Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
87%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.2

based on 157 reviews
87%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

157reviews

  • 5 Stars
    86
  • 4 Stars
    39
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    5

Rude Staff

By

03 September 2021

Rudest staff I have ever experienced. Not worth the convenience of how close it is to my daughter’s school. If you place any value on customer service, or even simply expect to be treated with an ounce of courtesy, stay somewhere else.

Read More
Read Less

Holiday Inn Fiasco

By

17 July 2021

On July 8th, 2021 my husband, our college daughter and I traveled to Hartford, CT due to the fact our daughter got an awesome Summer Internship in Westerly, Rhode Island. Because we wanted to explore the beautiful coast before dropping off our daughter into her new task we decided to stop by New London, CT first. So we decided to take advantage of the beautiful scenery and decided to stay at the -Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area, an IHG Hotel-.
The two ladies that worked at the front desk treated us amazingly. Everything was fine until the following morning and we did the check-out, and paid for our stay. Of course! This was the day the Tropical Storm 'Elsa' was passing by and on this Friday morning [July 9th, 2021] was raining a lot. So we were forced to wait at the lobby for couple of hours for our ride to pick us up. Our ride was driving from Westerly, CT. But we ended up leaving the place, walking with our luggages to the Train Station and wait for our ride here instead because the owner of the Holiday Inn (Bubu Cooper) told one of his 'Front Desk Ladies' what we were doing in the Lobby still. She approached us to tell us that her boss was not happy and we need to go. I felt disrespected and no consideration on behalf of the owner.

Read More
Read Less

2 night stay

By

11 June 2021

Due to covid, masks indoors were required. The room was very clean and well stocked. Daily Housekeeping is reduced to a 4 night stay, but the Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful to get us any supplies we needed. I suspect these restrictions will reduce when more people are vaccinated. The pool is open. The fitness center is not yet. The restaurant is excellent, a little high priced, but food and service are the best. Parking was fine and good location to tour the Mystic area. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area. Child-friendly also.

Read More
Read Less

bad

By

27 June 2020

club

room service not safe i lost my stuff. wast hotel to visit never in my life time

Read More
Read Less

The manager

By

20 December 2019

I'm a DOD employee, I travel about 4 to 5 times a year. Sometimes to the same area.This was my first time traveling to Connecticut . The first issue I had was , something white and dried up on a picture near the bed.If you slept on that side of the bed ,it would be one of the first things you see. I was only suppose to be there for five days, fly in Monday, fly out Friday. Sooo not reallly a big deal . On Thursday , I was told I was getting extended for another week. After finding this out, I let the receptionist know, that I will be extending my stay until Dec.17 and could someone wipe , what ever the substance on the picture off. She was nice and she got someone right on it. She also extended my stay.No problem...A day or two later I noticed charges or approved amounts on my government issued travel credit card. Other than the amounts that were suppose to be there.First off I made my hotel reservation through the IHG site, when I thought I was only staying for five business days.I saw the amount I owed ,also when more days was added I saw that as well. I also saw the statement about the 15% tax on the site. There was an extra charge of 1013.59,(It was declined) asked ,who I know it to be now ,the manager about the charges, she said it was for me extending my stay, A fee for extending my stay?????What is that? Maybe there is a fee for that, but I've never heard of it and it didn't show on the IHG site. So, I said the lady that added on the extra days didn't tell me anything about an extended stay fee. I asked about government rates. She said you have to check out and check back in. I said okay let me make a phone call and I'll be right back.I came back i told her i want to do the government rates. She said she was doing it. I asked will I still have to pay this extended stay fee, then proceeded to say that there isn't an extended stay fee. She said there was a glitch in the system . I said what?lol, okay.The following day there was another amount that hit my account $1749.94(also declined).I went back to the desk, this time it was the same receptionist who got someone to clean the picture.I began to ask her about this charge. This lady had not one clue..I said I just want to know what the charge is, being that is doesn't show any of these charges on the IHG site, NO CLUE. Okay so its now Thursday ,Dec.12. I was told at work we will complete our mission on Dec.15 and we will be flying home Dec.16 .I went to the front desk to let them know I will be leaving a day early. This time it was another receptionist, I gave her my information, I asked her what are the government rates? She told me the rates , she also said but you are not being charged government rates.. I WAS SURPRISED BECAUSE THE MANAGER SAID ,She did change me to government rates.Now this lady tried to over talk me and try to make me feel like ,I'm just new to this..OMG,she is saying she has been doing the receptionist work longer than anybody there. I said to her, I LEAVE ON MONDAY..She told me to come back because she had other guest. I left got something to eat and came back, The same receptionist started speaking gibberish. I had to just walk away.I had call travel for my company so they could enquire about the amounts that were sent to my account.THE MANAGER IS THE BIGGEST LIAR...There was also a nasty cleaning lady, with a really bad attitude.. I've been traveling with this company for the last 8 years , I've never ever had a situation like this.. Needless to say, I won't be back, and I made sure to tell all of my traveling coworkers about my situation.I had proof of the transactions.

Read More
Read Less

Very courteous, clean,excellent restaurant.

By

19 October 2014

The staff was very welcoming and courteous. The hotel and room were clean. The restaurant was surprisingly an excellent experience of fine dining. Good value for room. Highly recommended.

Read More
Read Less

Don't get there early

By

17 October 2014

platinumelite

Have been to this establishment a number of times which have been nice visits. This time I tried to see if I could check in an hour early since that morning I had been out in the cold rain and had gotten wet at Conn College's Family and Friends weekend. Front desk said the room was not ready but should be ready in an hour and they would call when it was ready. Well no call and when I returned at 5:30ish the" room" was still not ready. I was given another room however which worked out but was not as convenient as could be.

Read More
Read Less

excellent dinner service

By

16 October 2014

very pleased good meals good service

TV choices too limited

Read More
Read Less

Great Hotel...Horrible Breakfast!!!

By

16 October 2014

club

The staff was excellent. The room was large, clean, and well equipped. The pool was nice and well maintained. Unfortunately the restaurant buffet was overpriced for the quality of the food and the service was probably the worst I have ever had in any dining experience...no exaggeration. There were only two occupied tables upon our arrival, all of the other tables were unoccupied but still contained the mess of their previous occupant, and yet the waiter (when he finally came out of the kitchen after a 5 minute wait) told us we could sit "where ever we would like." He looked around the restaurant, saw there were no available (clean) tables, and yet still felt it appropriate to offer us a table??? The buffet food was awful. The eggs were obviously the same eggs they had put out when the buffet opened two hours prior. The french toast stick were cold and hard. There were no bowls or milk for the cereal. The waiter never came to the table to offer water. He visited our table ONCE, and that was to hand us the check. He made it perfectly clear that he had no interest in the customer or the restaurant and the lack of supervision was obvious. It's a shame that the restaurant left such a poor taste in my mouth (no pun intended) regarding this otherwise well run hotel.

Read More
Read Less

Great deal

By

16 October 2014

club

Always a great experience here. Great location. Clean and new renovations. Wish breakfast was included for Military rates as I always need my morning coffee!

Read More
Read Less

A great nights sleep!

By

16 October 2014

club

Their beds were very comfortable unlike many other hotels in this price range.

Read More
Read Less

bathroom

By

12 October 2014

club

the closetpot is placed very close to the bath which is uncomfortable

Read More
Read Less