Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
79%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4

based on 262 reviews
79%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

262reviews

  • 5 Stars
    135
  • 4 Stars
    64
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    24
  • 1 Stars
    20

Front Desk

By

10 January 2022

We were in a crunch after missing our first flight (due to weather) and then our train by 5 minutes - we hadn't anticipated staying in Chicago that evening - Alina (the front desk attendant) was so kind, tried her best to find us a room on NYE, and found one for a fairly decent price. She was patient & complemented our 'outfits/ shoes', even though we didn't have any of our luggage to "go out in" - She worked hard to make our check-in easy & that was much appreciated, especially after a long day of frustrating travel & many delays. She even answered the phone calling me by name, and recommended some good spots to try to venture out to for NYE ~ Thank you Alina!

Read More
Read Less

Poor service and building/rooms could use updates

By

07 September 2021

club

I made reservations for 5 people. We were checked into a suite with a bedroom and a fold out sofa. There was no linens for the sofa bed, so I asked for linens. They brought linen. There were no pillows, so I asked for pillows. They brought one pillow. I asked the staff person for another, he said they will bring it up, nothing. I call the front desk, they said someone would bring it up, nothing the entire stay. The staff was certainly not responsive at all. I had expected that this stay, for the price I paid, would have had all of the necessary amenities for a party of 5, and if not, that the staff would have accommodated for a party of 5 without my needing to ask, which was okay. What was not okay was that even in asking, I didn't receive what I had asked for. Additionally, in the two nights I was there, there wasn't any room cleaning services to change sheets or replace towels.
This certainly has not been my experience with Holiday Inn anywhere else. I definitely don't recommend this hotel for anyone. This has been the worst hotel experience I have had. I will certainly be submitting additional reviews on this hotel location in other review sites online.

Read More
Read Less

Roach Infestation

By

04 June 2021

I can't believe anyone is rating this location 506 W Harrington anything above a 1 star rating, it deserves a 0 star rating, it should be closed permanently because of the roaches, they probably won't even show this review.

Read More
Read Less

Roach Infestation

By

24 May 2021

This hotel is terrible, not clean and as soon as we arrived to the room we were greeted with a dead roach in the bathroom, I told my husband to lets leave now. We were tired I was in bed when my husband was getting ready to retire he woke me up and said get up there's a roach in the bed with you OMG. We had to leave and get another hotel at 2AM. Now no one wants to refund our money. Why are they still in business, the "Board of Health" needs to pay them a visit. The pictures on the website are not from this hotel, please don't waste your time and money by staying here. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Read More
Read Less

Worst Hotel Experience Ever

By

28 February 2021

club

I recently stayed here Feb. 25, 2021 for a one night stay, which was originally reserved as a two night stay but because of my experience I canceled my second night stay! None of the amenities that are offered online, where available to my family and I during our stay. Furthermore, I called before we arrived to verify that everything is offered before arriving because I understand that things changes due to Covid-19 stipulations. Not only did the representative say that the amenities were still offered (including room service and complimentary breakfast which was also NOT INCLUDED) but the rep also failed to mention a deposit that I was not aware of. I would not recommend this Holiday Inn location to anyone. They weren't professional and the front staff was plain rude. They didn't recognize that I have a IHG Gold membership (IHG Membership number 264-994-471)
My family and I left the next morning UN-rested, UN-pleased, and hungry. Terrible experience and unprofessional!

Sincerely Javon G Echoles II

Read More
Read Less

Ordinary things done well make for extraordinary experience

By

01 May 2019

club

It's a simple hotel with few bells and whistles...but the basic things it does perfectly: clean, comfortable rooms, good wifi, great little restaurant and bar on premises, suitable downtown location*, and a staff where it seems every member is delighted to see you. If you're looking for fancy and plush...this is not your place; on the other hand if you seek, warm, functional, and clean...you can't beat the value this hotel provides. I almost didn't want to write this since it feels like giving away a secret lol....but I am a nice guy, so there you go.

*The only thing I'll point out as a future improvement (and the hotel likely doesn't have control over this) is fixing the GPS coordinates since Uber drivers have a slightly difficult time finding the front door of the lobby which is at a slight elevation from the street level.

Overall awesome little place and great staff. My thanks to the front desk staff, housekeeping, and the valet gentleman for a very comfortable stay.

Read More
Read Less

Excellent Staff Service

By

20 October 2014

club

The staff at this property was very friendly and most accommodating. Even though we were early they didn't even blink when we asked if we could check in early. They found us a room so that we could rest up from our trip before heading out to visit colleges for our son. The room was very clean and comfortable. Very convenient to Union Station, the Blue Line and a short walk to the Loop. Highly recommend this property.

Read More
Read Less

Smile and take care of the guest

By

20 October 2014

club

Location is why I chose this hotel.

My 1st stay was better, this stay, not bad; but some staff need to be coached on the value of body language and smiling.

Read More
Read Less

review of our stay

By

20 October 2014

Everything was to our complete satisfaction except the loud and intrusive music in restaurant in the evening. However we are old and do not like loud music; the staff arranged to our food sent to our room so we could dine in peace.

Read More
Read Less

Friendly Staff

By

20 October 2014

club

The hotel is very good for business. Clean, friendly staff and plenty to do in the area.

Read More
Read Less

chicago

By

17 October 2014

platinumelite

industrial area of town but not far walk to the park

Posted byHotelStaff
21 October 2014
Dear leska, Thank you for the 4 star rating and for choosing the Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown for your place to stay. Looking forward to your return visit. Warm Regards, Nitin Talati General Manager Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
Read More
Read Less

Solid hotel in a great location

By

15 October 2014

club

Very pleased with my stay here. Great location near the subway or within walking distance of many attractions downtown. Staff was excellent! All of them. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. I'd stay here again.

Posted byHotelStaff
20 October 2014
Dear ejchron, Thank you for the great review about your stay at our Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown. I am very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to share your comments and looking forward to your return visit. Warm Regards, Nitin Talati General Manager Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
Read More
Read Less