Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
84%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.1

based on 399 reviews
84%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

399reviews

  • 5 Stars
    218
  • 4 Stars
    88
  • 3 Stars
    40
  • 2 Stars
    27
  • 1 Stars
    26

NEVER AGAIN !!!!

By

July 14, 2021

We came from Massachusetts to see the BIG BANG BOOM fireworks. Over the phone before booking the staff told us we could walk across the street to the shore of the Bay. When we tried there was a road block because it is a Navy Base! There were MPs taking IDs ! They told us we were not permitted on the property.
Freaking Liars !!

But that was just a kick in the butt or slap in the face.
We paid over $600.00 bucks for 2 nights and the room was awful. It was dated , it smelled , and the creepy feeling of the staff made us leave the next day. We lost the next night !
We booked a room for 2 nights at Ocean Beach Terrace which cost us even more ,but at least we felt comfortable and it was just wonderful there.
Oh ya the people at Ocean Beach Terrace was exceptional , they told us we could have drove to mission bay island to watch the fireworks there for free with no hassles . DAM !!

Read More
Read Less

Best hotel eveerrr!!

By

June 08, 2021

club

I called the hotel multiple times before checking in and the font desk was awesome every time. They gave me a great room and very clean! Loved the pool!! Can’t wait to go back!!!

Read More
Read Less

Excellent location and customer service

By

March 16, 2021

club

We made our booking at central reservation and upon check in we found out there was discrepancy between reservation & hotel inclusions. Front desk staff Lisette and manager Keith explained thoroughly and courteously their side of the issue. We called central reservation, though had to be on the phone for 45 minutes, problem was resolved to our satisfaction. Danny at central reservation was very helpful as well. We’re grateful to Keith for his awesome assistance. Staff at hotel’s cafe particularly Mar & Lynn were very courteous and accommodating as well. We couldn’t be happier also with our room.Though dated as expected with our room choice but it was clean, and we loved the morning view across the pool, sat at our patio chairs listening to the relaxing sound of the fountain at the mini garden. Another plus to this hotel is the very short walking distance to the marina with lots of restaurants to choose from. The view from the marina is just spectacular especially at dusk. Overall we had a very enjoyable and memorable stay at this hotel that we have made plans already to come back again soon.

Read More
Read Less

AMAZING STAY! Awesome staff, especially Kellie

By

November 06, 2020

It was the first time I have visited San Diego and the hotel staff made our stay prefect. Kellie at the front desk is an asset for the hotel, she was extremely helpful. She explained everything to us about the hotel and the city. There was a problem with the reservation i made, she helped me fix it. She was very professional, helpful and super nice! Thank you Kellie for making our stay memorable. We will definitely return!!!!

Read More
Read Less

Anniversary Disaster

By

September 11, 2020

club

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for our 26th wedding anniversary and we stayed for two nights. We checked in fine. The staff was nice and friendly. We got into our room and it was nice and clean. I was ready to take a shower when I noticed that the shampoo dispenser was empty. No big deal. We got up early next morning to explore San Diego. Since we are staying for 2 nights, I notified the staff at the front desk about the shampoo before we left. She apologized and asked for our room # to take care of it. We came back to our room tired and sweaty (it was a hot day!) late in the afternoon to get ready for dinner. The room was not cleaned, no clean towels, shampoo not refilled. I called the front desk to let them know, and I was greeted with "We don't do housekeeping everyday due to Covid" I asked why it was not communicated when we checked in and what plan they have in place. The staff could not give me an answer why it was not disclosed when we checked in (Otherwise, I would have made an arrangement just to have clean towels in the morning.) So, I was told that they would send somebody to bring towels and shampoo...I waited in the room for good amount of time but nobody came. I went to the front desk and asked. The staff apologized in a non-apologetic way and said that the housekeeping have other things to do and not sure what time they will be available..... So....should I wait in my dirty, sweaty clothes until they become available? At that time, my stress level was off the chart! and we are supposed to be on vacation!! I was tired, sweaty and I just wanted to take a shower and rest before dinner, which my husband and I arranged for our anniversary, which by the way already ruined. The staff was rude and made me sounded that I do not understand the policy (In front of other guests). I clearly understand the policy! The staff was not understanding where my frustrations are coming from! The staff was only focused on "It's our policy!" and not even hearing me out! As I was about to sit in the lobby to wait, another staff stepped in. I hope he is not part of management team. He was very unprofessional in handling the situation. In a very stressful tone, he said that he overheard my conversation with the staff and that he is tired of people not following the policy! He did not even ask me why I was frustrated. He just kept going on and on...pointing that I am not understanding the policy, and even threatened me to check us out that night!!! For me, It's not about the policy, I clearly understand and respect it. it's about communication, transparency, and having a plan in place if there are changes on the services hotel normally provides. Oh, btw, The next day, I expressed that my feelings were not validated, the male staff's reply was it was his feelings not being validated!!! Who is the guest here!? At that time, I walked away....for my own sanity... I cannot even fathom why he cannot understand.... Very poor customer service indeed! (Just for those two staff I have encountered) The situation was not handled appropriately. All they have to say when checking in guests is "Due to Covid19 and for the health and safety of all staff and guests, daily housekeeping is not being provided for guests who are staying more than one night. However, toiletries and supplies can be requested as needed"
Thank you for allowing me to vent! It's been a few days since we left San Diego and I am still haunted the way I was treated. My husband and I decided to have a short weekend getaway to celebrate our anniversary and to relax. Unfortunately, that did not happen.

Read More
Read Less

The good, the not so good

By

December 09, 2019

The location of this hotel is very good. Lots of restaurants and easy access to freeway, and in a good neighborhood.

The Hotel Cafe is a decent choice for breakfast. The bar offers free happy hour snacks that were taquitos, chips and dips. Drinks are pricey at $11-$15.

Upon checking in, we did not realize there was an entire complex behind the beautiful new tower. We were directed to room 5338 in one of the back buildings. Being an IHG gold elite member, I was disappointed in that location. Management -- PLEASE REPLACE THE MATTRESS. This bed has seen better days, there are sink holes on both sides, requiring we sleep cross wise in the bed. When you sit on the edge of the bed, it folds into a V. Secondly, the air con fan when shutting off makes a very loud clunking noise. Not a pleasant listening experience day and night.

The back buildings are in need of some refurbishment for sure. The employees were very pleasant.

Read More
Read Less

Awesome Hotel

By

August 18, 2019

This is the BEST hotel we have ever stayed in. We are world travelers and have stayed at 5-star hotels. None of them compare to this hotel. The entire staff made us feel like family! All of the services were top notch. The Resturant was superb and the food and staff were awesome. We booked 3 rooms for family and they loved it. We would highly recommend this hotel and now will only stay at the Holiday Inn for all of our travels around the world!

Read More
Read Less

Exceptional Staff and Stay Experience!

By

July 09, 2019

platinumelite

We had a wonderful experience at your Bayside location and most of it was due to the staff! Shout out to Bellman, Stacy, each person at the front desk, and your restaurant staff. Everyone was very accommodating and kind. Our room was clean and suited us well while spending the night with our granddaughter.

Thank you to everyone who reached out to us during our very brief stay. We will return.

P.S. My husband and our granddaughter really enjoyed the putting green! Our granddaughter is 2-1/2 and enjoyed playing with Papa and running around in a safe environment.

Read More
Read Less

DirecTV reception

By

October 19, 2014

For some reason, the DirecTV signals for channels in the mid 700's (ESPN HD, HBO HD, etc....) didn't come in. Kept getting a "no signal" message.

Read More
Read Less

Very good for early flight

By

October 17, 2014

platinumelite

I just stayed there because I had an early flight combined with an expiring free-night certificate, so it worked well. The hotel is nice but I was in late and out at 5AM --- so other reviews are probably better. There is a bar with sandwiches open until 11. The food isn't cheap but the sandwich made an ok dinner.

Read More
Read Less

great location and staff very friendly

By

October 17, 2014

club

we enjoyed the great location in front of the marina and the staff was very friendly

Read More
Read Less

Great location and a All in One hotel near SAN Airport

By

October 16, 2014

club

1. When traveling you can check in a night before to be nearby the hotel.

2. All in One: Hotel, Restaurant

Read More
Read Less