Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
90%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.5

based on 132 reviews
90%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

132reviews

  • 5 Stars
    93
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    2

Awesome staff

By

July 16, 2020

We had issues with the room key not working, Michael McGough, Chief Engineer came up to the room to get the key working. Michael got the lock working and was extremely professional and friendly, even brought us both bottled water. The next morning the key didnt' work again, he came up and we requested to be moved to another room as it appeared this could be an ongoing issue. Not only did Michael call the front desk to get us a new room, he went downstairs to get the keys and he also helped us move our things
Michael was not the only awesome employee, we ate breakfast in Kem's bar on Sunday and the staff gave A+ service.
Front desk employees were also very nice and helpful.

Kudo's to the management company for hiring and maintaining such customer friendly staff. this is not always the case and it is sincerely appreciated.

Oh, one thing i left off, we originally were supposed to be at the Homewood Suites Riverchase, but due to an issue with the room being taken out of service they sent us to this hotel. The staff at Homewood Suites was also very helpful.

Read More
Read Less

The Month I spent at the Holiday Inn

By

June 01, 2020

I recently stayed and totally loved all of the Staff under the G.M.
They were always kind and helpful, even going out of their way for me. One employee picked some Chick-fil-A for me when he went. He wouldn't take a tip.
Every Tuesday morning I would renew for the week. I went down to renew and was told they wouldn't be accepting my renewal??
I didn't do anything to make someone mad, I couldn't have I am too nice! I did cause quite the scene when I had to go to the Hospital by ambulance. I have Lupus and I'm no stranger to a hospital. I got not such a great prognosis. I don't think they wanted that happening again.
I'm not sure, the G.M. said there were a bunch of charge backs on my Mom's card which was used for the reservation. He also said he had no card to swipe since it was all over the phone. He never said I needed to present it or I would have.
I would have found out what is with the charge backs from my Mom's card why didn't he charge back to them?
Something funny is with that....
And why was my Deposit Card charged?? They also charged my Mom's card the same exact fees as to my card. I only have $300 Limit on the card I gave them that for a refundable $15.00
That automatically gives me a $50.00 over the limit fee to me.
Why would they charge my card? And not tell me?
I am upset.
It better not be for a late check out. I got out of there as fast as I could because I secured an early check in at my next place. I was there over a month, I wasn't given any hint or sign.

Why wasn't I given forewarning I would need to pack. I am disabled and I cannot just pack everything all at once.if you relate spoons to it People without Lupus have 50 spoons, people with it only have 25. It takes them 2 spoons to do something it might only take 1 spoon for a healthy person.
I am calling the 2nd time for an ITEMIZED BILL. There was a drunk who was allowed to stay there, even though he passed out every night outside. They had to finally call the Police. He wasn't asked to leave then, he stayed 4 more days.

Read More
Read Less

Okay Place

By

February 11, 2020

This is our second time at this property. Good enough for us to return. But 111 rooms and 2 luggage carts. Both visits this has been an issue. Please get another couple carts. Thank you.

Read More
Read Less

Continental Breakfast

By

October 18, 2014

club

Would be nice if breakfast was free. Otherwise, no complaints.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Hoover Al. We hope to see you again real soon.
Read More
Read Less

Great Stay in Hoover

By

October 18, 2014

club

Great team at this location. They overcame a problem with the Keying system and made it as minimal an issue as possible. I think they saw it as an opportunity to take their service to the next level. Good Job!!

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. I could not be prouder of my staff in their handling of a very tough situation. Thank you again and see you soon. -Blair Stroup General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Clean and Friendly

By

October 17, 2014

I would reccomend this hotel for its cleanliness and sevice by staff.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Service is something that we are constantly striving to improve. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you soon. Blair Stroup General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Rest way from home.

By

October 14, 2014

platinumelite

We booked the stay on the internet and had no problem finding it. It was close to the mall and of course the wife had to go shopping.
The pillows was my only complaint. I will bring my pillows from home next trip!
We thought the continent breakfast was free but found out it wasn't when we arrived.
Overall though we enjoyed the stay1

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
I completely understand your fondness of your personal pillow from home. We are happy that you had an enjoyable stay and hope that your wife found some great deals at our local shops. See you soon.
Read More
Read Less

Comfortable bed and very pleasant staff.

By

October 10, 2014

club

we had a great stay here - clean room - great bed - did not notice noisy neighbors or outside noises - curtains kept the room dark and we received breakfast with our room!

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
So happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for the kind words and we hope to see you again soon. Blair Stroup General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Business Center out-of-service

By

October 10, 2014

When I checked in, I was given vouchers for breakfast, but not informed that I was being given any vouchers. I simply grabbed my key from the packet to use. On the next to the last day of my stay, I finally noticed the vouchers--so I got one free breakfast when I should have been able to eat there every morning.

And then there was the business "center." The fax/copier/scanner is not hooked up to an outside line, so any faxes have to go through the locked office and the staff has to send the faxes. The machine was also out of toner for the entire length of my stay (almost a week). We told the front desk staff 4 times (once to a manager) and they NEVER replaced the toner. Because of the low toner, not only could you not print, you couldn't scan either. The location of the "center" is out in the open where people walking by can see over your shoulder onto the monitor screen.

An ongoing problem at this location and many others is that the computers' operating system (typically Windows XP) is out of date and that forces the Internet Explorer to remain out of date as the latest version XP supports is IE 8. Since IE is up to 11? now, many sites I tried to visit on the computer says it is incompatible with that version of IE and tells you to either update IE (which you cannot do) or download Chrome--which I was finally forced to do. However, it is troubling that anyone can download a program onto the computer. The entire company and franchisees need to update all of their business center computers with a more recent operating system and updated browser.

Posted byCustomerCare
October 21, 2014
Dear Woodman51, Thank you for being one of our IHG Rewards Gold members. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are happy to hear that our location worked for your needs and that you found our rooms clean. On the other hand, please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience the Business Center facility may have caused you. I have taken note of your comments and we will address these points to improve our service. Once again, thank you for taking the time. We value you as our IHG Rewards Gold member and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs. Best Regards, John O Case Manager IHGCare
Read More
Read Less

Comfortable stay and excellent service!

By

October 01, 2014

Management and the staff at Hoover Holiday Inn AL was great and accomodating. The hotel lobby and dining room presentation was beautiful! Exercise room was clean. The hotel was very clean and in a perfect location!

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Thank you Sir for your kind words regarding your recent stay. We are so happy that we were able to make you feel at home. See you again soon. Blair Stroup General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Great all around

By

September 26, 2014

platinumelite

You can always count on this Holiday Inn to be consistent in all areas. Great location with a lake view.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Thank you. We try to be consistent with our customer service while always striving to be better than the last time. Thank you again and see you soon. Blair Stroup General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Nice Stay

By

September 23, 2014

club

Very quiet and comfortable beds. The fitness room was great as well as the customer service. I would recommend others to stay here and I would also stay here in the future if I need to.

Read More
Read Less