Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
91%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.2

based on 466 reviews
91%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

466reviews

  • 5 Stars
    234
  • 4 Stars
    140
  • 3 Stars
    61
  • 2 Stars
    24
  • 1 Stars
    7

Great staff, room spacious and clean, would recommend

By

August 17, 2021

We were very apprehensive after reading so many recent poor reviews and nearly cancelled our stay because of that but we are glad we didnt.

Our room 120 was large, clean and any issues like no shower curtain were addressed immediately.

Reception staff were helpful and friendly.

The swimming pool is small but pleasant and needs to be pre-booked.

Breakfast was organised efficiently and worked well with adequate choice, although fresh fruit would have been good.

Parking was plentiful.

Great bus service to the City outside.

Read More
Read Less

Not the best but still good value for money

By

June 04, 2021

I've used bullet points, to save time:

Good:
- We found a space to park on arrival.
- Very refreshing and powerful shower.
- Comfortable beds.
- Generally clean.
- Lovely breakfast with a great view over Edinburgh.
- Great location, close to all amenities.
- Good value for money.

Bad:
- No info upon arrival about amenities and facilities etc.
- Told Breakfast wasn't included, I had to prove it was.
- I booked breakfast times but a later check shows they weren't made. I had to re-confirm.
- Empty alcohol bottles and cans etc left in the corridor.
- Our bins weren't emptied during our stay.
- Despite reporting failed Air Con, it was never tended too.
- Sleeping was difficult due to heat.
- Some days, I had to circle the hotel a few times to get a parking space.
- Parking is not monitored, therefore abused, overlapping etc.

Breakdown:

- It's a nice hotel in a nice area.
- Make sure you ask anything you need to know straight away at Reception as there is no induction.
- Expect screaming kids to run around while you eat your breakfast.
- Expect some drivers to park selfishly.
- There's loads to do nearby and plenty places to eat.
- You must absolutely confirm the Air Con is working before you book your stay, otherwise you will be uncomfortable during hot weather. For safety reasons, the windows only partially open...

Read More
Read Less

Good... but

By

October 09, 2020

Staff are doing all they can in these difficult times.
I've never really had many issues in hotels before but the room provided was quite 'grubby'. Having spoken to staff at reception... the 'issues' were rectified and I'm glad to say that definitely made a difference to our overall stay, given that we were staying for 6 nights!

The hotel looks to be having a few steady improvements i.e lighting but rooms are somewhat dated and limited in functions. (simple things like bed side charging points go a long way :))

We were very pleasantly surprised by the sweeping views available in the room - unless of course you are at the back of the hotel where you get a lovely car park but you do get the sound of the zoo ;)

Breakfast was limited - most of this was 'okay' but I think for people picking breakfast rates.. this is probably best avoided until the menu has expanded. ( I only say this because I think adding breakfast on increases your overall price quite a bit)

The chef on one or two occasions did not have his face mask fully covering his nose which somewhat made us uneasy ...

We had dinner once - again, not bad.. but the prices are somewhat high for again a rather limited menu.
This is all explained of course and this is mostly due to COVID - you can't have everything!

We booked over a month ago thinking leisure facilities would be opening. (given a good portion had opened across Scotland late August/early Sep)
I'll be honest, we almost cancelled the booking and moved closer to the city centre purely on the basis that a great MANY hotels had opened up socially distanced, bookable time slot, pool/sauna visits.
Again, most people might be put off by this given the current circumstances - I can't slate this too much... but after several days of constant walking around Edinburgh... somewhere to chill would've certainly made the experience better overall.

We did not really use the bar facilities but sadly it looks like COVID cases have now ruined bar experiences across Scotland as of 09.10.20. Either way, it looked smart and service was good.

Staff were polite and friendly. They are trying to do their best in a very difficult climate. Hospitability is such a hard industry and is usually unforgiving and thankless at times.
It's evident they are trying their best to improve but its proving to be quite challenging, by the looks of it.

We were very grateful that on the day of check-out, they were able to hold our luggage whilst we explored all day.

Overall our stay was good after the lovely lady on reception helped us out. (:

Read More
Read Less

Not a king sized bed

By

September 23, 2020

We stayed at this hotel for the benefits of being right next to the zoo. If you want to hear the Gibbons in the morning or the odd roar in the night it's the perfect hotel for you( We loved that). The only issue we had was the king sized bed was two pushed together. This appears to be the norm. I read another review where a guest lost their husband between the beds, thankfully that never happened to us. We filled our days in Edinburgh so slept well. We never ate at the hotel so I can't comment on the food. Our room was clean.

Read More
Read Less

good room, good location, terrible breakfast

By

September 14, 2020

Booked primarily for pool.I know covid is causing closures of facilities but nowhere on booking site did it say leisure facilities closed. Staff were very dismissive when we asked about it!

Breakfast was beyond terrible. Room with breakfast booked. I do not class a warmed up, revolting panini, a small piece of cheese a yogurt and banana as a cooked breakfast!!
There is no reason why , despite covid, we can't stay at our tables and be brought a plate of cooked breakfast. Thats what we paid for!!

Otherwise comfy beds, clean rooms and good covid safety measures!

Read More
Read Less

Loved it! Didn’t want to come home!

By

March 26, 2020

Absolutely brilliant place! I can’t wait to come back! The staff are brilliant! Helpful if you need them but leave you to it if you don’t. Room was brilliant and super king size bed was amazing and so comfy! The bathroom door had an inch thick of dust and grime on the beading but no big deal as I bring dettol wipes. Would’ve liked the tv to accept Apple TV, fire stick, google chrome or Apple airplay so u can watch movies from ur phone or laptop. Swimming pool and jacuzzi was brilliant! Only gripe was someone took off a plaster and left at side of pool and it was still there our whole 6 days stay. Food and bar was great and breakfast was so delicious!! Will always stay here whilst in Edinburgh! The free national geographic and newspapers was a really nice bonus.

Read More
Read Less

Great stay

By

June 06, 2019

Flew up from London for my Daughters 16th birthday. We had a problem with our room but Rachel was on hand to sort it out straight away. Room service was excellent. The zoo is right next door & we enjoyed visiting it. The city itself is so beautiful & a short taxi ride away. We had a brilliant stay & will be back next year. Thank you to all the staff at Holiday Inn.

Read More
Read Less

Good stay but unhappy with hotel holding my money

By

October 18, 2014

I had enjoyed my stay at the hotel. The location was good, the hotel smart, room clean and comfortable and the staff friendly. The shower could have done with being updated but the overall room was good. What has greatly disappointed me about this hotel is that once returning home I have found that the hotel are incorrectly holding £100 of my money and did this without my knowledge. No one said they were going to hold money from my account and I am appalled that 5 days after it was incorrectly held it has still not been returned to my account! It has left me short on cash this month, and it has left a bitter taste towards this hotel after what had been a very nice stay. I am shocked that the money was held even though I never gave my card to anyone at the hotel and no one told me this amount was going to be held! I had paid for the room in full months ago and on check in had been asked if we would like to charge extras to the room or settle these is cash, we had opted to pay as we go with cash so I have no idea why this money has been held in the first place and why it has still not been released into my account!!

Posted byHotelStaff
October 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send in your feedback. We apologise for the unacceptable error that occurred and we are fully aware and investigating why this has happened. We will be in touch with you directly to address the matter. Kind Regards Claire claire.borthwick@ihg.com
Posted byHotelStaff
October 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh. We are in the process of investigating your complaint and we will be in touch with you directly regarding your issue. Kind Regards Claire claire.borthwick@ihg.com
Read More
Read Less

Great facilities and attentive staff

By

October 17, 2014

club

The hotel really catered for all ages. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Rooms were very clean.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh. We are delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay which was made enjoyable by the service you received. Kind Regards Claire claire.borthwick@ihg.com
Read More
Read Less

Frequent traveller

By

October 17, 2014

platinumelite

This was the 3rd Holiday Inn I stayed in that week and this was by far the best. Room had great views over the Pentland Hills, staff were happy and helpful and the food was unusually good for a Hol Inn. Even the wifi seemed a reasonable speed for a change. Great location for tourists too and easy access to airport outside the hotel. I wish all the Holiday Inns were this good.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh. We are delighted to read that we exceed your expectations in many areas and that you rated us with the best experience for your week long travel. We hope that we have the chance to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future. Kind Regards Claire calire.borthwick@ihg.com
Read More
Read Less

Good Service

By

October 16, 2014

club

My wife left Iphone 5 charger in the room, and the hotel staff posted the charger to my home and it arrived in the fourth day! Excellent service! Thanks!

Posted byHotelStaff
October 22, 2014
It is great to hear that another item of lost property has been reunited with its owner. Thank you for taking the time to send in your feedback. Kind Regards Claire claire.borthwick@ihg.com
Read More
Read Less

Group weekend away

By

October 16, 2014

club

Good stay. Especially enjoyed the Beauty Salon and Sampans Restarant. The Carvery restaurant was disappointing. Staff service at breakfast not good (for tea

Posted byHotelStaff
October 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback with regards to your recent stay. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed dinning in our Sampans restaurant and you took sometime out to enjoy a Beauty Treatment. We apologise that the Carvery and breakfast were disappointing and I will ensure your feedback is passed on to improve our services. Kind Regards Claire claire.borthwick@ihg.com
Read More
Read Less