promised. i had to ask the trainee who had clearly forgotten.

Read More
Read Less

Do not have the buffet

By

13 October 2014

Evening buffet was dried up and awful, yet described as 'really tasty' by the waitress. Very poor value for dried up below average food.

Internet access overpriced

Read More
Read Less

Holiday Inn Great Barr

By

13 October 2014

An upgrade of the rooms would help make the stay more comfortable.

Read More
Read Less