Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
56%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

3.1

based on 9 reviews
56%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

9reviews

  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Not the resort promoted

By

July 03, 2022

We were under the impression from the resort pics that the infinity pool was part of the property, it is not. That is for signature guests only and the ocean views are for signature guests only. Your view is of a parking lot or cow pasture. When this was brought to the Manager’s attention of our displeasure, she said “ who books a hotel off the pool and views from the website?” Are you kiddin me.. EVERYONE. We will never stay at a Holiday Inn Vacation Club
again. We left this one after 2 days and went to another property.

Read More
Read Less

Ruined vacation and big-big scam

By

June 21, 2022

platinumelite

What was supposed to be an awesome family get away (we dreamed about it for 2.5 years), started horrendously and ended awfully.

We drove from Canada almost two thousands miles and we expected to have a great experience. Completely the opposite: we got a worst vacation ever. This experience has been very disappointing especially for costing me destroyed family vacation, huge amount of points and a lot of money for roaming and data (as Wi-Fi was unavailable in hotel).

I booked a few months ago because of the amazing description of the resort and pictures on the reservation website. The website states the hotel has multiple "Nearby" amenities, which is a lie, you have to drive 20-25 miles at least to see and or do anything.

As an Platinum Elite member of IHG, I was not welcome as an Platinum Elite member, so I’m assuming that because it was a free night, they did not care, I just wish they wasn’t so condescending and rude, especially miss Laila. She checked us and has a very bad attitude and was very stroppy.

During the booking I trusted the pictures and asked for beach view - they gave us a back corner of the property with no view whatsoever other than the smelly dumpster below our room. When I asked to upgrade my room, I was told that hotel doesn’t have available rooms with ocean view. But site shown the availability. I had to go around to the office yet again and again over a few trips (who doesn't not handle reservations, cannot make modifications, and has no clue when rooms are available). Manager (miss Laila) was not trying to be accommodating at all. She was squeamishly arrogant and seemed to be very annoyed with me.

We drove the car to go to the beach instead short walking distance, as was promised during the reservation.

I brought my work laptop with me as I need to run same projects and it was a very difficult as on a second day the internet was down and never came back for 5 days. I worked from the front office corner. But my kids needed the internet, so they used roaming and data.

The "freight-style" elevators were nothing like I've ever seen before in a hotel. They were dirty and looked like something used only for transporting freight and smelled like smoke and human stench.

Beds and pillows were extremely uncomfortable. Under the bed and in the corner was filthy with dirt and dust. The bedroom door has a very strong smell of mold that caused to my headache and runny noise. Cockroaches in the room and the floor was sticky. The shower has a weak water pressure. We were hearing everything that the people in the room above do.

Also, the pictures of rooms were taken in different hotel and we got completely different from our expectations.

I could go on but I’m not going to waste any more time. I have honestly never been anywhere and met such rude two faced staff and so ruined vacation.

Read More
Read Less

Great

By

May 24, 2022

We had a family reunion and the manager and staff helped reserve villas on the same floor. It made our stay very enjoyable. I want to thank everyone on staff for everything they did to make our stay great!!!

Read More
Read Less

Not what we expected

By

October 19, 2021

We, 3 adults, were expecting much more than what we got from staying in the Signature Suites. The positives were that the hotel is on the beach with a good pool and easy beach access. Beyond that it didn't live up to our expectations. The furniture in the rooms is very uncomfortable. The couch and the chairs in the living room have no back support, the back cushions and pillows shown in the website pictures did not exist. The bar stools/chairs were also very uncomfortable, you always feel like you are going to slide out of the chair. The bed in the master bedroom was lumpy and you sunk into the mattress. The head of the bed was pushed into the wall making it seem very claustrophobic. The kitchen was equipped with the minimum necessities to make a meal. Unlike other rentals we have stayed in where they made it seem like you were in your own kitchen. Bare minimum towels and wash cloths, 1 per person for the weeks stay. There is a washer and dryer in the room that we had to use daily for towels and sheets. Bottom line is that we did not feel relaxed or comfortable during our stay in the room.

Read More
Read Less

Great relaxation!

By

July 02, 2021

club

We had a good time and enjoyed the stay. If you don't mind the drive back into town this is a good place to stay. A grocery store and Dollar general down the road. The most polite and helpful employee was the guard at the guard shack when we checked in and the employee at the swim up bar in the pool.Don't fall for the VIP treatment when you check in. After you turn it down they get rid of you. The check in was not that good. I was given a book and info on eating. I had to ask where my room was and how to park. I was told it's on the right side of the building. It would be helpful to get a map on where your room is. I told her it was my 1st time here and was not giving any information on the property. The room was very nice and the shower was amazing. The room has everything that you would need.and more. The sofa sleeper was terrible but the beds are nice. The hot tub and pool were really nice except for a poor job of cleaning up around it. There was trash all around the drains. The beach was nice except for all the drift wood. Overall a good place!

Read More
Read Less

Staff and cleanliness are not up to the level

By

October 31, 2020

platinumelite

Staff were not professional

Bugs were in the room

Read More
Read Less

A great property but management needs to up its game

By

June 09, 2020

This is a tale of two resorts. The setting, the facility, and the rooms are beautiful, but if you are the sort to look beyond what's on the surface, the place lacks lustre. At issue are many little things, so if you don't bring high expectations, read no further, book a room, and enjoy.

But if you are particular, you might want to read on - and book a different resort. This was our second stay. The first was in late November 2019. The list of “little things” then was long, but we liked the place so much we decided to give it a second try post-COVID. Overall, the second time was better, but management didn’t seem to take our input seriously in 2019, and we won’t bother with a third visit. (BTW, I write this review as a loyal IHG patron who has had top-tier status for over 25 years.)

Issues: leaks under the bathroom sink (Nov-19 and Jun-20); clumps of hair in the master bath and MBR (Nov-19); cork puller that didn’t work; dirty tray for ice bucket etc.; mattress pad for the sofa-sleeper did not fit and was in shreds, and the sofa-sleeper was the most uncomfortable ever (truly, it was bad); towel for bathroom floor in one bathroom but not the other; glass shower door installed incorrectly so that it did not close (mess… wish there’d been a floor towel). Most impressively, the stainless steel sink basin in the master bath detached and fell into the cabinet (Nov-19). Also, some guest (a wedding party perhaps?) was allowed to set up a tent at the end of the footbridge to the beach and play loud music past 1:30 AM. Between that and the sofa sleeper, it was not a restful get-a-way. The kitchen stools make an awful racket when moved (even carefully), so if you do decide to try this place, you might demand a unit on the top floor. Amazingly, the kitchen is equipped with a wonderful espresso machine and decent ground coffee (espresso, even!), so having to do origami with a Mr. Coffee filter when making drip coffee is silly when 200 cone filters cost $3.99 @ Kroger. Finally, the coup de grâce was the hot tub. When it works, it’s about the best one anywhere. Seriously. But the three-month COVID shutdown was apparently not long enough for them to make sure the jets were working. So, nice view, but just hot water – very disappointing, and representative of the overall lack of attention to detail. As stated, “a great property but management needs to up its game.”

Read More
Read Less

Beautiful and Relaxing

By

June 15, 2019

We really enjoyed our stay here. The only complaint was that one of the elevators was broken and the chair pads on the patio were stained and cigarette butts and ashes were on the floor of the balcony.
It was an over all wonderful stay and we will be back.

Read More
Read Less

Excellent Property

By

May 17, 2019

This place is fabulous! This place has everything a family could want. It has the beach, miniature golf, video arcade, ping pong, pool, tennis courts, movies, activity center for kids, b-cue pits, and more. We spent the weekend for our daughters teen birthday with 3 of her friends. The kids had so much fun! The weather was not very good, but there was so much for them to do inside it didn't matter what the weather was like. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The place was very clean. This place was very relaxing! I highly recommend the Signature Rooms though. This gives you the beach front, the swimming pool, and the hot tubs. It also is across the street from the main property so it has a lot less people. Spend the extra money and do it right! It is about 20 minutes South of Galveston so you need to understand that Galveston is a little drive away. However, the resort has everything that you need minus groceries, but they do have a snack place that has a grill where you can order hamburgers etc. We can't wait to go back later this summer and spend a little more time. It was too short of a trip!

Read More
Read Less