Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
88%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.2

based on 467 reviews
88%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

467reviews

  • 5 Stars
    227
  • 4 Stars
    151
  • 3 Stars
    45
  • 2 Stars
    23
  • 1 Stars
    21

A short stroll to the Hippodrome Theatre

By

17 November 2021

We stayed here mainly because it is very near to the Hippodrome Theatre and we had tickets to see the Welsh National Opera's production of Barber of Seville (which was excellent by the way)

Everyone was fantastic during our two nights stay at this hotel and they simply could not do more to make it a happier and memorable stay.

The staff at this hotel were exceptionally helpful and a special mention must go to the Food & Beverage team, including Aiden and Colleen for making my birthday go off with a great start by singing happy birthday at breakfast.

One thing to be aware of is that this hotel and China Town Parking are in the Clean Air Zone (CAZ) so if you travel by car, you would be advised to research the charging system.

Read More
Read Less

First hotel since 2019

By

16 November 2021

This was my first time to Birmingham and staying in a hotel since Lockdown and the entire experience was really good.
Check in staff were excellent. I had opted for an e-upgragde and the room was spacious and had everything that you need. I had asked to be away from the lift and on a high floor and- hey presto!. Views were stunning out of the 2 windows that I had.
Room was really welcoming and comfortable. Sleep was great, shower was perfect along with hot towels off the rail.
Breakfast- self service is a winner for me and the selection was very very good.
I have read other reviews prior to staying at this hotel and I would like to say Thank You to the hotel staff for doing a great job after what must have been a tough 18months. We are still in a pandemic and so I appreciated the efforts that the staff went to, to make the hotel the best it can be in such hard times. There were some things that niggled me, but I over looked those because the hotel staff need to be praised for team work during these unprecedented times- They always had a smile on their face and a huge welcome 24/7.

Read More
Read Less

Nice friendly atmosphere and great service

By

29 September 2020

Small hotel with a very friendly atmosphere. Hotel staff are very attentive and always willing to help.
Room was clean but quite worn out. WiFi was good.
Breakfast was not satisfying but restaurant has nice food and very good service.
Personally I like it very much! I would stay here again.

Read More
Read Less

Great location

By

20 October 2014

platinumelite

The hotel was situated in a perfect location for me - 2mins walk from the train station (I arrived and departed via train) and about 5mins walk to the Bullring shops and the New st area. I actually chose the hotel due to it location to the station and to the NIA as I was going to a show and it was not too far away (approx 1.5kms). It was a nice surprise to have the shops so close as I had not looked at the hotel for that reason. I would stay there again purely for the location, but the hotel is also cost effective and while the rooms are a slightly strange design (double bed against the wall so if you are travelling with someone, one of you will be sleeping against the wall) they suited their purpose very well.

We did have a fire alarm go off at midnight on the first night, so we all traipsed down to the front of the hotel and sat outside for around 30mins, but the staff handled it really well, apologising on the night, leaving a letter of apology by everyones door the next morning, and apologising again on check-out. While it is an annoyance, it was not their fault and thankfully it was a false alarm and we could go back to our rooms after about 30mins (had to walk up the stairs because the firefighters had not cleared the lift for usage yet). Clearly this is not a common occurence and would not put me off staying at this hotel again.

Read More
Read Less

BE CAUTIOUS

By

20 October 2014

club

I HAVE STAYED SEVERAL TIMES AT THIS HOTEL AND EVERYTIME WAS A PLEASURE.
THIS TIME I STAYED FOR JUST ONE NIGHT AND IT WAS ONE OF THE WORST EXPERIENCES I HAD AT A HOTEL IN BIRMINGHAM
I STAYED IN A COLD (THE HEATING WAS NOT WORKING!!), NOISY (FROM THE STREET) AND OLD FASHIONED /TIRED ROOM WITH AN AWFUL SMELL COMING FROM THE DIRTY BATHROOM CURTAIN. I ASKED FOR ANOTHER ROOM BUT THE GUY AT THE FRONT DESK TOLD ME THAT I HAD ARRIVED LATE(AT ELVEN O CLOCK AT NIGHT)AND THE ONLY AVAILABLE ROOMS WHERE OF THE SAME TYPE ON THE SAME FLOOR (S FLOOR)

I DONT UNDERSTAND WHY HOLIDAY INN RUINS ITS REPUTATION BY PROVIDING SO HORRIBLE ROOMS THAT COST AS MUCH AS A NORMAL ROOM.
IF I KNEW I WOULD PREFER TO HAVE STAYED AT A BUDGET HOTEL SAVING MY MONEY.
I WILL NEVER STAY AGAIN AT THIS PARTICULAR HOTEL IN BIRMINGHAM AS MY LAST EXPERIENCE WAS BAD.( I STILL HAVE THE FEELING OF THIS COLD AND SMELLY ROOM)

I SHOULD HAVE ASKED FOR A FULL REFUND!

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable room and a great location

By

20 October 2014

club

a great hotel with friendly staff and a comfortable room. Not noisy despite being on the ring road.

Read More
Read Less

Friendly and helpful staff, knowledge of the area

By

20 October 2014

club

Visit was a group meeting the meeting room and facility was good and cleared afetr each break. Water and treats replenished. Good coffee and tea facilities at break times.
Rooms allow for a comfortable and restful sleep.
Oveall a good enjoyablestay.

Read More
Read Less

always a pleasant stay

By

16 October 2014

club

I've stayed here with the c.r. fan club for a few years now.The staff are always pleasant,helpfull,rooms clean,food tasty.The only thing missing is draws in the rooms for "smalls" !!!

Posted byHotelStaff
20 October 2014
Dear giff73, Thank you for your very kind comments following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am delighted to hear that you have been thoroughly enjoying your stays over the past few years and this year was no exception. I have passed your comments on to our architects (regarding drawers) which will help when planning our next faze of refurbishment works. (In the mean time, please ask for a set of drawers to be located in your room on your next visit and we will do all we can to help, where possible). We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards Bora Sayar General Manager
Read More
Read Less

good location

By

13 October 2014

club

visiting birmingham by train to attend a boxing dinner ,this was the perfect location, for a group of four people to stay top marks for all aspects of the hotel

Posted byHotelStaff
16 October 2014
Dear smithi, Thank you for your very kind comments following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am delighted to hear that you and friends thoroughly enjoyed your stay. I have taken the liberty to share your comments with the Hotel team; as such great feedback does give that little extra incentive to do it even better the next time. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards Bora Sayar General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Comfortable sleep and excellant service

By

12 October 2014

Booked a room here, as I attended a conference which was being held in the same place. It is in a great location, near to Birmingham City train station and shops. The breakfast is highly recommended serving a choice of hot (which was hot) and cold breakfasts and choice of beverages too. The staff here are also very friendly and know the area pretty well (great if you re planning some activities during your stay). Overall an excellent comfortable and quiet experience.

Posted byHotelStaff
16 October 2014
Dear Janr2014, Thank you for your very kind feedback following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am trilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and conference arrangements and that most importantly found the staff to be friendly and knowledgeable. Such feedback always gives that little extra incentive to do it even better the next time. I have shared your kind comments with the Hotel team and posted a copy in the staff canteen. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards Bora Sayar General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Nightmare weekend

By

10 October 2014

I arrived in Birmingham for a weekend conference on 6th September. All well so far, room was clean and well equipped but after returning from dinner, which was very good, with excellent professional waiting service, I found an extra bed in the room - wrong room! Next no hot water, and no hot water the next morning either, so a cold shower to wake me up! When I told reception, they just said that the whole hotel was without hot water and they were trying to fix it - no apology at all!
Came back from the conference at 5.30pm and asked the front desk to order me a taxi for 7.30pm. When I went down, no taxi turned up so I had to flag down my own. Got back at midnight, only to be woken up by the fire alarm at 12.50am and had to evacuate the building! It was, of course, a false alarm! Finally got back to bed at 1.50am, only to be woken up at 7am by a call to say my taxi was waiting!!! Only twelve hours late!! Needless to say I felt this weekend was a disaster in the hotel. No members of staff informed us while we were all freezing on the pavement , waiting for the fire men to search the building, no-one apologised as we re-entered the building, no-one apologised for ordering my taxi twelve hours late. What sort of service is that? Only good thing was that the restaurant staff knew now to treat their guests. Front of house staff should take their lead and the maintenance department needs to up it's game!

Posted byHotelStaff
20 October 2014
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for reviewing your latest experience at the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. I am sorry to hear that you experienced some shortfalls during your stay. We had some mechanical failure on the day in question which resulted in no hot water being available throughout the Hotel. The matter was addressed as quickly as possible and alternative arrangements were made available to all guests. Should you wish to discuss your comments further, please do not hesitate to contact the Hotel directly. I hope this incident has not marred your opinion of us and we may look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Bora Sayar General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Terrible

By

09 October 2014

platinumelite

Arrived at Hotel and greeted nicely by reception, offered a room on 8th floor, originally offered a room backing onto the lifts, requested a room change due to wanting a quiet nights sleep after a busy day. Was moved to another room on 8th floor along corridor.

All was well unti 8pm ish when there started being a lot of noise from one of the other rooms, later found out it was the room below & they were having a party. Cue lots of shouting, screaming, banging, music, general stuff for a party really.

Rang down to reception to ask for a resolution & duty manager was sent to quieten the noise down, met duty manager, invited him to my room, he listened to the noise & was told they would be leaving within 15mins so not to worry.

30mins later still very noisy, unable to sleep, Duty manager refused to remove the guests who were causing a nuisance, saying that he had to respect their rights. So obviously not interested in my rights who was trying to get a nights sleep in a hotel bedroom. Seems its acceptable to have parties in Holiday Inn Hotel rooms, and disturb other guests.

Eventually went quiet after 11pm, so whether they were thrown out who knows, DM didn't come back to me in the end.

Breakfast was horrible, everyone was crammed into a room with rows of 3 tables, you had to squeeze past other guests chairs balancing plates & drinks, not very comfortable or pleasant, my partner wanted to leave straight away. Food was nice however.

Asked to see the DM when checking out, he was not on & another DM knew the situation but was unable to offer a valid explination.

DM Arranged for General manager to contact me on Monday, Writing this review on Tuesday & have had no call back or message.

It seems like HI Birmingham don't value their guests comfort or respect their guests.

Its a shame as HI Birmingham is in a ideal location & could be such an asset for IHG.

Read More
Read Less