Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
70%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

3.7

based on 199 reviews
70%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

199reviews

  • 5 Stars
    79
  • 4 Stars
    48
  • 3 Stars
    25
  • 2 Stars
    25
  • 1 Stars
    22

John is Great

By

January 16, 2022

Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport

November 27,2021

Arrived shortly before 10:00 PM, tire and hungry, after check in we went to the hotel restaurant. ‘Sorry the kitchen is CLOSED’. After some whining and crying, John said he would see what he could do. He made us our favorite cocktails and brought us each a club sandwich with French Fries. The whining and crying stopped.

We stayed at this hotel on 2 occasions during our vacation, we stayed before we flew to Florida and stayed when we returned from Florida. Both stays were great, the entire staff was great. The hotel was very clean. We would recommend this hotel.

Read More
Read Less

Why is this hotel still an IHG branded hotel?

By

August 12, 2021

I recently stayed here, and after digging through the reviews (filter the 1 star ratings) it's apparent that this hotel has had problems for YEARS!! Multiple managers, BS responses from hotel staff to complaints all add up to this place sucks. I called to request a refund due to a pool of water that emerged in our room overnight and was only given a partial credit because I didn't "report" the problem to hotel staff until I checked out. After reading through these reviews, I got off easy with the problems I experienced. When I told the staff-person that a front desk attendant admitted that she's tired of working there because of the angry customer complaints because of this shoddy heap of garbage, he was more concerned with who the employee was that said that than the issue at hand. DO NOT STAY HERE..EVER....THEY ONLY CARE ABOUT MONEY!!

Read More
Read Less

Worst Hotel Ever

By

August 11, 2021

The first sign this was a bad hotel was the armed security. The room had a puddle of standing water in the carpet that got worse overnight. I ordered a pizza from the hotel restaurant with beef, mushroom and onions. When it was delivered, it wasn't cut, and it was beef green pepper and onion. After waiting another 10 minutes for the kitchen staff to return to cut the pizza, I picked up a slice and it was then that I noticed it wasn't even fully cooked.
Incredibly noisy hotel, located next to a massive public housing project. Sirens and loud vehicles all night. Was booked to stay 2 nights but couldn't wait to leave this poo-hole. The worst part was on checking out, the staff was honest and said this happens all of the time. The hotel continues to book rooms that are uninhabitable, then leaves the staff to deal with the angry customers. I believe her quote was "They only care about money". This hotel should be closed and condemned, no idea how it has 4+ stars.

Read More
Read Less

Uncleaniness

By

May 07, 2021

They rooms are very outdated. The hotel is located in a bad community until we witness an arrest at the hotel. Windows are shattered. Bathrooms are awful. We noticed blood on our toilet and management didn't offer a discount or free stay only for house keeping to come and clean it. The bar and the restaurant were the only good that we experienced with our stay. Highly DO NOT recommend you to stay.

Read More
Read Less

Well Exceeded Expectations

By

September 14, 2020

Not only did this hotel accommodate 60+ lineman headed to La for Hurricane Laura storm restoration, the owner and his staff went above and beyond to ensure the comfort and safety of these men. Your hospitality and kindness is so very appreciated!
Thank you for putting people first - keep up the good work!

Read More
Read Less

Not as advertised

By

July 27, 2020

club

I reserved the Park & Fly rate for July 17/18, 2020. Front desk said airport shuttle runs on demand, so the three of us rode shuttle to airport with extremely courteous driver. Excellent service! Called for the return shuttle on July 25, 2020 at 1:30 PM on Saturday afternoon. Was very rudely informed by front desk to take a taxi because the shuttle didn't run on Saturday afternoons. When asked if the hotel would reimburse us for the cost of the taxi, desk clerk said NO! Hotel is located in a run-down area of the city. Will not stay there again and would not recommend to anyone.

Read More
Read Less

Excellent hotel but bring something to eat

By

February 10, 2020

I stay at this hotel often. The accommodations and staff are awesome. High 5. However, after these high ratings for the hotel, I can only say...bring your own food. The Steele City Bar and Grill is wasting time and money trying to stay afloat. I have tried on numerous occasions to eat there, only to be disappointed. I have had one descent dinner but never an even mediocre breakfast. The bar is a wonderful amenity to have access to but I’d scratch the grill part and make it continental breakfast only. Diamond is an exceptional employee and works harder than she needs to because of the poor restaurant. Please rethink this food thing. I do believe you have a goldmine here but it needs to be done differently. I will most certainly be back.

Read More
Read Less

Clean and comfortable

By

July 15, 2019

club

Staff was great. Every one from the front desk to the restaurant staff an the maintenance people was really helpful an nice. We did have a issue the last night we were there after one of our baseball games. I felt The owner management could have handled it better but no big deal we still had our party. The surrounding area leaves a bit to be desired but I had no problem,

Read More
Read Less

Not clean

By

July 01, 2019

I checked in after a long day of travel so at first did not notice the dirty condition of the room. It appeared that they had done some work in the bathroom as there was a layer of dust in the bathtub. It rinsed away but left me with a bad impression of the cleaning personnel. There were also bad stains all over the carpet - small but many. I would definitely not walk barefoot on the carpet!
I did enjoy a very good dinner at the hotel restaurant which provided excellent service and a very good menu.
I discussed the room conditions with the front desk staff and was told the manager would contact me. I have hear nothing.
I prefer to discuss any issues with the manager before writing a bad review but since I was not contacted, felt it was important to let people know the conditions of this hotel.
I will not stay in this hotel again.

Read More
Read Less

Wonderful Staff

By

June 14, 2019

Everyone at this facility was very friendly and helpful including the shuttle driver. The staff at the restaurant were very friendly and pleasant. Kristi checked me in and she was apologetic for the mixup and very polite and helpful and welcoming.

Read More
Read Less

Great staff, nice room and very comfortable bed

By

May 18, 2019

I always stay here when I fly into Birmingham. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The beds are always comfortable and the rooms are clean. The hotel interior has been renovated in the last couple of years, so everything looks brand new. The airport shuttle is very convenient as well.

Read More
Read Less

Good Stay could use a better staff system

By

October 16, 2014

platinumelite

My stay was good while in the Birmingham area. The hotel is pretty clean and located in a good area for my work. Bad area for walking around and scenery of the neighborhood.
The lobby had a huge leak in the ceiling with buckets catching the water, The ceiling had water damage for sometime it was very obvious.
The breakfast area was ok but the waitress staff was not friendly and the price for what was actually available was poor.
Also the front desk staff never aknowledged my platinum elite status nor offered me a bottle of water or anything for my service to there hotel chain.
The rooms were clean and quite for sleeping and comfortable.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
I'm so sorry for the inconvenience during your stay with us. We strive on giving great customer service. Feel free to give me a call at (205)5916900 to discuss your recent visit and how we could have made your stay better.
Read More
Read Less