Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
91%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.2

based on 419 reviews
91%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

419reviews

  • 5 Stars
    194
  • 4 Stars
    140
  • 3 Stars
    51
  • 2 Stars
    23
  • 1 Stars
    11

Terrible experience

By

September 14, 2021

booked a 2 night stay at Lancaster Holiday Inn using priority points as a Spire elite member,
On trying to communicate with the hotel regarding my reservation to ensure the correct amounts of beds were in the room I encountered a problem. Over the course of 3 days I rang the reception number a number of times over the course of each day up until 10pm at night and the phone was never answered.
On arrival we were told about the booking system for the swimming pool, we went to gym to book pool to be told it was booked out for the whole day of our first day/night.
The reason we chose this hotel over an express in another location was so that my family could enjoy the pool and facilities.
There is no mention on your website that this booking system is in place so no way I could have planned for this and given the fact that phones were not answered would not have been able to book ahead anyway.
We then asked about evening meal we were told a wedding was taking place and there was limited spaces, we asked to see menu and were told to scan the QR code which we tried this did not work. Went to room thinking this would be something we could do there but not available in rooms.
Hence we chose to find somewhere to eat out.
On returning to the hotel approx 10.30pm we attempted to go to bed there was a lot of noise and then we were woke from sleep between 11.30 to 12.30 pm to children running up and down the corridors repeatedly.
We spoke to the children numerous times and asked them to stop it.
We rang down to reception again difficulties getting someone to answer but subsequently got someone to answer on one of the other lines and informed them of the problem they said they would have a look. Still it continued so s further call was made when I told them it was still happening to be told they had come and looked and could not see any children.
I then went down to reception to get someone to sort this.
We managed to get a booking for the pool the following morning and what a run down dirty place we found. The toilet shower facilities are in such a bad state black mold, sticking of damp on entry, showers that do not work and only let a trickle of water out.
Guests paying £200 pounds per night for this it is disgusting something that would be expected in a run down backpackers hostel.
See attached pictures.
In the morning we had booked for breakfast it was like a cattle market we had the 8.30 slot there was far too many people all there at the same time touching everything. Whilst I note there was gel on the tables did not see anyone using it during our time.
Bread was in bags but croissants were free to be handled by all which was what was happening.
The cups for juice were difficult to pull apart and hence required touching more than your own.
Why plastic cups? Glasses can be used far better, no need to touch all others and far better for the environment. That we should all be working hard to conserve.
We also noted that our beds had not even been made properly and that only a couple of the pillows actually had pillow cases on them.
Again not good from point of view hygiene and infection control.
I spoke to the reception about my disappointment in this hotel.
I have stayed in many hotels and none so bad like this.
The experience was so bad I cancelled my second night.
I would like the issues I mention in this complaint actioned and compensation given to myself for wasting almost 50000 of my points on a terrible experience at this holiday Inn.
I also have emailed the manager this complaint and a senior person in IHG and almost 2 weeks later have not received a response from anyone

Read More
Read Less

Business trip

By

October 19, 2014

club

Hotel is dated, needs refurbished. Recently stayed in a HIE in Augsburg, Germany and the room was much more comfortable than this hotel.

Read More
Read Less

Again great stay at Holiday Inn

By

October 18, 2014

club

We met my nephews who are studying Lancaster University. We had a fantastic dinner at the hotel, service and food excellent.
Great pool.
The room was, as usual, really clean and comfortable and very modern.
Breakfast was terrific.
But most of all the staff were so helpful and happy.

Read More
Read Less

great location

By

October 17, 2014

Excellent hotel. Location is brilliant. We loved the riverside walk into Lancaster and the hotel's leisure facilities.

Breakfast was very good and evening meal also. We stayed for 2 nights and were very pleased. Motorway noise was not an issue and the view from the room over the river Lune was good.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 22, 2014
Dear BigMac99 What lovely feedback - thank you for your comments and 5-star rating. The Holiday Inn Lancaster does benefit from a great riverside location as you mention, and we are often used as a base to visit the city, coast and countryside! We will look forward to welcoming you back should you choose to visit the area again. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Fantastic friendly staff

By

October 15, 2014

The hotel is very relaxing, in a great position. The highlight of our stay was the friendliness of all the staff from the cleaning staff to reception staff.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 22, 2014
Dear Zigel Thank you for the positive content. Particularly pleasing is your reference to the staff being the highlight of your stay, and I will share your wonderful comments with the whole team. We look forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Comfortable room

By

October 14, 2014

club

Very comfortable room. Swimming pool clean. Nice and Friendly staff throughout.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Dear Wender Thank you for the wonderful 5-star rating - that means a lot to me and the team here at Holiday Inn Lancaster. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Good on the major points

By

October 14, 2014

club

The room was large, clean and comfortable. The hotel was fresh and light. Overall it was a pleasant place to stay. However the internet speed is appalling (the complimentary offering). And a reported problem with the TV went unfixed despite 2 reports.
Generally though it is a good hotel and would be happy to stay there again and recommend it (unless you need good internet)

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Dear Dave133 Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and for your recommendation. I am delighted that you say you would stay here again and I hope it won't be too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Great alternative

By

October 12, 2014

club

What a great alternative to the usual motorway services. Just off the M6 by few hundred yards and priced very comparable to budget hotels in the area. This is no budget hotel. Here we have a very good hotel with quality food, comfortable rooms and excellent leisure facilities (Pool and Gym) and plenty of quiet areas to just chill out or read.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 15, 2014
Dear Millfieldman I am delighted you appreciated your accommodation here at Holiday Inn Lancaster. We endeavour to provide a high standard of accommodation at very reasonable rates resulting in excellent value for money, so your comments are very pleasing to read. I do hope you will choose to stay with us again. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Staff and room

By

October 10, 2014

Very impressed with the staff and room. When we arrived we must have inadvertently chosen a twin room when booking on the internet, the receptionist asked us if we wanted a double and changed it. The receptionist also greeted us questioningly with our surname must have been because we were the only couple booking in but it made a nice touch.
The room was large and comfortable overlooking the river.
We required two more pillows and within 5 minutes of asking they arrived.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 15, 2014
Dear Chubley warner What a wonderful review - thank you so much! Our aim is to make our guests' stays enjoyable and I am delighted we achieved it in this case. I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Very Relaxing

By

October 09, 2014

club

Had a very good rest ,hotel was very quiet and well managed . Have stopped here before and would do so again.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 15, 2014
Dear daffodil1 I love to hear when guests come back to stay and I am happy you have enjoyed another great stay at our hotel. I hope it won't be too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Breakfast

By

October 08, 2014

club

A bit of variety in breakfast can be included. It was rather not very pleasant to see the same breakfast each day.
Apart from that, the stay was very nice and we enjoyed the in-room service menu.
Staff were very courteous and friendly.
Though it h's nothing to do with the property, bus access to the hotel is quite limited. Of course, taxis were a call away though.
Will return to stay in the same property during the next visit to Lancaster.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 15, 2014
Dear Naman Thank you for posting a review, however I was a little disappointed with your comments regarding breakfast choice. Our guests can choose from a wide range of cooked items at our full English buffet, with everything from sausages and bacon, to grilled tomatoes, hash browns and black pudding. Or if they fancy a lighter option, there's our fully stocked cereal bar, which includes a variety of fresh fruit, yoghurt, and unlimited juice (orange, apple or cranberry). They'll also find a selection of fresh baguettes, English muffins, pastries and, of course, the very popular pancakes with a choice of toppings! Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Staff- lovely - very helpful in all aspects

By

October 07, 2014

club

Room was clean, but sooooo cold- despite following instructions to turn on radiator, I was informed at desk heating does not come on till 18.00 - however within five minutes I had a portable heater, very much appreciated.( heating never came on at 18.00!

All staff were very very helpful, especially girls and guys in restaurant.

Food average , nothing outstanding-

If needed to return to area would use again, because now we know what it is like.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 15, 2014
Dear Bumblebeequill Thank you for posting a review, We do monitor weather conditions and adjust the temperature settings accordingly; however I can see from your comments that we didn't quite get it right during your stay. I am pleased to see that we were able to supply a portable heater to warm your room as a temporary measure. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager
Read More
Read Less