Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
76%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

3.8

based on 94 reviews
76%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

94reviews

  • 5 Stars
    40
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    10

Orwell - Ipswich

By

May 27, 2021

club

You always know what to expect from a Holiday Inn, clean, efficient, quick and easy booking.
Orwell definitely stood out on customer service.
Everyone, from reception to restaurant staff to housekeeping, tried their best to make our stay as relaxing and comfortable as possible.
Especially the gentleman @reception when we arrived, nothing was too much trouble, then Ben @the restaurant, housekeeping and reception on Thursday went out of their way to be helpful and courteous.
Thank you for an excellent stay and well done, everyone @Orwell embodies what great customer service should be.

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable break on route to Great Yarmoth

By

October 18, 2014

club

Very helpful staff and very comfortble bed/room slightly let down by unusually long wait for dinner ( under staffed in the kitchen that evening ) and mediocre food at dinner and breakfast:- hard to chew steak and not much choice of museli or fruit at breakfast just. Still otherwise all OK and I like to stay at the Holiday Inn / Orwell so I can use the David Lloyd sports facilities conveniently just down the road.

Read More
Read Less

great staff, helpful, fun and a very pleasant stay. xx

By

October 17, 2014

Stuart, the night receptionist was a darling. nothing was too much trouble.
We came up from Cornwall and stayed for two nights, we enjoyed every second we were there.
Thanks guys.
xx

Read More
Read Less

excellent service and really good food

By

October 15, 2014

club

We were in Suffolk with relatives for a family funeral and decided to stay at the Holiday Inn in Ipswich. The staff were very very helpful and friendly to such an extent that the head chef came to our table to ask if we had enjoyed his creations which we did. He explained he wanted to create a menu which was of good quality with well cooked dishes.
We would certainly recommend it to any one who wants to stay near Ipswich- it is very convenient to the A14 too.

Read More
Read Less

Tired and in need of a makeover

By

October 11, 2014

Room was tired and showing its age, trouser press not working, window lock hanging off and net curtains dirty
Breakfast was OK but not worth £10 the Coffee was not drinkable
Membership to David Lloyd next door was very nice.
Overall this place is tired and needs a makeover.
Will not return.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 14, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. I am sorry that you had a few issue's with your bedroom, I will of course get this looked into. The David Lloyd club is very popular at the hotel and used by many of our guests, and is only a to minuet walk away from the hotel. I will make sure that all feedback is passed onto the team members. Kind regards Lucy Rose Interim General Manager Holiday Inn Ipswich Orwell
Read More
Read Less

Average hotel

By

October 09, 2014

platinumelite

Hotel was average. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Rooms were average, they can do with a little renovation. If I were not on business travel, I would not stay here

Posted byHotelStaff
October 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel. The team we have in place always want to ensure each and every guest has a pleasant stay. I do hope you will come and stay with us again. Kind regards Lucy Rose Interim General Manager Holiday Inn Ipswich Orwell
Read More
Read Less

Let down from previous visit

By

September 26, 2014

club

On arrival rushed by receptionist nothing explained, room to hot, room not very clean I:e old bar of used soap left in shower tray and cleaners dust rag by side of bed. Have stayed before but felt let down on this stay.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel. I am really sorry to hear that you had a few issue's. I will pass on your comments to the reception and housekeeping team to ensure this does not happen again. If you do wish to discuss with me further then please do contact me on gm.hiipswich@kewgreen.co.uk. Kind regards Lucy Rose Interim General Manager Holiday Inn Ipswich Orwell
Read More
Read Less

Comfortable

By

September 20, 2014

platinumelite

Nice and comfortable without the fuss.
Nice staff in all areas of hotel.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review about the hotel and team. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Lucy Rose Interim General Manager Holiday Inn Ipswich Orwell
Read More
Read Less

Nice hotel

By

September 14, 2014

Stayed for one night. Clean room and bathroom, nice quiet nights sleep. Furniture a bit worn and old fashioned but nice enough. Plenty of places to sit and have a drink in peace. Drinks in the bar really expensive! Plenty of good parking outside. Would stay here again.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the hotel. It is really good to hear that you had a pleasant nights sleep. As you mentioned the hotel has some great area's to sit and have a peaceful drink, and we have now even rearranged the bar area as per guests feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Lucy Rose Interim General Manager Holiday Inn Ipswich Orwell
Read More
Read Less

Enjoyable stay

By

August 28, 2014

We enjoyed our two nights at this hotel. The room was clean and the king-sized bed was comfortable. We especially liked the good quality, solid furniture in our room. The bathroom was also clean with everything that we needed being to hand. Breakfasts were excellent with a good variety of dishes on offer. All the staff with whom we had contact were friendly, polite and helpful. We shall certainly stay at this hotel again, and can recommend it to others.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 08, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. The team work hard on ensuring every guest has an enjoyable stay and it is always great to hear that you will be staying again. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Lucy Rose Interim General Manager Holiday Inn Ipswich Orwell
Read More
Read Less

No free WIFI and no Bacon

By

August 28, 2014

We were shocked to discover we had to pay £14/day for internet connection, the rooms had cobwebs and spiders in the corners, which if you knew my daughter is a disaster!!, I had to dispose of them all out the window, At breakfast the tables weren't cleared between courses and they ran out of bacon at the self service, the staff were unaware as they were too busy chatting.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 08, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We do provide free internet to all IHG reward club members, this is a loyalty scheme that is free to join, with many benefits. I will be discussing your concerns with the housekeeping team, and also investigating the problems you had with breakfast as this is not acceptable. Kind regards Lucy Rose Interim General Manager Holiday Inn Ipswich Orwell
Read More
Read Less

reception staff.

By

August 19, 2014

club

Excellent staff on reception.
They were most helpful when most needed.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 08, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I will make sure your kind comments are passed onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Lucy Rose Interim General Manager Holiday Inn Ipswich Orwell
Read More
Read Less