Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
71%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

3.7

based on 349 reviews
71%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

349reviews

  • 5 Stars
    130
  • 4 Stars
    95
  • 3 Stars
    49
  • 2 Stars
    46
  • 1 Stars
    29

STAY AWAY!!!

By

November 19, 2021

club

We had a bad experience from the time we checked in. There was only one person at the front desk, and there was a line of at least 10 families, so check in took about an hour. We got to the room, and it smelled extremely smoky in what is supposed to be a nonsmoking hotel and wasn’t fully cleaned as there were wet stains on the floor and no toilet paper. They were able to get us a different room in about 30 minutes which smelled MUCH cleaner. We went for a quick dinner, and when we came back, the bathroom was leaking from the ceiling, and there was green water all over the sink and floor. My husband touched the ceiling tile, and it flooded all over him. . He vacuumed up the water and told us there was algae that blocked the a/c duct and he cleaned it out and now it’s fine. He did nothing to sanitize the bathroom, so it was still moldy and sticky, and the water continued to leak from behind the mirror all night. No towels were replaced either. The hotel was definitely dated, dirty, dusty, and there were cracks in the bathroom tile. It has not been well maintained. The room was extremely loud with drag racers on the street the entire night, so we did not get any sleep at all. The pool was drained except for a little slimy, green water, but we would not have trusted pool deck anyway, as it was trashed with cracks all over. It wasn’t mentioned that the pool was out of service. We expected more from a Holiday Inn, as others have been much better quality. We contacted the hotel after the stay about some sort of discount, and they said they would refund part of our stay, but it has never happened despite multiple calls. We definitely will not be coming back to this location and will tell others to avoid it as well.

Read More
Read Less

Leaky Ceiling, Dirty Room, & Rude Staff

By

September 09, 2021

club

This is the worst Holiday Inn hotel I’ve ever stayed at. The valet staff and one older lady I wish I could remember the name of were the ONLY positives to this hotel. Don’t pay more for a city view, because you will be looking out over a bunch of rooftops of rundown buildings and an abandoned pool. There was also water leaking from the ceiling all over us any time we were in the tiny bathroom. The door constantly jammed because the safety lock was broken. The staff (other than the ones mentioned already) was incredibly rude. Nothing was done to accommodate our awful room conditions. It was such a bad trip that my family only stayed 1 of our 2 nights that we booked.

Read More
Read Less

Smelled

By

August 24, 2021

club

The hotel lobby and our room smelled. The pool is closed but looks like trash and needs cleaned up. Our room faced the pool so we looked out our window we saw the pool. Wish we would have spent the extra money and stayed at the Peabody Hotel.

Read More
Read Less

Worst stay in Memphis yet!

By

August 17, 2021

Checked in 8/1 around 4:00pm (mom, dad and 3yr old) for a 1 night stay on route to the Gulf. First assigned room 853. Got off the elevator on 8th floor, walked around trash spread up and down hallway until we found our room with the door wide open. Proceeded in, beds were made but no vacuuming had been done, in the room or hallway.

Went back down to lobby to get a room that had already been cleaned. Now assigned room 850, we headed back upstairs and around disgusting hallway trash to a room that was COMPLETELY DIRTY, no housekeeping started.

Proceeded back to lobby, bags in tow and 3yr old with masks on. Husband goes to counter to get a 3rd room. As I wait, the “manager” sits on her stool gossiping to another worker about coronavirus and kids school in fall all while 2 more families have come to check in. I approach her, exhausted and frustrated and ask to speak to the manager. She responds with “I’m the best your going to get”. I expressed my frustration and described the experience, she blamed her recent shirt start for lack of housekeeping and communication. After 20 minutes later we have a 3rd room. Housekeeping escorts us to the room to “check if it’s to our approval” - like loose the sarcasm at this point!

At first I thought the room hadn’t been vacuumed either, then I realized it was just the hotel. I looked around and the hotel was just gross. The housekeeping was bare minimum at this point and we were in a motel. Not an experience that was depicted on the website or that we were used to in our travels. I proceeded to say thank you closed the door. My 3yr old now hungry and no turning back to being safe in the pandemic we’re here, “manager” can’t issue a refund anyways so here we go.

I took pictures to post to Yelp, socials and any other travel website so families don’t experience the lack of cleanliness, lack of customer service and just overall terrible hotel experience as we had. The best part was the valet - he was worth double tipping! So, sharing the pictures of the food on the floor under bedding and in bathroom. The built up mold and water deposit in shower. Nasty kids stickers on windows. Water dripping from ceiling. Nasty “dirt” smears on the walls and stained sheets. Finally the thermostat, around 8pm maintenance came to change out thermostat he said was “froze up” as it wouldn’t cool below 74!

Read More
Read Less

Nasty Hotel

By

August 04, 2021

I have stayed at many Holiday Inn locations, but this one was horrible, and not a good representation of this hotel chain. I was there on the weekend of July 4. We had a total of 4 rooms because we had to be moved repeatedly. Room 1: bed bug bites and no AC, hole in the bathroom wall, dirty, hair on the towels and in the sink and tub. The manager Susan suggested I brought the bugs to the hotel. She was very rude. Room 2: no AC, dirty, hair on the towels, spent about 15 min in this room before being moved. Room 3: The door didn't close properly, dirty, potato chips on the floor behind the lounging chair - I bet my last dollar it's still there. Basically the 7th floor is nasty. Room. Room 4 on 9th floor: AC too cold, couldn't control it, dirty. All rooms smelled like cigarettes and weed.

Other people were complaining at the desk as well. They know this hotel is nasty then get mad when people complain. It's run down and needs remodeling. Susan said she couldn't offer a partial or full refund because I booked with a 3rd party. She said she would send a voucher for a future stay. More than 1 month later, I have not heard from her. She assured me she had my contact information (showed it to me) and since she works in the finance office, she would be the one to issue the voucher. If it is for the same location, she can keep it. We will never stay here again.

Read More
Read Less

Wish a Better Experience

By

July 12, 2021

First time traveling post Covid-19 pandemic; was looking to relax poolside to kill time until evening festivities on Beale Street.

Disappointed by pool period; the fact that it was not available, maintained, nor cleaned. Looked like a molded septic pool from window view in room 851.

Though room had mini fridge which was good, there no microwave and ice machine on floor was broken.

Read More
Read Less

WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE

By

June 02, 2021

The only good thing about this hotel was the location. Close to Beale Street and other hotspots. Otherwise my stay was very unsatisfactory. The room (#1253) had no hot water. There was an odd smell throughout the hotel. My reservation included breakfast, but if I had not acted a little haughty I would have been charged at breakfast. The hotel is very noisy......not from party-goers, just a loud humming noise the entire time. And to top it off, the elevators were not working on our last day. We had to haul our luggage from the 12th floor down to lobby. I was not impressed with anything about this place I WILL NOT BE BACK.

Read More
Read Less

Horrible/Natsy

By

May 25, 2021

Horrible and will never stay there again. Let’s just say the staff was more professional on the phone. I had 13 rooms reserved and had 30 adults, 14 children, and two infants traveling. I had been communicating with guest service Ms. Olivia Ocean who was a blessing, very professional during the two month planning. However, once we arrived we were dealing with two very unprofessional staff, one who we were told was the boss. Anyway, several rooms were not ready which was fine, instead of holding our luggage they gave us about 7 rooms that were dirty , nasty, and had other guest items in the room. Rooms that they informed us were clean, sheets had smeared and yellow stains, food and hair in the bed. 2 rooms were leaking from the ceiling and had the floor wet, tub did not work. The older lady at the front desk who I was told was supervisor was rude, not friendly and tried to get with me but I had to show her how to be professional in a nice nasty way. Anyway, we arrived to the hotel around 12:30 pm and everyone was not settled into a room until about 6:30 pm. We had to wait on the floor with luggage abs watch the staff clean. Please don’t stay here, I would like to give a shout out to Dennis, valet guy, Olivia and Ms. Rose. They were very helpful, professional and very caring to our family. We were not pleased but we made the best of it. The stay was our only downfall. We will be back but not at the Holiday Inn Downtown Memphis

Read More
Read Less

Renovations and better service

By

February 17, 2021

Upon arrival, I was shocked to see the lobby in such disarray. There were various items (including a plugged in hair dryer) stacked behind the front desk. The attendants didn’t have on masks. The valet guys were very kind. However I recommend parking elsewhere because $25 for valet parking in their small garage doesn’t seem worth it. The room could be renovated. The tiles on the ceiling looked worn and outdated. The room could've been way cleaner. We didn’t even have a fitted sheet on our bed, just two flat sheets which I didn’t understand at all. Also, I’m assuming the guests before us used their finger to draft a cute message in the steam on the glass door in the bathroom because when I took a shower, I could still their message. This lets me know housekeeping doesn’t clean that part of the bathroom. No telling what else they don’t clean. There are no microwaves in the room which I didn’t know. Everyone in the hotel uses the one microwave in the lobby and it was dirty every time we used it. I know it’s not being sanitized regularly. We brought our firestick but the TV remotes don’t allow you to change the input settings even though the TVs have hdmi hookups. I think this hotel is more for business travels not leisure. Walgreens is within walking distance and it’s close to many attractions and great food. Otherwise I wouldn’t recommend.

Read More
Read Less

Awesome Service

By

January 21, 2020

Our stay was great from beginning to end. We pulled up and Dennis (valet) immediately met us at our car, showed us to check in and grabbed a luggage cart. We had excellent service from our front desk clerk Charity throughout our stay. Answered all of our questions and provided great suggestions. Thanks to Mr. Daniel (security) and Mr. Manuel (security) for shuttling us around and making us feel safe. Thanks to Heathcliff (GSM) for his hospitality. Thank to Ms. Rose (lobby) for always having the lobby stocked with fresh coffee and cream. Snack bar was always stocked. Thank you Holiday Inn. You guys were great!

Read More
Read Less

Great downtown hotel option

By

November 07, 2019

I regularly visit Memphis to visit family and have stayed a variety of hotels downtown and east of downtown. This was our first time at the Holiday Inn downtown. We chose it because the rate was much lower than other hotels nearby.
This is our new "go-to" hotel when needing to stay downtown.
The staff was especially friendly and helpful - so very kind. We opted for the valet parking and we were not disappointed. Those guys had to retrieve and park our car several times for us, and never one time complained and were always courteous and helpful. I hope this company will recognize them as a group because they so well represented your brand. Excellent.
The room was very, very comfortable - the beds were perfect. The Heat / AC short-cycle somewhat during the night, but it was not a distraction to rest. We did not eat or drink at the hotel because of options with family, but there was traffic there which usually is a good sign.
It was a great trip made even greater by those working at this property. Thank you!

Read More
Read Less

Great staff

By

October 01, 2019

I just stayed at this location this past week. The staff couldn't have been better. Very helpful and full of local information. Heathcliff and the others were very helpful with the shuttle. Union Avenue itself was very loud at night with vehicle traffic. I'd still prefer to the front of the building despite the noise. Super close to Beale Street and I'd suggest you get over there as often as possible. I didn't eat in the hotel and the pool is not really much to look at unless you're bringing kids. Overall a really pleasant stay.

Read More
Read Less