Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
93%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4,5

based on 268 reviews
93%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

268reviews

  • 5 Stars
    173
  • 4 Stars
    66
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    7

Great facilities except the bar

By

juillet 28, 2019

Hotel has great facilities and is obviously ideally situated for travellers to/from Southend airport who need an overnight stay.

All great except for the bar area which has a wonderfull location overlooking the airport. Unfortunately the mood music was at such a high volume as to be intrusive. Also nearly all the tables needed clearing of used glasses and I had to prompt one of the bar staff to clear a table for us even though they did not appear to be especially busy. That one of the bar staff then went on his break before the tables were cleared was unacceptable. The junior staff member did his best but should not have been put in this position.

Read More
Read Less

Good service

By

octobre 19, 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Southend for the night before our flight. Overall impression of the hotel was good and the staff (both at reception and in the restaurant were helpful and well informed.) Room was well equipped and clean and the pillows and mattress were excellent! So much so that it was a shame we had to get up very early for our flight!

Read More
Read Less

Good for an airport hotel

By

octobre 17, 2014

club

We were meeting up with friends so this Hotel was the most convenient for us. The room was very cold when we arrived so we were quick to turn the air con off. The bed was spacious and comfortable. The room was very business like to look at so not the most relaxing. One armchair and one desk chair. The bathroom had a shower over the bath - We would have preferred a walk in Shower but couldn't remember if that was in our request. Our main gripe is the fact that there is a lack of shelf space or hooks in the bathroom, something we have found in other Holiday Inn Hotels. There was also a lack of hanging space for wet towels. My wife mentioned to the young lady on duty on the Saturday evening that we had been unable to connect to WiFi in our room though we were entitled to free WiFi. In a very patronising and loud voice she said "Yes you can. If you can't do it, bring me your device, laptop or tablet and I'll show you how or do it for you". We didn't bother to point out that we had used WiFi successfully when having a meal in the town with no trouble. We could also access WiFi in the restaurant but NOT in our room. We gave up trying. We found this young lady and a young man who had checked us in on the Friday to be brittle in their attitude.

Read More
Read Less

First class customer service

By

octobre 16, 2014

club

From first arrival to leaving the front reception were very engaging and friendly

Read More
Read Less

Party arrangements and overnight stay excellent

By

octobre 16, 2014

club

Hotel staff made the party for my family most enjoyable catering for our every need, including the youngsters, well done. Room as before excellent.

Posted byHotelStaff
octobre 20, 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your party. It was a pleasure to welcome you again and pleased that you thought the team made your party. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Regards steve
Read More
Read Less

Breakfast fit for a King

By

octobre 14, 2014

club

With our only experience of this company being Holiday Inn Express Southport, my hubby

Posted byHotelStaff
octobre 20, 2014
Thank you for leaving a review about your recent stay. Albeit this sentence appears to be cut off mid flow, I believe you really enjoyed breakfast and are delighted you have commented on this. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Regards steve
Read More
Read Less

Ideal for overnight airport stay

By

octobre 13, 2014

Excellent overnight stay prior to early morning flight.. Quiet comfortable bed and bedrooms. Would happily stay again

Posted byHotelStaff
octobre 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to rate your recent stay with us and mentioning you would happily stay again. We look forward to welcoming you back. Regards Steve
Read More
Read Less

Great Place To Stay For Southend

By

octobre 13, 2014

platinumelite

The hotel is pefectly positioned next to Southend Airport and Train Station (100m walk). The staff are very helpful, pleasant and efficient. They have an excellent restaurant with really well cooked food. Being positioned on the top floor it has an excellent view over the airport

Posted byHotelStaff
octobre 20, 2014
Thank you for rating us 5 stars from your recent stay with us. We are delighted you found the staff helpful, pleasant and efficient. Thank you for commenting on the restaurant saying it is excellent with well-cooked food. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Regards steve
Read More
Read Less

STAY

By

octobre 13, 2014

club

An excellent service with fab rooms & the Lamb was brill.

Many thanks

Dave

Posted byHotelStaff
octobre 20, 2014
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay. We are delighted you thought the service was excellent, the rooms fab and the lamb brill. We do hope to see you again soon. Regards steve
Read More
Read Less

great hotel

By

octobre 12, 2014

Excellent service could not have asked for more . Food . Room. Hospitality . Excellent

Posted byHotelStaff
octobre 15, 2014
Thank you for leaving a review and letting everyone know that you think we are a great hotel and that our food, hospitality and room is excellent. We are delighted you think our service is excellent too. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Steve
Read More
Read Less

Strange Bath

By

octobre 10, 2014

club

Hotel is fairly new and of course has a trendy bathroom. However the new super baths plug hole is in the middle of the bath,so when the anti slip bath mat is installed,the water cannot escape! My wife said only a man could design a bath for a hotel like that.
We had an early flight to catch so asked for call. It did not happen, when we left the staff said the message was sent three times and "bounced " back. So why did nobody knock on our door????

Is handy for Southend Airport

Posted byHotelStaff
octobre 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave feedback about your recent stay. We can not do much about the bath design, however the bath does have anti slip surface itself in the shower end of the tub and the rubber mat is in addition. I would like to apologise for you not recieving your wake up call and have discussed this issue with the front desk team, we should have followed up on the automated call not being answered. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Regards Steve
Read More
Read Less

great start to vaction

By

octobre 10, 2014

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Southend and found it to be the perfect start to our holiday, it is only a 5 min walk to the airport and booking online was easy, I did use a web site to get the best deal.

Posted byHotelStaff
octobre 13, 2014
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay. We are delighted to be the perfect start to your holiday and hope to welcome you again in the future. Regards Steve
Read More
Read Less