Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
80%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4

based on 175 reviews
80%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

175reviews

  • 5 Stars
    82
  • 4 Stars
    44
  • 3 Stars
    28
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    10

Overnight stay

By

October 26, 2021

club

Smallest room and bed we have stayed in couldn’t swing a cat in the bathroom we had a terrible nights sleep staff and breakfast good but evening meal was terrible and pricey menu needs to have a greater choice didn’t have our first choice so went for the burgers it was just like having a Mac Donald’s but with a £13 price tag we so wished we had gone out for a meal we like holiday inn hotels but won’t be visiting for awhile need to upgrade there menus and look at there prices .

Read More
Read Less

Sausages

By

October 19, 2014

Breakfast Sausages, Still those meatless, chewy tubes ,under cooked and tasteless. Staff excellent ,as usual, looks like work in progress regarding decoration and maintenance of Hotel.

Read More
Read Less

comfortable room

By

September 29, 2014

club

i was competing in the gt north run on the sunday so it was important that i had a good nights sleep

Read More
Read Less

Inadequate staffing at restaurant

By

September 25, 2014

We weren't told which dishes weren't available until we tried to order them. We then waited one hour and a quarter for our dinner! Mine came & it was cold. I was so hungry I ate it anyway.
There was a coach party in the restaurant which made the restaurant only about half full - so I don't understand why the restaurant couldn't meet demand.
The promised email from the restaurant / hotel manager to apologize never arrived.

Posted byCustomerCare
October 06, 2014
Dear Hol Inn customer, Thank you for being one of our valued IHG Rewards Club Gold Elite Members and taking the time to write feedback. We regret that this stay was not 100% satisfactory. We have sent you a private message to address your concerns further. Sincerely, Pam G Case Manager IHGCare
Read More
Read Less

Comfortable bed and good breakfast

By

September 22, 2014

club

We stayed in order to attend cricket match nearby. Very handy, and easy to get taxi, or drive to ground.
Clean rooms and will return.

Read More
Read Less

Enjoyable

By

September 21, 2014

club

It was very pleasant to meet the relatively new manager who welcomed us to this Holiday Inn. Positive person with a very pleasant manner, very approachable.
On this occasion the hotel did not have as many residents as on previous visits which made it more relaxing and quiet. The staff were very good and accommodating.
The menu is the same and perhaps need to be given a makeover.
Ideally situated close to the busy A1 trunk road which gives it a great location for tourists in the area.
Would certainly recommend it for short stay.

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable bed

By

September 20, 2014

Massive bed! Could have slept three without any trouble!

Read More
Read Less

Lovely weekend break

By

September 18, 2014

Previous reviewers have complained about the proximity of the motorway - although close, the road noise did not intrude, even with the window open. There was a wedding party on the evening we arrived, but, due to the layout of the hotel, again we were not disturbed in any way.

The bed was comfortable, the pillows great, the food was fine, the staff were lovely. The room was a bit warm, but the air conditioning worked satisfactorily.

It was a great centre for a holiday - the distance to the motorway made travelling around the area very easy.

Read More
Read Less

Old School

By

September 16, 2014

This hotel suffers from its 1970s design and build, drab rooms and old furniture. My room was very smelly, damp and musty which is very off putting but as I was only staying for one night and arrived around 9:15pm I just couldn't be bothered to complain.

The staff were ok but didn't mention anything about IHG Rewards at check-in, I had to ask if she had my membership number which she did have. To make matters worse she then didn't offer me a free drink or a points voucher? This hotel now owes me 300 points!

I'm sure I will stay again as my colleague lives only 5 mins drive away but it will be under protest. Hotels like this let the Holiday Inn brand down.

Posted byCustomerCare
September 25, 2014
Dear Liam0987654321, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re very sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty. Sincerely, Ferdinand G Case Manager IHGCare
Read More
Read Less

comfort

By

September 10, 2014

club

the bedroom was very comfortable there was only one thing that was the lift from reception up five steps we had to wait for the person on reception to operate the lift for us we were not in a hurry for it though every thing else was excelent

Read More
Read Less

Holiday Inn,Washington,Tyne and Wear

By

September 10, 2014

club

We stayed for one night as our son was taking part in the Great North Run.Very clean and comfortable hotel with friendly staff.Pillows were too firm and flat.
The one disappointment was on our return we found out that the Wi-Fi was free to IHG rewards members

The staff had failed to tell us this when we queried the cost of switching on in our room ( as our grandson had already done so).We panicked and went straight down to reception where they told us the price and we asked them to cancel.There was NO mention of the offer to IHG members!
Very disappointing.

Read More
Read Less

service

By

September 07, 2014

platinumelite

not happy with our rooms ,there had been a problem we needed a disabled room,which we did not get,even though we booked it wiith the hotel direct.one of the staff we were told to see the folling day was so uninterested in our problem.

Posted byCustomerCare
September 24, 2014
Dear BILL6, Thank you for being one of our IHG Rewards Platinum members. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are happy that you choose us for you lodging needs. On the other hand, please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience the room assignment and the level of service you received may have caused you. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest services. Once again, thank you for taking the time. We value you as our IHG Rewards Platinum member and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs. Best Regards, John O Case Manager IHGCare
Read More
Read Less