Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
88%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.1

based on 317 reviews
88%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

317reviews

  • 5 Stars
    143
  • 4 Stars
    107
  • 3 Stars
    40
  • 2 Stars
    19
  • 1 Stars
    8

good place to stay

By

October 17, 2014

A great hotel, but it does annoy me that that internet access is promised for free to ihg members, but the standard internet service is so slow, it's necessary to pay for high speed access.

Read More
Read Less

consderate front house staff

By

October 13, 2014

platinumelite

We should halve been informed that their wre refurbismsnt works in the Bar Area

Read More
Read Less

-

By

October 12, 2014

platinumelite

Zentral gelegen allerdings keineswegs ein empfehlenswertes Hotel.
Frühstücksbuffet in keinem Verhältnis zum Preis
Personal des Frühstücksbuffets ohne Motivation

Read More
Read Less

Poor breakfast service marred stay experience

By

October 10, 2014

club

We have stayed at this hotel many times in the past and found it very good in all respects. However, on this stay (2 nights over Cardiff half marathon period) our breakfast experience on the second morning was little short of disastous. There was only one chef and one person manning the food serving area and to say they couldn't keep up with the demand is the understatement of the year. We had to wait with a plate half full of hot food for 20 minutes until the remaining empty containers were replenished. An altogether frustrating time that marred the stay. The breakfast on the first day went ok but we only had a minimal amount (our choice) as we were both taking part in the half marathon. The poor marking against staff and service is only applicable to the breakfast experience. Staff would be marked 5/5 for every other aspect.

I did complain to the duty manager and to her credit, she came to the breakfast room and sorted things out. Also, she did arrange a refund for the breakfast and parking of £42.80 which has been credited back on our card.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Cardiff City. I am disappointed to hear about the experience you had during breakfast service, We always aim to provide everyone with an enjoyable guest experience, and I am disappointed to hear that on this occasion we were unsuccessful. I have addressed the matters with the respective departments in order to avoid these unnecessary issues in the future. If you would like to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact me at cardiffcity@ihg.com or call 0871 942 9240 at a time convenient to you. I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Kindest regards, Richard Platts General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Very comfortable bed

By

October 09, 2014

A good nights sleep in a very comfortable bed. The bar was a bit dreary but the restaurant and other areas were very clean and tidy as expected for the Holiday Inn. The bedroom and bathroom were very clean and sufficient bath and hand towels were available in the room.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay. I am pleased that you have had an enjoyable stay with us and especially liked our comfortable beds! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre when your next visiting the Welsh Capital. Kind regards Richard Platts General Manager
Read More
Read Less

alarm faults woke us at 5am and the previous night between 12-1am

By

October 06, 2014

club

avoid if you want a peaceful nights sleep. there are better hotels and cheaper.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 14, 2014
Thank you for your review. Our hotel does review and address these situations very carefully. Safety and security of our guests are our first and foremost concern. If you would like to disscuss further please contact me at cardiffcity@ihg.com so I may obtain additional details about your experience. Kind Regards, Richard Platts General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Convenient

By

October 03, 2014

club

Close to everything in Cardiff, maybe a little TOO close to the sporting facilities next door.

Average hotel stay but with great staff.

Maybe stay here again each year for the next 3 years - we'll see.

Wifi speed was excellent.

Posted byCustomerCare
October 13, 2014
Dear Noname-666, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We value you as our IHG Rewards club member. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. We are pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and are delighted to hear that you found our location excellent, wifi excellent and staff great. We appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Krysllin G. Case Manager IHGCare
Read More
Read Less

great service

By

October 02, 2014

The reception staff were grate answered all questions ask

Posted byHotelStaff
October 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Its always great to read such a positive response. I can ensure you that this will be relayed to our team members and in particular our reception staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Richard Platts General Manager
Read More
Read Less

re: Property left in room when departing

By

October 01, 2014

Very impressed by the courtesy and prompt attention by Housekeeping staff when we realised that we had left items in our room.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 15, 2014
Thank you for writing your review. I am pleased to read that our housekeeping team members displayed great service and went above and beyond for you regarding your left items. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Richard Platts General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Night out in the capital!!

By

September 27, 2014

platinumelite

Celebrating a friends birthday in the city we decided to use some of our reward points staying here!! Lovely warm welcome on arrival ,Very helpful and professional staff on hand to settle us in!! .
The room was really nice spotlessly clean and fresh with great view, Enjoyed a few drinks in the hotel bar before going out around the city meeting with friends really enjoyed some of the bars/clubs very friendly atmosphere.
After a great night out was great to get back to our room and get to bed ,which was i must say one of the comfortable beds i have had the pleasure of sleeping in for long time,And the fact we had an extended late check out and complimentary parking really couldn't fault the hotel and will look forward to our next stop over in the near future!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Many thanks.x

Posted byHotelStaff
October 15, 2014
Thank you for your review. Its great to read that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre. I am glad that you chose our hotel to spend your IHG Rewards points and that you were able to utilize the benefits of being an elite loyalty member. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next night out in the capital! Kind Regards, Richard Platts General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Guter Service in abgewohntem Hotel

By

September 22, 2014

Insgesamt kann man gegen das Hotel nichts sagen. Allerdings gibt es auch wenig, was einen dazu bringt wieder genau in dieses hotel zu gehen.

Der Service ist gut, man bekommt alles, was man benötigt. Sinnvoll wäre es, wenn man direkt beim Einchecken über die WLAN Möglichkeiten informiert wird. Auch das es keinen Safe auf dem Zimmer gab oder ich ihn nicht gefunden habe, fand ich für ein solches Hotel schwach. Insgesamt machten die Zimmermöbel einen neuen Eindruck, dies konnte aber nicht darüber hinwegtäuschen, dass die Anlage einschließlich der Zimmer schon ziemlich verwohnt wirken und das Hotel einen Renovierung bedarf. Das Badezimmer einschließlich der Dusche sind nicht mehr zeitgemäß.
Auch die Rezeption wirkt veraltet und könnte etwas aufgefrischt werden. Der Straßenlärm war nicht angenehm. Bei geöffneten Fenster konnte ich nicht schlafen, obwohl ich beim einchecken um ein "ruhiges Zimmer" gebeten hatte.

Posted byCustomerCare
October 20, 2014
Sehr geehrte Rufus45, vielen Dank für Ihren Aufenthalt kürzlich mit uns. Wir bedauern, dass Ihr Aufenthalt in unserem Hotel nicht zufriedenstellend war. Wir schätzen die ehrlichen Rückmeldungen, die wir erhalten und freuen uns über jede Gelegenheit, um uns zu verbessern. Wir wissen, dass Ihnen viele Möglichkeiten hinsichtlich der Unterkunftsauswahl zur Verfügung stehen und freuen uns, dass Sie sich auch bei Ihrer zukünftigen Reise für IHG entscheiden. Mit freundlichen Grüßen, Myrna M Case Manager IHGCare
Read More
Read Less

Good overall

By

September 22, 2014

club

Breakfast staff abrupt and had no sense of humour.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 26, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am please to read that you enjoyed your stay. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with regards to your service during breakfast. I have addressed the matter with the respective department in order to avoid these unnecessary issues in the future. Once again, Thank you for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Welsh Capital on your next visit. Kind Regards, Richard Platts General Manager
Read More
Read Less