Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
85%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.1

based on 803 reviews
85%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

803reviews

  • 5 Stars
    418
  • 4 Stars
    192
  • 3 Stars
    89
  • 2 Stars
    57
  • 1 Stars
    47

Disappointing

By

May 01, 2022

club

When we checked in we were told we could take a free 90 minute tour to learn about the resort. Being our first time we thought it would be helpful to learn our way around. We later found it was a sales pitch to buy property which lasted over 2 hours! We lost our entire morning and learned nothing about the facilities. We were very upset. There was no daily housekeeping without a fee. There was no first aid station I could find in the pool area. It took me 15 minutes to find someone to help me remove a large splinter in my hand. There was no security we could find. There was a couple guys passing a foot ball half the length of the pool with people getting hit. And nothing we could do about it. The shops had very few souvenirs and the food was just ok and very expensive. A very disappointing experience.

Read More
Read Less

Great Resort

By

March 30, 2022

platinumelite

We stayed in a 2 bedroom/2 bath unit here Monday - Friday. The unit was huge and extremely comfortable. Absolutely everything we needed was there from full kitchen to full sized washer/dryer. The patio was large and comfortable. We spent the week at the WDW theme parks, and the farthest of the four was only 20 minutes away. We chose not to do the timeshare presentation and felt no pressure to do so. I have absolutely no complaints, and I look forward to staying here again.

Read More
Read Less

Don't do it!

By

March 29, 2022

Tried to check in at 4:15pm, was told our room was currently being cleaned. We were told we had an updated room, were given a room number, and told they would call when the room was ready. We were sent to the "2nd check in line" to get our keys. Here came the sales pitch, to which I politely said we needed to get to our dinner reservations, and asked to just get our keys. He was then rude, but did give us our keys. We never received the call stating the room was ready, and also did not receive any instructions as to what to do with trash/recycling, or any info on supplies if needed, since there is no housekeeping provided. Did not receive info on any of the resort amenities, restaurants, stores, pools, etc. When we came back to the room late at night, it was clearly not updated, certainly not since 1990. Terribly outdated, with parts of bathroom fixtures missing, and others not working correctly. AND, it was FILTHY! Just disgusting. It was now 11pm I had to clean bathroom floors that had large amounts of hair all over them, showers which all (3) had black mold and scum in them, carpets badly stained, and every cabinet door had food or scum on them. The cabinet doors were all mismatched, some had been repainted, some had chips out of them, overall just gross. On day 2, I contacted guest services, because my rate was to include breakfast, for 2 adults, and I had no idea how to get this. The person argued with me, saying my rate did not include it(even though the rate name said it) and told me to speak to the reservations department. She transferred me, but I was hung up on. I then called directly , only to be hung up on 2 more times. After 45 minutes I was told someone would call me back in a few minutes, however that did not happen. Someone finally called me later the following day, which meant I had already missed two days of breakfast. The exercise room was a joke. A tiny space, for a resort with over 2000 multi room villas. Always packed with people. Most of the food areas closed by 5pm, and the one restaurant that was open was packed, and understaffed. Waited 45 minutes for a 1 item to go order, which sat behind the counter a long time, until I could get someone to hand it to me. Never again!! I paid full price for my stay, and will spend my money elsewhere next time.

Read More
Read Less

Everything is extra and not worth it.

By

December 14, 2021

club

First, you cannot check in to this hotel without being bullied into taking a tour of the property and hearing about becoming an "owner." They even bribe you to take the tour. They told us it would only be 90 minutes, and if we didn't show up for the tour, they would charge us an outrageous fee.
Second, we took the tour. It wasn't 90 minutes. It was THREE HOURS. They kept trying to sell, even though I stated several times that I needed to think about it, that I had kids to care for, and work to do. Finally when they "heard" me, they sent one more person to talk to me who claimed she was from marketing, not sales. This was yet another way to try to get us to come back to the property, if only I would pay them about $1500 that day for an 8 night stay. She kept us an additional 20 minutes, then told us we could get a shuttle back to our car. It was absolutely obnoxious and the reason I will not go back to the property.
Third, the food and drinks were mediocre at best, and they were VERY expensive.
Fourth, we purchased food at a local market, only to return to a refrigerator that wasn't working. We had to wait two hours for a new refrigerator, and our food had to be thrown away. Apparently I am getting a refund for the food, but it hasn't shown up yet.
Fifth, even miniature golf costs extra. I have been on several properties where they have miniature golf courses as an option for kids for free. Miniature golf. Extra. Oh, want a float for the lazy river. Extra. Jeesh.
Lastly, if you accidentally leave a towel at the pool, there is a very rude note in the room that you will be charged a lot of money. Seriously? The pool towels are not big and there is nothing fancy about them.

Read More
Read Less

Service lacking amenities great

By

October 26, 2021

platinumelite

If you're looking for a property with lots of amenities this is it, but be ready to pay for everything. You pay a 15 resort fee that basically covers the pools. To use tubes in lazy river cost. Staff was rude and not helpful. Rooms clean, but need updating. Laundry not accessible to wash towels-inconvenience. Pool bars nice, but expensive. Great location to everything. Nice area and pretty landscaping.

Read More
Read Less

Extremely Disappointed

By

October 12, 2021

club

I've been coming Orange Lake since I was baby. My mom has been coming here since she was young as well, and my grandparents were original owners when the resort opened. I very rarely stay at any other property when we visit Orlando. This trip, we were coming to literally just spend time at the resort because we loved it so much. The pools, the activities, the villas, and everything else has always been nothing but wonderful. This visit, however, was different.

To start, they've change the beds since our last visit and they were very, very uncomfortable. It literally felt like sleeping on the floor. However, that ended up being the least of our problems.

On the the day we were checking out, we were supposed to head to South Carolina for the second part of our trip, so we needed to get an early start. Around 6 AM, when we were all packing up and getting ready to go, my mom found a bed bug in her bed. We also discovered bug bites on her face. Concerned, we called the front desk and were told that they would send someone to inspect the room and bring us trash bags to put our clothes in so they could disinfect our bags. After waiting for a while, we called our family in South Carolina, who had just moved into a new home, and decided to cancel the second part of our trip as to not risk giving them bed bugs.

After no one showed up at our room for quite some time, we headed to the lobby where we were treated poorly by staff. We also ran into another family who said that the bed in their room was covered with insects and that their child had to sleep on the tile floor. We returned from the lobby empty handed, still not even given trash bags, and waited in our room.

When the inspector finally did show up (still without trash bags, I might add) he did a quick sweep of the room that we found the bug in. He wasn't even going to check the other bedroom, but did once we asked him to. We were told we'd be called with the results.

Finally, another gentleman showed up with trash bags and spoke with us for a bit. We packed up our things and put our luggage aside. We were told that it would take over an hour to treat the luggage. It was now around noon, and we'd been up since 5:30. We decided that we just wanted to leave. We were disappointed that we had to cancel half of our trip and just wanted to get out of there. We left some of our luggage in the room, not wanting to risk anything, and started to head home. On the way home, we finally got a call from a woman named Monica who told us that all tests came back negative and they would not be compensating us for anything.

If there were truthfully no other bugs in that room and it was a freak incident, that is good news. But we were treated so poorly, and the most infuriating part is that I honestly believe that management thinks we are lying and trying to pull of some kind of scam. My family has been staying at this resort since the day it opened. I CRIED walking out of that villa because I knew it would be my last time doing so. This place meant so much to us, and we have been giving them business without any issues for nearly 40 years.

My main complaint here isn't even about bed bugs. It's about customer service. I know that bed bugs happen at hotels, it's inevitable. But we were treated so poorly, standing in the middle of our room, afraid to sit on the furniture, for hours on end with no help from anybody at the resort. Even if that bed bug was the only one in that room, the way we were treated was simply unacceptable. The fact that we are being called liars is mind-boggling to me. If we had been taken care of respectfully and in a timely manner, we probably would have been back and wouldn't even have expected any compensation. If someone would have been able to come to our room quickly and tell us that the room wasn't infested, maybe we wouldn't have had to cancel the second part of our trip and throw out half of our luggage. I've worked in customer service for over ten years and know that this is not how you treat your customers.

I am devastated knowing that this was our last time staying at Orange Lake Resort.

Read More
Read Less

Not recommended

By

May 31, 2021

platinumelite

We are really disappointed.
Poor food quality.
Very spread out, not walkable at all. You have to catch buses and at the bus stops there are no canopies so when it rains... yep you're in the rain. This place is a mess.
Pushy timeshare reps, they'll yell out at you when you walk through the lobby trying to sell you timeshares.
Also it's not close to Universal Disney or airport

Would not recommend, will not be returning.

Read More
Read Less

Fun in the Sun

By

April 23, 2021

Overall a wonderful vacation for a family of 6, 2 adults 4 children. The villa and landscaping of the property was very well keep and clean. We felt safe especially in height of our pandemic. There were activities for children and adults. We definitely will return.

Read More
Read Less

Terrible Management/Nasty Room/My Feed Back Was Deleted.

By

April 08, 2021

club

In history of staying at a hotel......this was the worse hotel service. Waited 2 hours for a check-in. Check-in to a dirty room, no amenities, Room smell bad, stained sheets and towels, no tea bags, no coffee etc. Floor has sand, phone was not working. So you cannot get a shuttle service. We had a duplicate reservation that was canceled upon booking and it was not refunded. So we were charged for a room that was canceled. They deleted my last comment because II cannot see it anymore.

Read More
Read Less

Skip the sales presentation and room charging feature

By

March 30, 2021

club

My opinion of this resort is a bit mixed. I've been looking forward to bringing my kids here for a decade, so I had high expectations. The main building is in need of refurbishment, but the pools there and at River Island were so nice. Our favorite meals were at Tradewinds and Paisan Pizzeria, though Breezes was a close runner up. The servers were great and live music was wonderful.

My issues were were sales, as well as the room charging feature. My sales rep, "Clayton", was super pleasant and personable until it was clear that I wasn't purchasing. That's when he got a bit snarky and told me he refused to believe I wasn't going to take my kids on vacation if I had to spend money on a car payment. As if it was completely unheard of to have priorities that took precedence over vacation. The manager he brought out was nice, but the last rep who tries to get you in with the $1500 vacation said if I could afford to get my nails done, I could afford that package. So unprofessional across the board and the exact reason I hate these presentations.

Our keys were good for room charging, which we barely used - less than $15 total. The same night we checked in, the resort not only put a hold on my card that they had notified me of, but then an additional $115. When I inquired the next day, I was told it was because I had started dipping into the first hold, but I hadn't even charged anything the first night.

Too many other places to stay in the Orlando area to come back here.

Read More
Read Less

NEED MY REFUND FOR THE CANCLED RESERVATION/TERRIBLE SERVICE

By

March 30, 2021

club

Both my son and I made reservation so we call quickly and cancelled one reservation and we were still charged for this reservation. This has been stressful since the 13 th of March 2021. My son is charged 300.00 for a room we did not use. We also reached out to the hotel and they have never reimbursed the money. PLUS the room was dirty stained towels and sheet and the phone was not working. AMENITIES was not there.?.we could not even make tea nor coffee. PLUS ROOM SMELL BAD. Lucky we were out door and went to the room late....and we had to they to the airport. However I do not recommend this hotel...because I'm disappointed they failed inspection for clean room and no one cared to fix the problem.We need our refund. we traveled from clear water Beach and was so excited to go this hotel only to feel miserable. PEOPLE WORK HARD FOR THEIR MONEY...STOP THE STEAL AND REFUND OUR MONEY.

Read More
Read Less

Been coming since I was a kid!

By

March 10, 2021

platinumelite

Orange Lake is one of my most favorite places in the US. Since I was a kid we've been coming to vacation here so it's like a second home for me. The amenities just keep getting better, and now that I'm bringing my kids here, it's so nostalgic. There is a ton to do! It is a little annoying that you have to pay extra for things like tubes, but overall I think it's a great value. We stayed for 4 nights and had a wonderful time! Our 2-bedroom unit was at the River Island (free upgrade!) and we LOVED every bit of our stay. Our room was very nice, but the kitchen could use an update.

Read More
Read Less