Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
83%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4

based on 200 reviews
83%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

200reviews

  • 5 Stars
    96
  • 4 Stars
    51
  • 3 Stars
    25
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    15

TERRIBLE

By

November 17, 2021

club

I am usually skeptical of any reviews for products, or, especially hotels. Some love it...some hate it, so, it's hard to determine who is accurate in a review. This Holiday Inn was SO bad, it warrants a review. It's accurate and to the point.
My wife and I stayed one night so we were close to the airport for a flight the next morning. The area is suspect. Security guards are outside in the parking lot, and even in the inside lobby area. This is not the hotels fault...but something to consider. What IS the hotels fault is the following: The whole place was sub-par. The carpets were filthy. In serious need of replacement. The caulk and some grout from the bathroom was missing. The shower shelf for the soap (more about this in a moment...), and shampoo, had apparently been broken off and glued back on. The sink faucet drain backed up. It is not up to me to notify them of backed up drains, and it's disgusting. The cleaning staff knows this. They (the hotel), are too lazy to address it. Our coffee maker / hot water maker did not work. I did not need it, but my wife was trying to heat up water for tea. There was ZERO breakfast of any kind. What hotel serves absolutely nothing for breakfast?? We have traveled all over before, during and now, after this virus stupidity, and everyone has something. But...not them. Their business center (a room with a hotel and printer), was closed permanently. Looking in, there was no computer or printer. I needed a computer and printer the night previously to print an important document. Fortunately, I didn't need it then. All hotels have (or, should have), a functioning computer and printer.
As if all of the above is not bad enough...here was the most incredible part...
When we got to the room, they were out of soap. Thinking it was an oversight by the cleaning staff, my wife went to the counter and was told that the ENTIRE hotel was out, and had been for TWO WEEKS. Now, think about this...if you are a hotel, and don't have soap, you might as well shut your doors. They didn't even know when they were going to get more. Poor planning. Poor management. They don't care. I'm talking to you, owner of this establishment. Does the IHG group know this. Think about how unsanitary this is?? You can't even go to the bathroom and use any soap. Yes...we used shampoo instead. That's not the point. We spend all day trying to keep our hands clean with sanitizer because of the virus, but a hotel does not have ANY SOAP???!!! By the way, hotel check in people...why not tell the guests this important detail BEFORE we get to our room!?? I would have checked around for another place to stay.
Bottom line....AVOID THIS PLACE. STEER CLEAR. DO NOT STAY HERE. GO SOMEWHERE ELSE. DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME AND MONEY.

Read More
Read Less

You couldn’t pay me to stay there again

By

July 12, 2021

Filthy, stains everywhere on the carpets and furniture. Awful smell of cigarettes and mildew. Very humid at night and AC unit couldn’t keep up. Kept kicking on and off all night. We were provided 2 towels for 3 of us and told that’s all they could give us. No housekeeping services were provided at all during our 3 night stay. Coffee pot had a slime in the reservoir where you add water. No breakfast provided and we were traveling with a sports team so we asked to use a conference room to provide the kids breakfast items we purchased and they weren’t able to accommodate that request either. They kept stating the manager would be in the next shift to take care of that for us.but we never got to actually speak to the manager during our stay. The neighborhood was sketchy. Ladies of the night coming and going from the hotel at all hours. At one point there was a large dog barking from a room down the hall. In the lobby bathroom there was a half smoked cigarette and the back of the toilet. Trash everywhere in the parking lot. Felt very unsafe parking my car at night. There is no reason to ever go back or recommend this hotel to anyone I know. It gave me the feeling there was something more going on behind the scenes and definitely not a place to have young children

Read More
Read Less

Dirty Carpet

By

July 06, 2021

club

The staff at check in were nice. The parking had a bunch of homeless around the parking lot. The carpet in the room should have been removed about 10 years ago. It was filthy. We checked in late after a long day at Sea World. We had booked the room a few days before. The sheets were clean. The room was rundown and way outdated. Needs a facelift. Even though the Covid restrictions had been lifted they didn’t offer breakfast, even though it’s advertised. Everywhere were have been at least offered continental. It was the worst stay we have ever had.

Read More
Read Less

This facility is filthy

By

June 03, 2021

I was by my self during the stay when I had an accident in the shower, and I suffer a slip and fall – the shower floor is very slippery- the hotel does not provide a floor matt
After the fall I crawled to the phone to request a towel to dry myself since I used all the towels to be able to get up on my knees from the lower back pain I endure from the fall.
I waited for over an hour and the towel never arrive I also asked if the provide assistance with over the counter medication such as Tylenol or Advil, they say NO nor they would assist me in getting some for me, while a 7 eleven store was right in the corner.
Is been a week and I am still hurting taking anti-inflammatory medication. If this situation continues, I will be seeking medical care on Saturday June 5th.

The facility is filthy, I took some pictures to provide I am not sure what happened to the Holiday Inn attention to detail to the facility and their clients.

Read More
Read Less

The absolute worst, still disgusted and worried about our health after this stay!

By

April 11, 2021

club

Literally as bad as it gets! The hallways are filled with cigarette smoke and marijuana, the carpets look like they have never ever been replaced or even cleaned in 50 years, and the stains make you wonder what on earth has died or used the bathroom on the floors and furniture! The staff’s response to smoke filled dirty disgusting rooms is “yea some people smoke in the room, we have a spray you can use if you want.”
No screens in windows, unsafe room.
I had no option to leave, we were there out of town for a child’s sport competition and there was no where else to stay those nights. But honestly it was a total health hazard to be in those rooms! I would love to post photos, but will need to do so elsewhere as google won’t allow me to attach any here.

Read More
Read Less

THIEVES

By

March 05, 2020

Everything about this hotel was fine except for the staff. Our cleaning lady stole our Apple Watch and when we asked her she ignored us and walked away. We tried to explain to management and got a similar response, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone! But if you must stay lock everything of value up!!!!!

Read More
Read Less

Terrible Experience

By

October 05, 2019

We stayed at this hotel and had a TERRIBLE experience. We will never be back. It was dirty, the room was wrong, and all around was an experience that will cause us to never go back!
We got there and checked in shortly after checkin time started. We got put in this corner room of the hotel that was dirty, there were stains on the floors and the chair in the room. There was a terrible smell, the bathroom had a crack in the mirror, the tile floor had a big crack, the closet door was broken, and it was one king bed - we booked a room with two king beds. When we got back to the hotel later that night, I asked to be put in a room with two king beds - which is what we booked and she said they didn't have any of those rooms available and didn't have any other rooms available except for a queen. I told her we paid for a room with two kings and she said that they all cost the same amount - this isn't true. I told her I wasn't willing to stay in anything but what we booked and she told me at that point that she did have a room with a king, but would have to move someone else around... so essentially the hotel WAY overbooked themselves and couldn't accomodate what guests had booked. I told her we would take it, because it was closer than a queen and it got out us out of our terrible dirty and stinky room. Our new room was still nothing to write home about, atleast it was a little more clean and didn't have the bad smell, but the curtains had rips in them, there were still stains on the floor and the air conditioner was so loud you would have to yell to talk (this was the case in both rooms). The hotel all around was very dirty. Needless to say, this was not a great experience and for what we paid, was absolutely not worth it! We didn't even get what we paid for. I would also say that the location was not the most safe, if you get there after dark, most of the parking spots are taken and you have to park in the back of the hotel where there are people wondering around all hours of the night...The plugs in the lamps didn't work, so there were only select outlets in the room that worked. New people were moved into our old room within 10 minutes, which shows that they had not cleaned the room in between, which was really concerning for us as we moved into our new room, not knowing if it had truly been cleaned or who was in there before us.

Read More
Read Less

I can't believe this is an IHG Hotel!

By

August 11, 2019

platinumelite

On August 7, 2019 I used 20,000 points to stay at an IHG APPROVED hotel. I can’t believe this is an IHG Hotel. I will try to explain my disappointment and I wonder why this hotel at La Mesa, CA is IHG approved?
When we arrived there, the first thing I noticed was large cobwebs hanging off to the right corner above the registration desk and off to the left was a maintenance man cleaning up large spill (15ft) on floor he was shuffling the news paper with his feet through whatever was spilled on the floor. Although he did acknowledge us unlike the woman behind the registration counter. We stood there for about ten minutes before she blurted our, “Do you have a question?” Hesitant we checked in, as it was too late for me to cancel our reservation.

The Hotel smelled like Pine-Sol, but not in a pleasant way. Upon getting into the elevator that waft out this smell of old wet dog, to the point of my partner almost dry heaved.

Making our way to the room 316, we opened the door. Still smelling that pine-sol with a mixture of old cigarettes we went inside.

The toilet seat was too small for the toilet in and it would shift when you sat on it.

There are stains on the carpet, not small stains, big dark, gross kind of stains, between the bed and desk. There are stains on the chair at the desk. Yellow-ish chair with brownish stains. Dark stains on a yellow seat like it wasn’t clean.

The windows were so dirty when you looked out it was looking through a fog you could see the dirt caking down to the windows.

We had booked 2 nights here. Needless to say we checked out the next day. The environment wasn’t and didn’t feel clean. We had booked 2 nights here. We changed and went up to Del Mar which was 1000% better. I was told I would be credited for the stay and am still waiting

Read More
Read Less

Amazing staff and comfortable bed

By

October 16, 2014

club

I was greeted with a smile as soon as I walked in the lobby. Staff was very friendly and personable. The room was very nice and the beds were amazing. The convenience and quality of food at the on-site restaurant was perfect. I would highly recommend the Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa.

Read More
Read Less

Definitely worth considering

By

October 15, 2014

Superb staff (Joshua in particular)
Superb bed - very comfortable
Excellent location - hire a car and you are minutes away from the freeway.
The restaurant provided very good, tasty meals

The only couple of gripes I had were:
The ice machine in the corridor was very noisy
During my stay UPS lorry drivers parked round the side of the hotel and started up very early in the morning

Read More
Read Less

Great location, Comfy bed, Wonderful Customer Service

By

October 09, 2014

platinumelite

Nice property; easy parking; great staff at the front desk; comfortable bed and bedding; good storage in closet and dresser; nice guest bathroom; air conditioning could have been a little bit colder; and workout facility could have used towels.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your great review. I am so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry to hear that we did not have replenished towels in the fitness area. I will be sure to talk to my Executive Housekeeper to ensure there our fresh towels in the fitness room every morning. Hospitably, Greg Williams Hotel Manager
Read More
Read Less

Good for the value

By

October 05, 2014

platinumelite

If you're on a budget, this hotel is good. Geographic location is great. Always ask for extra pillows as they're very small and not supportive.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 07, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review. For future sake, we do have two types of pillows, firm and soft. We put two of each on the guest beds but feel free to ask for all firm if that is your preference. Thank you again for your review and I hope to see you on your next trip to San Diego. Hospitably, Greg Williams Hotel Manager
Read More
Read Less