Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
79%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

3.9

based on 108 reviews
79%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

108reviews

  • 5 Stars
    46
  • 4 Stars
    32
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    8

Not Holiday Inn Standard

By

November 30, 2021

The positive, convenient location and the staff were brilliant and couldn't have been more helpful, now the negative, the room while spacious had obviously had a roof leak at some time and the ceiling hadn't been decorated and there were still stains showing.
In the 4 nights we stayed the room wasn't serviced once, we still had the original towels and cups on the last day.
On the last night due to low occupancy the heating had been turned off to the rooms on the wing where we were and it was the coldest night of the year -2 !!
Breakfast was very bad, the food was often dried out under the heat lamps, there was no mention on the web site that due to the owners religion Pork wasn't allowed on site so the buffet had beef sausage and Turkey bacon, the Bacon was that over cooked it was impossible to cut and this was on all but the last day, one morning we were informed some staff were having difficulty getting in due to the weather so a limited breakfast with no cereals, or pastries only standard bread for toast, no milk for tea only Machine coffee the chef was trying his best but struggling. The best Breakfast was on the last day as it was cooked to order and very good. I have used this hotel for business before but before it was bought by the present owners and was much, much better, this is not Holiday Inn Standard anymore and I wouldn't stay here again, a shame as the staff are excellent.

Read More
Read Less

FAULTY TOWERS!!

By

October 11, 2021

I came for a wedding here. What a shambles. Not enough staff, no drinks at the bar, ran out of drinks but couldn't even be bothered to go and get any more from the other bars. Ran out of Ice! ran out of Prosecco, Gin, Vodka, Guiness, Larger, Wine..I could go on!! Staff were just hanging around whillst a queue, Food ''0" rating especially if you were a vegetarian!! Was served 1 cheese sandwich with the afternoon tea and shop bought cakes! asked for sweetener with the tea served, never saw the waitress again! had Cheese and tomato pizza in the evening with cold mozzarella sticks!! Decor very poor! Not really a venue to have a function. Check in very slow. Could only take cash at the bar to begin with then decided they could only take card payments then they couldn't take either you had to have a tab, ridiculous!!!!

Read More
Read Less

Really good stay

By

October 14, 2014

This is the 1st time we have stayed at a Holiday in and were very impressed

Posted byHotelStaff
October 17, 2014
Hi, Thank you for your review. I am pleased to see you had a great 1st experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the area Thank you Kirk Stephenson General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Lack of communication

By

October 10, 2014

Stayed 2 nights but had to book separately as one rewards night. Asked to stay in same room, by telephone request also at reception. First night issue with TV. Poor service in bar due to event. Second night when returned at 8pm from day out key not working and finally entered room to find not been cleaned. Staff that night helpful and moved rooms.
Not enough experienced staff working here!

Posted byHotelStaff
October 13, 2014
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Firstly I sincerely apologise for the issues you faced during your stay. Guest feedback is critical to our business and I will ensure all your comments are looked into and investigated as this is not the usual experience we offer our guests Kirk Stephenson General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Excellent hotel

By

September 30, 2014

club

We had our wedding here on the 19th September which was a fantastic occasion, from the minute we arrived nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We would like to say a special thank you, to Melissa who helped organise the wedding, nothing was too much trouble for her. also a big thank you to Tony and Mary who looked after us on the day, they really are a credit to the hotel. Will definitely stay here again and recommend to others

Posted byHotelStaff
October 03, 2014
Hi, Thank you for your review and many congratulations on your special day. We are always proud to share so many special occasions with our guests and I am pleased to see the team did the hotel proud once again. I will ensure the team along with Melissa, Mary & Tony see your kind words. Kirk Stephenson General Manager
Read More
Read Less

lovely staff receptionist

By

September 18, 2014

club

your receptionist was very very helful.Made our saty very pleaseant she had a smile every time we passed the front desk and very very polite

Posted byHotelStaff
September 25, 2014
Hi, Thank you for your great comment. I will ensure our reception team see your feedback and I will make sure they are congratulated. Thank you once again Kirk Stephenson General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Door noise

By

September 17, 2014

Lovely hotel, nice surroundings, but could something be done about noisy door slamming? This was our only criticism.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 25, 2014
Hi, Thank you for your review and your kind words. Unfortunately all our doors must be fitted with self closing devices due to fire regulations. Unfortunately some guests don't close their doors themselves and let it slam shut, I do apologise for any inconvenience caused. Kirk Stephenson General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Great Hotel , and Location , friendly staff but ineffecient management

By

September 14, 2014

platinumelite

Although the staff are friendly and the location is great this hotels continues to fail to follow the processes of a holiday inn,
The Rooms are great and the hotel is clean.

The papers and alarm call did not appear on day 2 , even though they were written on the receptions forms.
The bar area is now using an area that is like a guest house , the original area was too small but the decor in the new area is not up to the standard of a holiday inn.
.
Th bar service was slow as there was only one person behind the bar and although there was other staff they did not help the person out.
The Bar meal was never put on my room bill and neither was the breakfast. I was not provided with a copy of the bill before paying
This is not the first time this has happened to me at this hotel..
This could be so easilly iimproved

Posted byHotelStaff
September 17, 2014
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sincerely sorry for the issues you faced during your stay. I will certainly be investigating these comments as it is unacceptable. I am sorry you did not find the new pub area up to your satisfaction. A lot of research and work has gone into the opening of the Village Inn and has purpose been decorated as an old style village pub to keep with the character of the building and has proved very popular with our guests. Thank you for your kind words about the team and the rooms and I will certainly look into your other comments. Kirk Stephenson General Manager
Read More
Read Less

The outside looks good but that's where it ends

By

September 09, 2014

club

A one night stay, that was enough. Room very hot so sleep impossible, Cobwebs hanging from the ceiling. excessive other guest noise from constant slamming corridor doors.
Whole place shabby and in need of some TLC, all somewhat dated, somewhat like a 70's hotel or seaside boarding house.
Staff very pleasant and helpful, breakfast as normal in these sort of places, buffet with usual hot and cold food
Don't think I would want to stay there again

Posted byHotelStaff
September 17, 2014
Hi, Thank you for your review. I apologise for the issues you faced during your stay. We have started a refurbishment project which has started with new flooring and carpet throughout the public areas and we have redecorated the lobby and restaurant. We have just started moving into the corridors and will move into the bedrooms which will eventually lead to air conditioning in the bedrooms. Thank you once again for your feedback Kirk Stephenson General Manager
Read More
Read Less

holiday inn

By

September 07, 2014

club

very nice hotel in lovely grounds,smart rooms nice staff.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 17, 2014
Hi, Thank you for your kind words Kirk Stephenson General Manager
Read More
Read Less

overall

By

September 03, 2014

this hotel is dated and needs an up grade to co-inside with all other holiday inn's

Posted byHotelStaff
September 08, 2014
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We have recently installed new flooring throughout our lobby and new carpets throughout our lounge and restaurant. We have just re decorated our lounge and restaurant and opened a new pub on site. We are continuing our works throughout the corridors and bedrooms in the coming months. Thank you once again for your feedback Kirk Stephenson General Manager
Read More
Read Less

room

By

September 02, 2014

club

lovely hotel, i just think the rooms need looking at, mattress was uncomfy and bed squeeked and moved and the toilet dripped all night

Posted byHotelStaff
September 07, 2014
Hi, Thank you for your review. Customer feedback gives us the opportunity to carry on improving our services so thank you for your comments and I will most certainly look into the issues you have raised. Kirk Stephenson General Manager
Read More
Read Less