Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
86%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.2

based on 537 reviews
86%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

537reviews

  • 5 Stars
    310
  • 4 Stars
    117
  • 3 Stars
    52
  • 2 Stars
    35
  • 1 Stars
    23

A first with a Holiday Inn for us

By

12 April 2022

WALLS/THE FLOOR: Thinnest walls of any H.I. we've stayed in. One can assume that because we booked listing "one child" that we were put on the kids floor. Running up and down the hallway, could hear all hallway conversations clearly. Our "neighbors" were ridiculously loud! While I wanted to ask for a different room, my husband pointed out we were only there one night. He was the one who was kept up until 12, and woken again at 2 am with the yelling. (At their child! "No juice! Get off the bed! Here's your juice!") Just because you have a child, does not mean that you want to vacation with other people's children. Sidenote: If you aren't booking with someone....maybe save the conjoining rooms for them??? Pretty sure this helped contribute to the loud neighbors being heard all night!!!
BATHROOM: Was given 1 bottle of hand lotion and 4 bottles of conditioner, one bottle of conditioner was partly used. Gross! Went to the front desk was given shampoo.
ELEVATOR: We stayed on the 2nd floor. On our first day, we got on the elevator, and it would not allow us to push the button for the first floor or close the doors. We got off and walked the steps, only to end up near the dumpsters, then out the gate to the front sidewalk.(In bathing suits at 8:45 PM) Talked to the front desk, they seemed surprised, yet not interested in trying to look into the problem.
BREAKFAST: Was not told when booking that breakfast was not included in the stay. That is a first for us and we typically stay at H.I.& S for the fact that we don't have to go find a place in a town we don't know for breakfast. We had to ask for juice. Only had coffee set out. When going back for a refill, it was empty. Let someone know.... finally left without second cup of coffee. It was pricy ($15/person) for cold rubbery eggs (at 6:45 AM, they opened at 6:30), can't make your own waffle, you get the ones they made, which were not hot. First time for getting grits. They were delicious.
POOL: Can we say.... Way too many chemicals!!! We were there less than 20 minutes. Daughter was coughing and couldn't breath. Adults eyes were burning. Other people leaving complaining of the same thing. Skin was burning by the time we got up to our room. Eyes were not opened under water. It was all in the air! Very disappointing as this was the selling piece for us picking this hotel.
Sadly disappointed in our stay here.

Read More
Read Less

Family Getaway

By

03 April 2022

Refrigerator hadn’t been completely cleaned out. Some items left in refrigerator. Stains on sheets an carpet. Took awhile for heat in the room to work properly. We stayed during the week so was disappointed that the movie theater was only open ever other day during the week along with the children's play area.

Overall the stay was nice.

Read More
Read Less

Mrs.

By

22 March 2022

My boyfriend and I had a great week here! We knew some things would be limited with covid and short staffed issues. We didn't mind going to the front desk for things we needed as we were theu there a few times anyway. The pools are so nice to cool off in and just relax. The 1 employee, Alexandria I think her name was, made our stay amazing! Always greeted us with a smile and was very welcoming! We did hear that she was leaving and we are very sad to see her go. She was an absolute asset to you establishment! We loved the Isle of Capri. No better food, atmosphere or view anywhere! The day we got there, we walked Long the beach a bit in the rain. My boyfriend Jeff decided it was a great day to propose! I obviously said YES! We got engaged right behind your hotel with our feet in the ocean! So that was the topper to an amazing vacay! We did love the location also as it qas quiet and laid back. Thank you for a great week!

Read More
Read Less

Shamrock Marathon 2022

By

22 March 2022

We have stayed at this hotel when we come for the Shamrock Marathon weekend. It has always been a great experience until this past weekend. I write this review knowing it is tough to find people who want to work and just hiring the right people. I think we all have to use patience as we get back to "normal".

Highlights - Kids room and meeting the Tink, Lazy River, Disney+ movie theater

Lowlights - The fruit with my To Go wrap was moldy. I think it was a case of preparing food early in preparation for the crowd this weekend. I did not go back because I need to get my kids to their races. Unable to watch the NCAA basketball games on the TV in the room. I called the front desk and let them know. The engineer never came while we were in the room (626).

Read More
Read Less

Great stay

By

29 January 2022

We stayed here and had a great time. Easy access to the beach. The room was good for the price.

Read More
Read Less

Rather Poor Experience

By

06 December 2021

Booked two rooms weeks in advance, arrived at the hotel and given rooms to two different floors. Asked if I could be moved to have our family stay on the same floor and person at the counter told us no, they had nothing available and dismissed me. Why were these rooms booked under the same name not put together by default? Also, what is up with a bar with a dress code in a Holiday Inn? That bar lost a lot of money this past weekend. Everyone walked to the hotel down the boardwalk which was better where they have an excellent bar. Apparently I cannot say the name of the hotel.

Some of the folks we traveled with reported makeup on sheets, clearly showing bed were made and the sheets were not washed. We were traveling with a large group and none of us are booking at this hotel again. Ashamed we had an otherwise great time.

Read More
Read Less

last vacation summer '21

By

16 August 2021

club

I stayed at the hotel 8/6 to 8/16, I would like to take a moment and let the staff know how much I appreciated them for the time I was there, they made me feel comfortable and at ease.
It was very considerate and grateful of Matt for the complimentary breakfast vouchers, the food was really good and the staff working there were very polite and kind to me each morning. words can't express how grateful I was.

I'm also thankful for the concierge staff, Corrie (to call me as soon as my room was ready as promised during my arrival), Desire (to help me make reservation at the restaurant and prepared my breakfast vouchers), Alexandra (to help me with the helicopter ride reservation), Andrew (to change the room and place me on a better room, the view was perfect!! also find me a parking spot when the lot was full).

Thank you all for your kindness, patience and professionalism for being the wonderful amazing staff, they were very attentive to every request or inquiry I needed clarification.
I had a great experience staying there and the staff.....you are simply the best!!! I look forward to making this hotel my favorite residency when I come to VA next year!!!! I can't wait to see you all again!! I had such a great time at the hotel.

I would recommend to stay there, and have dinner at the Italian restaurant..... you will not regret it, i had the lobster ravioli, the salad is made fresh in front of your table, the signature cocktail drinks and the view is impeccable, amazing oh reservation is a must!

Read More
Read Less

Not Angry, But Very Disappointed

By

05 August 2021

Our family has been coming to Holiday Inn North Beach to vacation for years but we've all decided that this will be the last time. The distance we travel coupled with the diminishing returns was just too much to gloss over. We understand that we're in the midst of a very challenging period but the prevailing attitude seemed like the property already had our money and didn't care about anything else.

The check-in was fine but only because we'd been to the hotel before. We received room keys, bracelets, and the parking pass with no further instructions. If we were new guests, we would not have known what to do or where to go. The young lady who checked us in was polite, but some of the other agents could use a refresher on welcoming guests and general problem-solving.

Our room felt like the bare minimum was done. It appeared that the bath linens were leftovers from the guests who stayed prior to us. We were given exactly three bath towels and three washcloths for three guests staying six nights! There were no sheets for the pull-out sofa, either. I guess there was no need for a lid on the ice bucket because the ice machine on our floor never worked. We were given four K-Cups of coffee, no tea, three creamer/sugar packets, and very few cups/glasses.

From what we gathered, there were issues with guests receiving bath linens, so we had to go down to the pool to get enough towels for us to shower the evening we arrived. The young gentleman at the front desk was kind enough to give me more towels the following morning but the requested washcloths never appeared.

If not for the convenience store across the street and the ability to order needed items online, we would have been in a world of hurt. The sundry/snack area by the front desk didn't have much and was not replenished.

Whether we dined at the Square Whale or carried out, there were issues with each and every meal--no silverware/napkins provided, forgotten items, food not prepared as asked, and a general inattentiveness. On our last evening, it took three different people to finally seat us in a half-empty restaurant. The bar also had very limited choices to the point that we went elsewhere for cocktails.

The catering staff working the breakfast service in the ballrooms (outside contractors, maybe?) were completely disengaged, and the hostess that we saw most often seemed irritated with the most basic of inquiries. The buffet used to be what we most looked forward to but it seemed like a lot of corners have been cut. The warming trays for some of the food made for some unintentionally lukewarm choices, but the bacon was always incinerated.

The only staff member who was consistently pleasant was the lady who made the custom omelets when the Greenery was operating. She never failed to greet us and other guests with a kind word, and a smile and she kept things moving. If not for her, I'd have wondered if we were even in the same hotel we'd come to before. We were happy to see her. She's a treasure and a wonderful representative of the hotel.

The pools at the front of the and the one just inside with the lazy river were very busy, but there was never anyone around to ensure that the people using the facilities were guests. We saw doors being propped open with towels which made us feel unsafe. After witnessing that on a couple of occasions, we opted not to use either in the evenings.

In the hallways and at the back of the property, there were discarded towels and overflowing garbage cans. If people need to pull their own trash, perhaps some larger receptacles could be provided near the elevators. In the designated smoking area by the rear pool, sometimes the cigarette butt container was smoking too which tells me it was full.

The elevators seem slower than ever and are as hot as the hallways. A lot of people disregarded the signage and crammed themselves in.

The room we stayed in and I suspect many others are long overdue for a refresh. The light fixture in our bathroom was cracked with a visible lightbulb, the vents were dusty, and the privacy sheers in the room were missing. It was a little disconcerting to be able to make eye contact with people strolling along the boardwalk. Some kids even waved. That was cute.

We loved the views and the proximity to the beach, but the positivity has been sapped from the employees and it shows. We weren't even sure that most of the staff members we encountered worked directly for the hotel.

If we didn't know what it was like before, this whole trip might not have been so discouraging. We've worked public-facing jobs and know what it's like to work in a customer service capacity. Our family is mindful of how we treat others. Some of us were hotel employees, so we get it. There was virtually no effort to make us feel welcome which would have gone a long way.

We're going to need a vacation to recover from this one.

Thanks for the memories (prior to this year). We'll miss you Tonka and Tink!

Read More
Read Less

My experience: Disappointed in this property

By

28 July 2021

Pros:
Has a movie theater with current movies, Has turtles that my kids liked in the kids activity center. The air conditioners in the rooms worked great. Location on the boardwalk was nice.

Cons:
Need to walk through a smoking area to go to one of the pools or the beach. No one told us we needed vouchers so the kids eat free. The elevator is very slow and very small. The staff in the kids activity center were not very friendly. The pool tiles were filthy and dirty. The rinse off stations to rinse sand off your feet only worked half the time. Lots of big stains on the hotel carpets. Parking is very tight with very small spots.

Read More
Read Less

Terrible, filthy, overall awful experience

By

27 July 2021

My wife and our children have been coming to Virginia Beach and staying at the Holiday in North Beach ( formerly Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort ) for 23 years. Address is 3900 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA. We started coming a few months after our first child was born. He is now 23 and we have 3 other children as well. It has been a family tradition to take our vacation and stay there. We normally stay for 2 weeks each summer, some years we did stay for just 1. In all of the years we have stayed there we have never had 1 complaint. We absolutely loved it, it kept us coming back every summer. We have spent approximately $75,000 at this hotel over the course of this 23 year span including our rooms, food, drinks etc and we felt it was worth every penny.

We were unable to come to Virginia Beach last year due to covid but were thrilled to come back this summer. We had a reservation to check in on July 5th and not check out until July 17th. However the minute we walked into our room ( #326) all that excitement was gone. We walked in to the most disgusting room we have ever seen. My wife spent a good 30 minutes cleaning the room herself. There was food on the dresser, walls, and in microwave. There was a cigarette butt on the floor behind a chair. There were fingerprints all over the TV, doors, mirrors etc. We did not have a garbage pail in the room, only one in the bathroom. In the bathroom on the hairdryer there was something smeared all over the handle. We did not have an ice bucket but had a lid. Our air conditioner was leaking so bad outside it was dripping on to people loading and unloading their cars. Worst part about it is you would think maybe they just forgot to clean the room. No, I saw the guy that cleaned our room as we were walking in and he said we all set.

We then went down to speak to a manager to express our disappointment with the room. We spoke to a woman with blonde hair who seemed very nice. She claimed the reason the rooms were like this is because "nobody wants to work anymore". What a terrible excuse to make. I showed her the pictures and she took our room # and phone number down. She asked if we wanted the room clean and we said no because my wife already took care of it. I stated to her that we were Platinum members and usually get an upgrade to our room. This was far from an update to say the least. She agreed and said she would see what she could do and get back to us.

While I was down at the front desk I took a picture of the IHG CLEAN PROMISE sign. I have also included that in this email. This sign should really be taken down as it is 100% a lie.

The rest of the trip we did not hear from her once. She did not send anyone with a garbage pail to our room, did not send us an ice bucket, did not call us to upgrade us to another room. Nothing at all, not even a call to say sorry there are no rooms ( which I find hard to believe considering we were there for almost 2 weeks ). I purposely did not go down and follow up because I did not want to look like we were just looking for a free upgrade.

On July 11th we came back in from the beach and notice the ceiling leaking in the hallway on the 3rd floor by the elevators. We called the desk to let them know and were told they were aware and it was being taken care of. Well the entire day and night nobody did anything and it just continued to leak. So we had to walk around this mini waterfall everytime we left and returned to the room. I included a picture of the leaking ceiling.

Also on this day we left our 1 garbage pail outside to be emptied and housekeeping took it and did not return it. My wife called the front desk at 9am to let them know that now we do not have ANY garbage pails in the room. She was told they would bring it right up. Well we did not get our garbage pail back until the next afternoon. So in the meantime we had to pile up garbage outside our door.

I have also included pictures of what the hallways looked like every day for hours. Garbage all over the place.

Fast forward July 15th. At at 6:30 my wife and I went out to eat dinner. Before we left the hotel my wife stopped by the front desk to simply ask for a roll of toilet paper. She spoke to a man Max at the desk who said they would bring it right up to our room. We then return from dinner 2 hours later and there is still no toilet paper at or in our room. So my wife calls the desk around 8:30 and speaks to a woman. She specifically said "we are pretty busy but we will get to it". We wait another 45 minutes and still no roll of toilet paper. My wife goes down to the desk again around 9:15 and speaks to Max once again. The woman next to Max said that she requested someone to bring it up to us. We wait another 30 minutes and thats when I had enough. I went down with my wife and shouted to the guy Max " I am spending $3,000 on this hotel and I have a disgusting room and can not even get a roll of toilet paper!" Finally he got us a roll of toilet paper. So between the hours of 8:30 and 9:45 when we needed to use the bathroom we had to go down 3 flights of stairs and across the hotel to use the public poolside restrooms.

This whole situation is so upsetting and so disappointing especially since we have been coming there for so long and really enjoyed our time there for the last 20+ years. But to be treated like this whether it is our first time or 20th time is completely unacceptable.

Read More
Read Less

Stay away

By

13 July 2021

The holiday inn was my family vacation spot for years, however, Stay far away especially if Michael is working. Not only was checkin drastically delayed by 3hrs while myself, 1 year old and 70 year old parents stayed in the sun no accommodations were made ( checking was at 4pm, we didn’t get into our rooms until after 6/7pm. Our stay was for a week, and this little hiccup was something we could look past. But as the week progressed things turned for the worst. There was no parking spaces on the premises, even their overflow parking lots where full due to illegal parking from non guest with no parking pass, when we addressed this to Michael, he implied that it is what it is and refused to contact a manager for assistance. Every request made never happens ( no bedding when requested, no towels when request, toilet paper took 3hrs to come and we only got 1 roll) beds where hard as rock, this was the worst experience my family has ever had. If you do go to the restaurant downstairs in the hotel, beware of the curly hair blonde blue-eyed woman because she is a horrible server. Not only did they purposely give us the wrong food [they made it clear to me that they knew they gave me the wrong food] I got nothing but attitude from the servers ( the only good server there was a blonde guy with an undercut, he deserves a raise). Please be aware of this hotel, and be aware of Michael the front desk worker. We Will not be going back, I’m more than positive there are BETTER hotels in the area.

Read More
Read Less

Poor service

By

13 July 2021

This hotel, was absolutely terrible service, beds were hard, blankets were dirty. Couldn’t get a room til 3hours after check-in. Every time I requested for towels or new sheets, never got any. When I requested toilet paper, I’d get one? They ran out of parking, and front desk Michael was the rudest person I’ve ever met. I will not be returning nor recommending

Read More
Read Less