Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
100%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4

based on 27 reviews
100%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

27reviews

  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars

1 night stay, 9 Oct '14

By

October 14, 2014

Nice sized room, clean, well-furnished, lovely walk-in shower, reasonably-priced good quality food in restaurant. Disappointed that the sauna, Jacuzzi, steam room and pool were unavailable.

Read More
Read Less

Fantastic staff

By

October 13, 2014

Booked a group of 22 in for this last weekend (I've done this a few times & it's always a bit of a worry/gamble) - I did not need to worry - this Hotel was just perfect, ticking all the boxes. Above all else & most impressive was the Hotel staff/team - they couldn't do enough for us. Unfortunately one of our group had a 'malfunction' but the housekeeping staff were very understanding (experience I guess) & helped with the 'clear-up' without any stress. Note to the Hotel Manager: your Ceri & Racheal on front-desk were brilliant, as were Colin & the Bar team. But your superstar, who showed more patience than I can express, was Lewis your night manager - he was fantastic - a master of diplomacy when one of our group became a little awkward in the wee hours. BTW; the meals & breakfasts were also great, thank you Chef/Kitchen.
So, great hotel & lovely staff. Would definitely like to re-visit & highly recommend this hotel ;-)

Read More
Read Less

Good hotel but advertised fitness facilities unavailable

By

October 12, 2014

platinumelite

Hotel is clean, modern and very comfortable. Unfortunately my main reason for choosing this hotel was to use the health and fitness facilities - these are currently not available.

Posted byCustomerCare
October 22, 2014
Dear SueRS, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We are very sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We would like to address your experience further, and have sent you an email with additional details. Thank you again for your comments, and continued loyalty as an IHG Rewards Club Platinum member. Sincerely, Connie D Case Manager IHGCare
Read More
Read Less

Great customer service

By

October 11, 2014

club

Warm friendly reception at this new hotel, staff always on hand, good restaurant service.

Read More
Read Less

poor check experience

By

October 09, 2014

club

stayed at Holiday inn North on Saturday 4th October arranged to meet some friends travelling from London myself I was travelling from Birmingham
when I arrived at hotel after nearly 3 hours travel time as was asked for id as I am a ihg staff member and reward member I found this unwelcoming showed female manager my debit card and confirmation letter but still she wanted more proof ie payslip which I don't show anyone I had to call my place of work to confirm I worked there this went on for 20 minutes mean while other guests had come down to complain about the noise level in the hotel while this was going on the female manager just asked the young receponist to check me in this time no card details etc what a farce I waited all that time for nothing think they need some training at this hotel very poor service

Read More
Read Less

Great Room Good Price

By

October 09, 2014

club

Very quiet and comfortable room, very modern finish.

Just a slight problem with bathroom shower flooding the bathroom as the glass screen seems inadequate for the power of the shower

Read More
Read Less

Great service within comfortable surroundings

By

October 08, 2014

Enjoyed my weekend break very much. The staff were very helpful and approachable. The bed was very comfortable with selection of pillows.

Read More
Read Less

Good refurb of hotel and exec room was nice

By

October 07, 2014

platinumelite

Hotel just had a refurb so hotel lobby and rooms look nice. It was a shame that the gym and pool that were advertised still hadn't opened.

Posted byCustomerCare
October 22, 2014
Dear Salip, Thank you very much for being an IHG Rewards Club Platinum member and for sharing your experience with us. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide. We read with much concern the disappointments you had during your stay with us. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you had with the fitness room and pool area. Our main concern is for all our guests to experience an exceptional stay and we regret that we were not able to deliver this for you. Our guests’ satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. With this said, we assure you that we will take your comments into consideration to improve our hotel. Despite your dissatisfaction, we all hope that you will give us another chance and allow us to redeem your confidence in the quality of our products and services. Sincerely, Dhan M Case Manager IHGCare
Read More
Read Less

friendly staff - great room

By

October 07, 2014

club

Very helpful and friendly staff - especially the lady who seated us for breakfast.

Read More
Read Less

Friendly hotel

By

October 03, 2014

club

Booked last minute, as usual hotel in Cardiff was full. Was very impressed with the staff - very friendly and helpful. Arrived just as kitchen was closing, but we still had an excellent dinner.

Room and en-suite were very clean and comfortable.Air-conditioning worked exceptionally well, once we discovered how to control it!

Read More
Read Less

A welcome addition to the IHG group

By

September 30, 2014

platinumelite

A very nice conversion from it's previous set-up. Lovely and bright throughout the hotel. Easy to park. Welcoming staff as soon as you enter.
My room was a pleasant suite. I was somewhat surprised how firm the matress was. I sleep on what I consider to be a firm bed - this was harder.
Plenty of stations on the tv/radio, and a minibar fridge that you can add a small bottle of milk into to keep it available for decent cups of tea!
Breakfast is good, like a better version of a Holiday Inn Express rather than a typical Holiday Inn - but a very varied election of everything.

Read More
Read Less

Accommodation / General interior and breakfast.

By

September 25, 2014

Accommodation was very good. The standards of Holiday Inn hotels was surely lacking specially in reception and dining areas.
Dining areas and food offered was very standard similar to Express hotels.

Read More
Read Less