Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
84%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

3.9

based on 153 reviews
84%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

153reviews

  • 5 Stars
    62
  • 4 Stars
    49
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    10

Great Hotel

By

December 16, 2021

I have stayed at the Holiday inn Basildon two or three times now, and I am always pleasantly surprised at how cheerful and helpful all the staff are, nothing ever appears to be too much trouble for them.
The bedrooms are always clean, comfortable, and well appointed, though some of the dividing walls seem thinner than others, or just noisy guests, however if they can tolerate my snoring, I will overlook their shouting.
The Hotel has plenty of car parking and is situated on the Festival Park complex offering a good choice of restaurants, and entertainment.
Special thanks to Christy and Louise for sorting my bookings and room changes, Sue for being extra helpful and cheery at breakfast. Last but no means least Bryony and Roberta for keeping my glass topped up at the bar

Read More
Read Less

Would stay here again :-)

By

November 29, 2021

I have stayed at the Holiday inn Basildon two or three times now, and I am always pleasantly surprised at how cheerful and helpful all the staff are, nothing ever appears to be too much trouble for them.
The bedrooms are always clean, comfortable, and well appointed, though some of the dividing walls seem thinner than others, or just noisy guests, however if they can tolerate my snoring, I will overlook their shouting.
The Hotel has plenty of car parking and is situated on the Festival Park complex offering a good choice of restaurants, and entertainment.
Special thanks to Christy and Louise for sorting my bookings and room changes, Sue for being extra helpful and cheery at breakfast. Last but no means least Bryony and Roberta for keeping my glass topped up at the bar

Read More
Read Less

Great stay

By

June 22, 2021

We loved our stay. As we walked in Louise on reception greeted us with a big smile and was very helpful. the next day we were late for breakfast , Louise took us to Sue and she whisked us up to the restaurant and made toast and coffee for us. the chef was just leaving but said did we want a cooked breakfast it was no trouble to cook it, that was so kind of him. we only wanted toast and coffee Sue was so helpful nothing was to much trouble
Kind regards Valerie & Joan

Read More
Read Less

Excellent

By

October 20, 2014

platinumelite

Debbie, Alex and the team go out of their way to help you have great stay!

Read More
Read Less

Nice stay

By

October 16, 2014

club

Another good stay at a Holiday Inn. Lovely breakfast and very friendly staff. Only down side was the 'youths' using the adjacent car park as a race track.

Read More
Read Less

bedroom

By

October 14, 2014

club

as a member we dont get any special offer and one drink

Read More
Read Less

Badly designed bathroom:

By

October 09, 2014

platinumelite

The bathroom did not have any desk-like structure you could even put your electric shaver, or electric toothbrush stand to charge..
not even a hook to hang your hand towel from!
It was ridiculously badly designed...

Posted byCustomerCare
October 21, 2014
Dear Amir1, Thank you for posting a review of our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide a unique experience to all our guests. We sincerely apologize for any discomfort you may have experienced due to the condition of the bathroom facility and layout of the design. Your input will be shared with our management team to take into consideration for future upgrades. Thank you again for your comments and for being an IHG Rewards Club Platinum member. We hope that you will afford us another opportunity to show you how great our hotel is. Sincerely, Zelyn N Case Manager IHGCare
Read More
Read Less

Perfectly located

By

October 09, 2014

club

The hotel was situated at the bottom end of a leisure complex and was perfectly located for about a dozen eateries and other leisure facilities. The hotel was friendly, comfortable and clean. Breakfast was buffet style and offered a great selection of products. I would definitely recommend this hotel for the area and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Read More
Read Less

another excellant stay

By

September 30, 2014

platinumelite

Check in was very quick and professional, staff recognised me from previous visits. The breakfast is the best of any Holiday Inns I have ever stayed in.
The management are always about and make me feel welcome.
The bedrooms are well looked after and always fresh considering the age of the hotel.
The parking is free and plentyfull

Read More
Read Less

Exec Room worth the extra

By

September 29, 2014

club

Exec rooms on the 4th floor although not as plush as other higher rated hotels are well thought out and provision of extras adds a little extra touch to the otherwise dull business trip.

Read More
Read Less

Good room

By

September 26, 2014

club

One night stay while visiting friends hence our stay was only a " B

Read More
Read Less

Business Trip

By

September 22, 2014

platinumelite

Great friendly Staff , however the hotel is extremly tired and in urgent need of upgrading.

I travel to Essex regulary and have used the Hotel many times over the past 9 years. Sadly over the last few years I only use as a last resort.
The rooms are very tired and in need of updating.
There is no restaurant avaialble during the evening so you are expected to eat inside the Bar reception area. This is really not ideal area for eating. The tables are very low , and the area is very noisy with bar customers and people coming in and out of the hotel. Unfortunately the food and menu has over the years declined in standard along with the building, poor choice exspensive and not very good value at all.
The staff are very good and the only good comment i can give to the hotel that has dramatically been in decline over the past few years.

Posted byCustomerCare
October 02, 2014
Dear Boby B, Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club Platinum member and for leaving us a feedback. Please accept our sincerest apology for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Please be assured that your comments have been documented and will be used for review and future improvements. We have also sent you an email with additional details. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is. Sincerely, Anthony M Case Manager IHGCare
Read More
Read Less