Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City

Cuckoo Road, Heartlands Parkway Nechells , Birmingham, B7 5SB

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
77%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

3.7

based on 107 reviews
77%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

107reviews

  • 5 Stars
    36
  • 4 Stars
    35
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    11

Clean and friendly

By

19 October 2014

On first look its a little tired. You get used to the look of the newer hotels in this chain, this one on first impressions is dated .But the staff were good and the room was large and clean though the TV is poor.

Read More
Read Less

A relaxing stay with great staff

By

18 October 2014

platinumelite

The hotel is in a good location with free parking.
The Staff are fantastic the evening menu is a bit restrictive but you can walk a short distance to a choice of eateries or the staff can provide you with some take away menus and the delivery service from them is very good.The rooms are spacious and comfortable and I would recommend this hotel to you.

Read More
Read Less

Delivers Every Time!

By

14 October 2014

platinumelite

Great staff, great rooms and a quiet location (For Birmingham!).

What more could you ask for!

Read More
Read Less

comfortable bed and room, Basic TV 1-5 bad picture,Fry up 3 items .

By

10 October 2014

Nice Location , plenty of variety for breakfast ,except fried, only sausage, scrambled egg and beans. TV only had 5 channels and only BBC 1 with decent picture, otherwise satisfactory only.

Posted byCustomerCare
21 October 2014
Dear Brian 31, Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient and your nice comment regarding room cleanliness. However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the television reception. We will address this concern. I assure you that the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is. Sincerely, Orlando A. Case Manager IHGCare
Read More
Read Less

GOOD STAY

By

05 October 2014

platinumelite

Very near to great entertainment centre. Hotel is OK, good nights sleep as the area is very quiet.

Read More
Read Less

great value

By

25 September 2014

club

we have stayed at this holiday inn express a few times and always return as it is not too far out of Birmingham city centre you get parking good breakfast the rooms are quiet and we find it extremely good value the staff are always very helpful as well

Read More
Read Less

Dirty shower

By

27 August 2014

Lovely hotel, fantastic disabled parking,I loved this hotel on first arriving but soon discovered all not as i thought. Shower door was very dirty, two bed pillows very poor quality asked for more pillows which never arrived, had to ask again when i returned to the hotel on the evening, i stayed at this hotel for two nights with my family and was disappointed on checking out that i wasn't asked about how our stay was.

Read More
Read Less

Great place always welcoming.

By

21 August 2014

Great place to stay a place to make you feel at home.

Read More
Read Less

GREAT NIGHT SLEEP AND FRIENDLY STAFF

By

21 August 2014

I HAD A GREAT NIGHTS SLEEP AFTER A LOVELY MEAL AND DRINK IN THE BAR PROVIDED BY FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL STAFF

Read More
Read Less

WHAT'S TO EAT?????

By

19 August 2014

club

The VERY limited meal options and lack of bacon for breakfast spoiled a very adequate business trip. As I am frequently placed at this hotel by my employer it hasn't taken more than a couple of trips to exhaust the viable menu options (although it must be said that they serve a very good pizza!)

It is a pity because the rest of the hotels qualities are more than adequate and the front of house staff that I have dealt with are extremely helpful and welcoming.

Read More
Read Less

Clean and spacious

By

13 August 2014

Open and clean reception area, pleased to see how clean and spacious the room was not forgetting there was Sufficient parking available.

The Only let down was breakfast- not enough choice for cooked food and also the AC not working but thankfully it wasn't that warm.

Overall I would definitely recommend the hotel – The lifts were also working :-)

Read More
Read Less

Not up to usual standards

By

09 August 2014

platinumelite

Having stayed at several other HI Express hotels I was disappointed with this one.
Upon arrival the lift was broken, which having read other reviews, seems to be a regular thing.
The room was only made up for two of us even though three had been booked. The lady did bring extra towels etc. and make the bed as soon as informed.
The sofa-bed was very uncomfortable for my daughter, which is not usually the case, and I had to put 2 pillows under the matress to stop the frame pressing up.
The TV was very antiquated, a very small flat screen and only mono channels, not many of them either. Again not up to the usual standard.
When we eventually tried to settle down for the night we noticed the constant low hum from some unit just outside our window (room 106). This led to a disturbed nights sleep.
Breakfast menu was more limited than usual, e.g. no bacon or muffins.

The staff were friendly and helpful.
The room did seem a bit larger than normal.
Bathroom was ok with a good shower.
Location was ok but a bit of a strange smell when we arrived, could be the 2 large gas storage just across the road.

If this was the first HIex I visited I probably would not use them again, however, as a Platinum member I know this is the exception.

Posted byCustomerCare
18 August 2014
Dear Nothereagain61, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad you appreciated our friendly staff service. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We are sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations and regret that you were not satisfied with the condition of the room you received. We have sent you a private message with additional information. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Sincerely, Jaime W Case Manager IHGCare
Read More
Read Less