Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
78%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4

based on 233 reviews
78%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

233reviews

  • 5 Stars
    118
  • 4 Stars
    51
  • 3 Stars
    25
  • 2 Stars
    19
  • 1 Stars
    20

Disappointing cleanliness

By

September 24, 2021

club

Checking into our room, we immediately noticed that most visible surfaces looked grimy and dusty. We spent about 30 minutes cleaning ourselves but when we opened the microwave, that was the last straw. It was disgusting. We called the front desk and asked if we could get a clean room. They were apologetic and got us a different room right away. The second room was much better but we still saw some touch surfaces (especially the TV remote) that looked grimy and spent more time cleaning before we could feel comfortable. The staff that was available was very nice and helpful but we had to run to the front desk to get more towels.

Outdoors, the rear patio was a nice space, We spent quite a bit of time out there playing with our grandson, however, we had to spend some time picking up litter (lots of cigarette butts) to keep our grandson safe.

Read More
Read Less

Stay Away

By

April 01, 2021

In full disclosure I booked this room on Priceline and got a very good rate for what I thought would be a clean, comfortable, safe hotel. The experience was horrible and this is the first time I actually considered leaving a prepaid hotel and paying for another.
The hotel was filthy with trash all over the grounds-and not just a little trash. I would. It was unbelievable. No covid precautions in place. I never saw a single employee cleaning the common areas. The elevators were disgusting with hand prints all over the stainless steel in every elevator. They did not provide housekeeping service "due to covid" rooms were only cleaned every three days. Which would be acceptable if you were told that at check in but we were not. When I requested the room be cleaned, they agreed but then never did.
The door handle of the bathroom was falling off. A coil from the mattress was broken and sticking out from the side of the bed. There was leftover cheese popcorn under the bed (that did not belong to us.). No coffee in the room "due to covid".
Definitely not a quiet hotel. Children running in hallways nonstop past 10:00 PM. Very loud guests with absolutely no hotel etiquette. One night there was a couple outside the hotel arguing loudly with profanity. Even my teenagers declared that "this hotel sucks!".
Our room backed up to the elevator shaft and you could hear it room all night. The toilet has a slow leak and would randomly run water all night. I did not address these concerns with hotel staff as it was obvious they were only prepared to do the bare minimum to operate.
I shared my experience with others that are familiar with the Oakbrook Area and they were shocked that this they of experience happened, as am I. Never again!

Read More
Read Less

Disappointed

By

July 13, 2020

Hi, first of all the hotel allowed me to make a reservation for the Executive Suite for 1 adult and 3 kids but did not inform me that the sofa did not let out. I returned to the desk to ask for a roll away bed in which they stated that due to covid, they do not have any. That is understandable but that should have been stated on their website. I had to ask for blankets so that the kids could sleep on the floor. Moving to a smaller room wasn't not an option because I needed the space to move around freely, did not want to be cramped up. We were checked into both our rooms 721/723 and 722 when about 20 minutes later all the tvs go out in both rooms stating no signal. I called to the front desk where the young lady named Sol told me to unplug the tvs, plug back up and wait about 5 to 10 minutes for them to come back on. 5 minutes later they came back on only to turn off again stating no signal. My family went to dinner, we came back the tvs were on for 20 minutes then they shut off again. I went to the front desk where the young lady Sol was what I considered short and nonchalant about my experience and my money. I asked if I could transfer to another room, she stated that there was nothing she could do and that Comcast was remotely working on the signal (which I believe was a lie due to I phoned a nearby hotel and they were having no signal/tv issues). However, Natasha who also worked at the front desk offered to use her master key to see if the signal was going out in rooms nearby me as well. Our tvs continued to go out the entire stay. After 6pm, there was no manager on duty for me to speak with. I didn't catch any names but housekeeping on the 7th floor was great. The elevators are old and scary. They were getting stuck, doors not closing and when it did stop it just stood for a minute without doors opening or showing what floor you were on. My daytime experience with manager Althea Walker and Natasha was great, they both were friendly and accommodating.

Read More
Read Less

Nice service

By

June 02, 2020

club

Stayed may 30th ! it was peaceful and quiet the service was great also very close to stores and restaurants

Read More
Read Less

Remodeling

By

September 10, 2019

Was disappointed after checking in and finding rooms without comfortable bedside chairs. Ceiling were damaged and peeling paint. Nothing like the Beautiful pictures posted on web site. Would have preferred to know under construction before BOOKING!!!

Read More
Read Less

Oak Brook Leisure

By

October 20, 2014

club

The hotel rooms were recently remodeled and very nice and clean. The bar/restaurant was very good and reasonable. Service was excellent and check in/out was very efficient.

Read More
Read Less

Happy Guest

By

October 18, 2014

club

I have had the opportunity and pleasure of staying at this hotel previously. Both stays were very nice. The rooms were clean, comfortable and relaxing.

The hotel as a whole very clean and they staff very friendly. The restaurant and bar had great food and drinks with specials every night.

Overall if was a fun place and a great stay. I plan to stay there again on my next visit

Posted byHotelStaff
October 22, 2014
Garoninati, We appreciate the time you took to let us know you enjoyed your stay at our hotel! Thank you so much for the kind review, and of course we hope you will choose the Holiday Inn Oak Brook for your next stay in the area!! Patty Czubacka Front Office Manager Holiday Inn Chicago Oak Brook
Read More
Read Less

A favorite for me

By

October 14, 2014

platinumelite

I travel to Chicagoland often and have stayed at many hotels there and throughout North America. What makes this one special for me is definately the people. The building and grounds are always well kept, but that's just a building. The people at this property are ALWAYS polite, professional and friendly. I've stayed here several times and no one has ever missed a step. One of the most impressive prformances in the business. See you again soon!

Posted byHotelStaff
October 20, 2014
PapaKapp, Thank you for taking the time to tell others about our property! You hit the nail on the head by saying a building is just a building. Our people and our guests are what really matters! Hope to see you soon JM GM
Read More
Read Less

Decent hotel-Poor breakfast

By

October 11, 2014

The hotel was just ok as far as hotels go. The parking is terrible if you arrive in the evening. The parking lot is shared with other local businesses. And the reserved parking is on the far side of the lot. The breakfast, which should be included, was $13 for a terrible buffet. The eggs were watery and variety was poor for that cost.

Posted byCustomerCare
October 21, 2014
Dear AdamP73, Thank you for your recent stay with us and for reviewing our property. We are happy that you found our hotel adequate. On the other hand, please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience the parking facility and the food selection may have caused you. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again. Best Regards, John O Case Manager IHGCare
Read More
Read Less

good bed

By

October 09, 2014

club

Bed was comfy. I have nothing else to say. Why do you make this 50 characters or more?

Posted byHotelStaff
October 13, 2014
Hi Deb, Thank for your review on our property:) We get many compliments on the comfort of our bedding! And yes I do agree 50 characters is a bit much.. See you soom JM
Read More
Read Less

Great stay!

By

October 08, 2014

club

Very nice experience! Was impressed with the quality and overall aesthetic appeal of the hotel. Had a great night's sleep!

Posted byHotelStaff
October 13, 2014
Hello Ladylabrat, Thanks for your kind words about our hotel. We are glad you had a GREAT experience during your stay with us!
Read More
Read Less

A wonderful stay...

By

October 06, 2014

platinumelite

I truly enjoyed everything about this hotel. The staff, the accommodations, and the amenities were wonderful. This was an excellent value!

Posted byHotelStaff
October 13, 2014
WOW we are so happy you enjoyed everything during your stay with us. We love hearing that our staff if making all the difference and making you pleased!
Read More
Read Less