Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
89%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.3

based on 463 reviews
89%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

463reviews

  • 5 Stars
    267
  • 4 Stars
    112
  • 3 Stars
    45
  • 2 Stars
    27
  • 1 Stars
    12

Rough start

By

November 02, 2021

We had called prior to our visit to see about dropping off our luggage when we were informed we could do an early check in before 1pm for a small fee. Our flight arrived to Nashville at 6:30am, so we went to the hotel planning to check in early for the extra fee. We had arrive a little after 7am and spoke with a female at the front who advised the early check in for the small fee is after 9am. No big deal, we walk to the hotel restaurant to get some breakfast. Great service and good food at the restaurant. We finished up a bit early but hang in the lobby until 9am. We walked up to the same lady to inquire about the room. She then proceeded to tell us that the cleaners do not come until 9am. I am pretty upset at this point, but we left our luggage and decided to go walk around downtown. We took the hotel shuttle which was an amazing amenity. James was our primary driver the whole weekend and he was great. I don’t recall all the drivers name but they were honestly all amazing. So after wandering downtown for a few hours and having brunch, we decide to call the hotel as it’s about 2pm at this point, the room has got to be ready! So we call and speak with a male who advises it’s not ready yet but he will put a rush in so it should be ready by the time we get there. We arrive at the hotel about 30 minutes later, and speak with the same female we spoke with at 7am. She said our room was not ready and did not have a timeframe, possibly an hour. I sit down for a minute because at this point I’m fuming. We walked up to another desk and spoke to a male and he apologized and says he will put a rush in right away and let us know. We sit in the lobby and he comes over about 10 minutes later and says they have a double queen room available even though we had booked a king deluxe room. I’m fine with it at this point, I just want a nap. The male offered us free breakfast for the next day for the inconvenience. I work in the customer service industry so I appreciated the attempt to turn things around. The original girl should not be the face of the hotel because she really did not make a good first impression. We get into the room and it’s pretty standard. Small balcony which was nice, fairly clean. The elevator ran pretty quick which was nice. Overall it was a decent experience other than the original encounter.

Read More
Read Less

Ant Infestation

By

September 19, 2021

Overall our stay was great . . . location is excellent, staff is attentive and knowledgable . . . and the room was comfortable.
The shuttle driver(s) encountered were prompt and personable as well.
There was a problem at the end as we were getting our things together to check out & leave the property.
We had both placed the hotel-provided pillows on the floor of room near the bed and, upon picking them up, my wife found 'a bunch of ants' crawling all over the pillow cases on her side of the bed (the right side as seen from the end).
She brushed the ants off and placed the pillows back on the bed . . . and checked a pillow case we use to collect dirty clothes along with an open utility bag which contained road-trip snacks. Ants were found on both and she emptied both and cleaned as best she could before leaving. Later in the day ants were found on both the pillow case and utility bag as we travelled. Hopefully we got them all but, just in case, the car is to be detailed this week!
A note was sent to 'customer care' to advise of the infestation of the ants.

Read More
Read Less

Excellent staff

By

September 18, 2021

I cannot praise the staff of this hotel enough,from patrick at the door to James and all the shuttle drivers to the restaurant staff,you all made me and my wife feel at home,great location and the staff will inform you of the area,from where to eat breakfast to local places to visit,I felt like we got a five star stay,again I thank your staff and the awesome personalities,mike from pa

Read More
Read Less

We came to avoid traffic for a morning surgery

By

August 14, 2020

The room was dirty! The carpet had huge stains, grime was built up along the baseboards and in the big gaps between the baseboards and floor, and there what appeared to be splattered soda dripped down the walls.

I could ignore the overpriced underwhelming breakfast; since the executive lounge was a closed and I had kids to feed I decided to order from the kitchen downstairs. Turns out I should have just taken them to McDonald’s but I wasn’t about to cross West End with two small children. The outdoor pool was also freezing in the height of summer but that might not be the hotels fault, but the dirtiness was unforgivable.

Read More
Read Less

Vacation

By

October 21, 2019

This hotel is just ok, very old hotel and it needs a total makeover, although pretty clean all over, the carpet in the room is very dirty. and should be replaced a long long time ago! .. and if your very large you might not fit in the tiny bathroom, never see a hotel bathroom so little...

But I would have to give this hotel a 10 just due to their STAFF, what wonderful employees, so kind and helpful and I cant say enough about the shuttle bus drivers, especially Feridine and Richard, wow great guys! They work hard and hope they are compensated well for all they do.

The cost is a little much for the stay at this hotel but its close to a lot of things, little secret is a food joint called Hog Heaven, right across the street behind McDonalds, its delicious food so try it out.. and sweetest owner ever..

Be sure and go to the Ryman and Grand Ole Opry. Its worth every penny... Enjoy! and Holiday Inn Vandebilt remodel, refresh and keep the same employees and you will have an outstanding hotel.

Read More
Read Less

what a great stay!

By

September 29, 2019

I thought I had wanted to stay closer to downtown, but this was all I could find. I am SO glad I did! This is a great hotel, with very nice staff, a comfy bed and a wonderful shuttle service available most of the day and evening. Ray, the driver was so kind and accessible. Eric at the front desk, very friendly and helpful.
I was so happy to see the mattress in the room encased with a zippered cover for extra protection against anything that might crawl around in a hotel room. Lots of towels were available. We were very pleased with the location, as well. Thanks for a great stay!

Read More
Read Less

The BEST experience

By

September 03, 2019

Logan at the front desk was such a delight! He was so friendly and always had a positive attitude. My husband and I were on our honeymoon and felt so welcomed! The rest of the staff was so wonderful as well!

The rooms were clean and very comfortable! The outdoor pool was fantastic and the views of Vanderbilt campus and field were amazing!

Read More
Read Less

Nashville Spectacular - Great Property

By

August 05, 2019

Our hockey team has been going to Nashville for the past 18 years for a tournament - we discovered the HI Vanderbilt about 10 years ago and come back every year! The staff there Megan and Bekah worked with me on the team reservation and did a great job accompanying all our request. A HUGE thank you to the concierge James who goes way out of his way to make you feel like home! James is so customer-centric and is always checking in with our team to make sure we're taken care of! He's one of the major reasons we come back each year. This property is just outside of the downtown bars but the convenient shuttle drops you off close and will shuttle you back safely! The pool is great with toys and ample amounts of sun and shade areas. Overall a wonderful place to stay and I would strongly recommend!

Read More
Read Less

Perfect for my daughter’s Nashville wedding

By

July 11, 2019

Great hotel for family/friends attending wedding. Everyone loved the hotel. Great location across from the park. We were also able to get together in comfortable lobby, restaurant & pool. Plenty of self parking was great for those who drove. Thank you to the wonderful concierge who made the brides room special the night before her wedding with her bridesmaids & then again on her wedding night, it was perfect.

Read More
Read Less

Points vacation

By

May 04, 2019

A couple getaway on accrued points we chose Nashville Vanderbilt with the platinum points.... This facility was excellent!! There are numerous eateries within walking distance and the “Commodore” on-site was outstanding.... Songwiters night was terrific and the Jerry Foster performance was one of our getaway highlights
... Many reasons too choose this facility on our next visit, but beyond a doubt is the shuttle services!! The service is convenient, professional, and prompt! A special shoutout to Richard for his local onsite and bringing us safely around during our visit.. Thank You All. Peter and Tracy

Read More
Read Less

Friendly staff

By

October 19, 2014

Great staff. The hotel had signs saying it is scheduled to be renovated. But that did not help us. If they do a major renovation and replace all carpets, heating and air conditioning units and update the halls, this could be a great place to stay.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey. We are glad you enjoyed our staff. We are going to begin our renovation in November, and will be refreshing all of our rooms, as well as the lobby and restaurant, halls and a/c units. We hope you will stay at the Holiday Inn Vanderbilt on your next visit.
Read More
Read Less

handicap accessible

By

October 18, 2014

club

need handicap accessible shower and bath room!!!!!!!

Posted byHotelStaff
October 22, 2014
Thank you for your comments.
Read More
Read Less