Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
72%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

3.6

based on 119 reviews
72%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

119reviews

  • 5 Stars
    34
  • 4 Stars
    43
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    13

safsadas

By

November 22, 2017

club

saasfsdfasdffqeretwetesfreasfrwedsfsdfsadfsdgdfasdfasfFADSFASFS

Read More
Read Less

Good Hotel but Not Great

By

October 17, 2014

Excellent Location
Stayed here several times recently
Hotel is in need of brightening up
Mature Staff in Restaurant during Breakfast Service but tends to be less than experienced in the evening.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post an online review following your most recent stay at the hotel. I was pleased to learn that you enjoy the hospitality my colleagues provide in particular the breakfast crew. Once again thank you for your feedback and continued custom. Kind Regards Dermot Keegan – General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Poor Value for money

By

October 16, 2014

club

Shabby smelly room, unhelpful staff. High price and unacceptable price for breakfast. Couldn't even make a cup of tea as the milks were just solid.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review in regard to your recent stay. First and foremost please accept my sincere apologies we did not meet your expectations of a Holiday Inn. The issues you highlight we shall endeavour to improve so that others are not inconvenienced as you were. Once again please accept my apologies and gratitude for bringing the matter to my attention and do trust that despite this experience you will continue to use other IHG hotels throughout the world. Once again thank you for your custom and feedback. KInd regards, Dermot Keegan – General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Recent hotel stay

By

October 11, 2014

club

I stayed recently and I was extremely happy with the stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They made my stay enjoyable and nothing was a trouble to them. The bedroom was comfortable and clean and the food was good. I would recommend this hotel.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post an online review following your stay at the hotel. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed the hospitality of my colleagues throughout the hotel and food and accommodation were to your liking. Once again thank you for your feedback and custom. Kind Regards Dermot Keegan – General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Good base for travelling

By

October 06, 2014

club

We arrived from New Zealand and wanted a base for a number of visits planned in the area - while the hotel and rooms were showing signs of their age - it did not spoil our stay - and would stay again if the opportunity arose.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 08, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post an online review following your stay at the hotel whilst using us as a base for visiting the area. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and would return when next in the area. Once again thank you for your feedback and custom and trust you had a safe return journey to New Zealand. Kind Regards Dermot Keegan – General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Stay for cycling training at velodrome

By

October 04, 2014

This motel was entirely satisfactory for my 5-day stay while I was participating in bicycle training sessions at the Newport velodrome.

The room was large, pleasant and easily accessible. Desk staff and staff in the restaurant were consistently friendly and helpful. The breakfast and dinner buffet style service offered good choices.

There was a serious problem with the wifi service and the staff provided an effective work-around for that.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 07, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post an online review following your stay at the hotel whilst attending a training camp. I was pleased to learn that your room and menu choices were to your liking and hospitality and problem solving solutions provided by my colleagues was memorable. Once again thank you for your feedback and custom. Kind Regards Dermot Keegan – General Manager
Read More
Read Less

good location

By

October 03, 2014

club

just off M4 on edge of Newport. Rather tired in appearence, on the outside, and indeed this impression was confirmed indoors as well. In need of some TLC to rectify carpets with holes and ill hung curtains in bedroom. No traffic noise in bedroom at back of hotel: would thoes at the front be as quiet?
Attentive, helpful waiting staff at meal times, but even they could not make up for bland dishes at dinner with overcooked vegetables.
Breakfast was the best meal we had.
The self service system was not the easiest for guests with mobility problems to cope with at mealtimes

Posted byHotelStaff
October 06, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review in regard to your recent stay at the hotel. On a positive note I was pleased to learn the room and service provided met your expectations. I note your comments in regard to bland food from the buffet and would assure anyone with accessible needs that my colleagues are more than happy to help if requested to do so in order to make one’s stay more comfortable. Once again thank you for your custom and feedback which is valuable to us. Regards Dermot Keegan – General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Great service but Hotel needs a refurb

By

September 30, 2014

Hotel in need of modernisation, bed not very comfortable, breakfast satisfactory but hotel has great staff

Posted byHotelStaff
October 02, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post an online review following your stay at the hotel . I was pleased to learn that the hospitality provided by my colleagues is great. I note your comments on the comfort of the bed in your room. Once again thank you for your feedback and custom . Kind Regards Dermot Keegan – General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Relaxed business trip

By

September 26, 2014

The exterior is dated but the rooms have recently been updated, staff are great bar

Posted byHotelStaff
September 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post an online review following your stay at the hotel . I was delighted to learn that you found your room comfortable and the hospitality provided by colleagues especially in the bar great. Once again thank you for your feedback and custom. Kind Regards Dermot Keegan – General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Best Stay Ever

By

September 26, 2014

platinumelite

I have stayed at intercontinental hotel in London, stayed at crown plaza and was so disappointed to a point where I wanted to cancel my cards with them and move to another hotel. But the stay at the holiday inn in Newport restored my faith in that there are good people and good hotels out there.
We couldnt thank the staff enough for the great service provided for going beyond there call of duties to ensure we were comfortable.
We were made to feel spectacular and will most definitely be returning to this hotel the staff were very friendly and always there to listen and advise.
It was our sons first birthday, they also baked him a cake making it the most amazing experience ever

Thank you for everything Holiday Inn Newport

Posted byHotelStaff
September 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post an online review following your stay at the hotel . I was delighted to learn that my colleagues were able to make your son’s birthday memorable and restore your faith in our brands. Once again thank you for your feedback and custom and I look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards Dermot Keegan – General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Good Location

By

September 21, 2014

club

Being positive the hotel is well located adjacent to Motorway junction and is a campus style which is surprisingly quiet.

The staff were pleasant and helpful

However, you have to access the hotel through a smokers area which is an unpleasant start to your stay.

The hotel is very 70's/80's and the unrefurbished bedrooms are very dated.

Room had a very dated bathroom and furniture showing evidence of damp. There was also very limited electrical sockets which in current day is poor.

Some significant investment is required or strategic thought adopted on how this hotel is positioned in the future.

Posted byHotelStaff
September 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post an online review in regard to your recent stay at the hotel. First and foremost please accept my sincere apologies that you did not enjoy the experience. On a positive note I was pleased to learn that both the location and my colleagues met your expectations. In terms of the issues that had a negative impact on your stay we will work to resolve these in order to improve the overall guest experience. Once again please accept my apologies and gratitude for bringing the matter to my attention. Regards Dermot Keegan – General Manager
Read More
Read Less

Overall Good

By

September 21, 2014

Stayed here a few times, great location and convenient for Newport and Cardiff not far on motorway.
Staff great,friendly and helpful. The only thing is this hotel is becoming 'tired' particularly in the public areas of the restaurant,bar and reception and looks ready for refurbishment. As always with hotels its a continuous process to redecorate! but generally a good place to stay when travelling.

Posted byHotelStaff
October 02, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post an online review following your stay at the hotel last month . I was pleased to learn that the hospitality provided by my colleagues makes up for some issues you mentioned. Once again thank you for your feedback and custom and I look forward to welcome you back to the hotel yet again. Kind Regards Dermot Keegan – General Manager
Read More
Read Less