Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
91%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.4

based on 257 reviews
91%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

257reviews

  • 5 Stars
    159
  • 4 Stars
    64
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    6

not the best hotel

By

October 19, 2014

used hotel as convenient to where is was working and that's about the only reason for staying there the breakfast is really poor value and the produce used is poor quality too, rooms dated shower and bed good

Read More
Read Less

Great location for stop over

By

October 17, 2014

club

Iinteresting Location, with canal boats- great value for hotel with pool and visititng chester. Staff make you feel welcome. thank you

Read More
Read Less

Excellent weekend stay

By

October 16, 2014

Friendly staff, excellent breakfast and comfy bed - can't fault this hotel will return next time we visit friends.

Read More
Read Less

unique location

By

October 15, 2014

Staff were the\ friendliest ever in a holiday inn. Mattress and bedding were excellent, very comfortable

Read More
Read Less

Great Location - Bad room

By

October 14, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel before with no problem.. However this time, the room was not upto standard. In fact, it looked as though it had been vandalised. The toilet continually flushed, the plug socket on the writing desk had been smashed and the bath plug closure did not work properly and looked as though it had been deliberately broken. All these points were mentioned to the maintenance manager before departure. We do NOT expect this sort of standard from the Holiday Inn group.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 17, 2014
Hi Leader100, Thank you for leaving your comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port/Cheshire Oaks. I am glad to hear that you chose to stay with us again, however I am disappointed to hear that you feel our standards had dropped well below your usual expectations. As you mentioned, the Maintenance Manager was made aware of the three issues you had highlighted and repairs were carried out promptly, thankfully without having to replace any equipment. Thank you for your continued vigilance and I hope none of your comments affect you choosing to stay with us again in the future. Kind Regards Claire Johnson Front of House Manager
Read More
Read Less

Could do better

By

October 11, 2014

club

Worst experience at Ellesmere Port. I have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions but by far this was the worst.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 17, 2014
Hi Thomas123, Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Holiday inn Ellesmere Port / Cheshire Oaks. We are a very busy hotel and pride ourselves in excellent service and excellent standards. I am sorry to hear you feel we feel short on this occasion but we do thank you for your feedback. I understand you have used us on numerous occasions and I do not want your comments affecting you from continuing to use us in the future. Kind Regards Claire Johnson Front of House Manager
Read More
Read Less

Great Service

By

October 10, 2014

club

Fantastic staff who were kind and attentive as we were staying with very young children

Read More
Read Less

Excellent all round

By

October 07, 2014

A very pleasant experience. We stayed for two nights on an obviously busy weekend (There were a couple of large wedding parties staying so the hotel was full)
Our room was very spacious, clean and comfortable with two large beds and despite the wedding revellers we did not hear a sound of this in our room and hence slept very well. Good to have in room coffee/tea/biscuits also!
The breakfast and dinner were excellent and the staff were very helpful, friendly and unflustered making for very relaxing dining. The breakfast was especially brilliant with a great and varied choice assisted by really nice staff.
The location is interesting and quite different from the "car park" view from many such hotels.
We would definitely stay here again.
Especially impressed by the staff - ALL were very helpful, friendly and very efficient,
See you again!

Posted byHotelStaff
October 17, 2014
Hi PhilRW, Thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port/Cheshire Oaks. It is lovely to hear that you found all of our staff very friendly and you were very happy with the service here at our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Claire Johnson Front of House Manager
Read More
Read Less

My little Hidden Gem

By

September 30, 2014

This Hotel is my ' Little Hidden Gem '
The location is beautiful by the side of the canal, quiet & peaceful
All staff are so friendly & nothing is too much trouble, it's certainly service with a smile.
Superb cleanliness from the reception, dining room, bar, hallways and bedrooms, I commend your staff
The breakfast is excellent! I truly recommend this to start your day and fantastic value, once again the staff are great, making you very welcome and making sure that your breakfast is enjoyable
Bedrooms are excellent, comfortable with complimentary tea/coffee & biscuits, everything you need is there for your use
The atmosphere is extremely friendly and enjoyable
What more could you wish for! This is my second stay and it certainly won't be my last
Thank you for making my stay yet again a very enjoyable one!

Posted byHotelStaff
October 17, 2014
Hi Jan247, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port/Cheshire Oaks. I am glad to hear you class us as 'my little hidden gem', I am glad to hear everything was excellent with your stay from check in to when you departed. We look forward to you returning to us in the future. Kind Regards Claire Johnson Front of House Manager
Read More
Read Less

Best holiday Inn We've been too

By

September 24, 2014

club

We stayed here as we were visiting Cheshire Oaks to shop for the weekend. Its about a 5 minute simple car journey away. The hotel is situated by a beautiful canal and lovely surroundings. There's plenty of free car parking space, including an overflow car park which has CCTV and is locked at night. We didn't use the swimming pool or leisure facilities but they looked nice from what we saw and looked ideal for families.
We stayed in a room with a double bed and sofa bed, even though there were only 2 of us staying because we like that extra bit of space. Views out the room were lovely. Room was very clean, comfy bed, air conditioning, hairdryer and iron, everything you need . Breakfast was nice with the usual fry up which you help yourself too, also cereals, fruit, and a small selection of pastries. I did ask for a quite room when booking and we were positioned as far away from the function room as you could get :-)
I can say 100% without a doubt that I will be staying at this hotel again when I next visit Chester..

Read More
Read Less

solo break

By

September 17, 2014

club

fantastic location of a very nice hotel. Staff all very pleasant and very helpful. Will certainly stay again.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 21, 2014
Hi Jayne 52, Thank you for your lovely comments and for taking the time to leave comments regarding your previous stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port/Cheshire Oaks. I am glad to hear you found our staff very pleasant and you were very happy with your stay. Glad you will be returning to us in the future, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. Kind Regards Claire Johnson Front of House Manager
Read More
Read Less

My favourite UK hotel

By

September 14, 2014

The location, friendly service, attractive rooms, comfortable beds, excellent breakfast and great amenities make this my favourite hotel.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 21, 2014
Hi Chaser14, Thank you for your lovely comments and for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your previous stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port/Cheshire Oaks. I am glad everything was up to your satisfaction and that we are your favourite hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Claire Johnson Front of House Manager
Read More
Read Less