Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South

8412 Valley Blvd. , Blowing Rock, North Carolina 28605

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
90%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.4

based on 284 reviews
90%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

284reviews

  • 5 Stars
    176
  • 4 Stars
    58
  • 3 Stars
    33
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    7

Helpful and Friendly dtaff

By

06 May 2022

Issac greeted us as we walked in with the biggest smile. We had a little trouble with connecting our TV and he had it working in no time, the whole time apologizing we had a problem. He never stopped smiling. In our coming and goings grand my husband carried on military conversations. We felt so welcoming. Other staff spoke as well but he is an asset to your business. Everything was nice need and clean. We would definitely return

Read More
Read Less

Poor customer service

By

14 July 2021

club

To start the " Buffet" breakfast is horrible. Ending up going out for breakfast every morning. The pool that is shown was closed but we were never informed until we saw the sign on the door to the pool. The first renovated room we were in the A/C didn't work well so it always felt muggy and damp, the bathtub didn't drain, and the room was dirty (Hair and dust). When we initially said something the first response was " You should've told us earlier, maintenance is gone." After complaining they finally switched our room. Second room wasn't much better. The refrigerator only froze everything (There was no thermostat), light fell out of bathroom ceiling, and was dirty like other room. There was no management on site. When we contacted IHG we were told we would get a response from management within 24 hours and 3 days later we still haven't heard anything. We are very disappointed with this hotel and IHG in general. We used to be able to count on the holiday inn brand but I guess not anymore. I will never recommend this property to anyone.

Read More
Read Less

No Service

By

20 October 2020

To pay 240.00 a night is very expensive for these rooms, with NO SERVICE

At 10:00 am told front desk I request cleaning and we were out of room awhile.
(Covid requirement)

When we return at 2:30pm room was not cleaned :(

I can say positive is the front desk staff is very nice and helpful.

Read More
Read Less

Great front desk Staff but room problems

By

08 September 2020

I am not one to usually complain but this was the first time we stayed in a hotel room with a flea infestation. The staff quickly moved us to another room that had a huge leak in the air conditioning unit. We were given a 25% discount but the price we ended up paying was still too high for the problems we had. I do want to commend the nice young woman at the desk who quickly got us into another room. The bed was very comfy and the 2nd room seemed to be clean but we do wonder how the staff miss the water-soaked carpet.

Read More
Read Less

Quick trip

By

16 June 2020

My wife and I have been coming to this hotel for years because we found it to be one of the better values in the Blowing Rock area. It had been getting a little worn in the last couple of years. I was up for a quick trip by myself to photograph the rhododendrons in bloom and was very impressed with the makeover of the hotel. It looks like new. Beautiful new wall covering and carpets. Comfortable beds. Upgraded shower head and (for the men) the toilet seat will now stay up because the counter top behind it has been reconfigured. The breakfast area is completed but not being used yet because of the virus but it looks great too. Overall great experience and we will continue to stay here whenever we visit the area. Thanks to the staff for a relaxing visit.

Read More
Read Less

Great Location

By

22 June 2019

club

The hotel is located in great location for heading to different attractions around the area. The fitness room had nice updated equipment and was easy to use. You could tell at one time this hotel was very nice but I believe its starting to show its age. Our room had some issues. The wallpaper was peeling off the wall and someone used a stapler to try to attach it back to the sheet rock. The sheet rock in the bathroom appeared to have been cut along the top of the tile to which you could see a 1/4" gap between the tile and wallpaper. There was sheet rock dust on the carpet between the wall and the night stand. The AC would not cool properly and we would have to get up around 4am to turn it back on because it would just shut off. Our refrigerator needed to be defrosted because you couldn't even open the freezer door from so much ice accumulation and we were unable to refreeze our ice pack we used on our trips. One of the electrical outlets was missing the face plate. Looking out our window the courtyard grass needed to be mowed. Besides some problems with our room we found that the pool was not heated as advertised. With all that said, I believe that we would stay there again with the anticipation that management will follow up and correct these issues.

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable Bed and great service

By

20 October 2014

club

Nice location for visiting the tourist town of Blowing Rock. Staff answered all questions and gave good suggestions on how to enjoy the area. Our room faced the back of the property and was very quite. It would be helpful for additional entrance signage during the road construction.

Read More
Read Less

Simple, easy, and comfortable

By

19 October 2014

Exactly what I expected for a reasonable price. The breakfast was very good and saved us valuable time. I'd recommend!

Read More
Read Less

Mr.

By

14 October 2014

club

Clean and comfortable rooms. Outstanding staff. So courteous and considerate. Overall stay an excellent experience.

Posted byHotelStaff
16 October 2014
Donato1, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel! I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! I am pleased to hear that you found your room to be clean and comfortable and the staff to be considerate and courteous! We strive to provide excellent accommodations and customer service and it is very good to hear when we have done our jobs well! Thank you very much for your business and your feedback, it is greatly appreciated! Should your travels bring you back to Blowing Rock, North Carolina, we hope that you will choose to stay with us!
Read More
Read Less

Blowing Rock

By

14 October 2014

Really enjoyed the stay and the breakfast. There was construction of the road outside of the hotel so it was pretty bright outside at night, but that is not the fought of the hotel.

Posted byHotelStaff
16 October 2014
mindy2878, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel! I am very pleased to hear that, overall, you enjoyed your stay. I am pleased to hear that you also enjoyed our complimentary breakfast. Although it is out of our control, I do apologize for the road construction and any inconvenience it may have caused you. Thank you very much for your business and your feedback! It is greatly appreciated! We hope to see you again soon!
Read More
Read Less

Large room and comfortable bed

By

13 October 2014

club

Upon opening the door, the room smelled fresh! Everything was clean and roomy. Did not hear any noise from the hallway during our two day stay. Breakfast was very good with a wide variety to choose from. I especially liked the pancake machine.

Posted byHotelStaff
15 October 2014
Rie22, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! I am pleased to hear that you found your room to be clean, roomy, and quiet. I am also glad to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast, especially the pancake machine! Thank you for your business and your feedback! It is greatly appreciated! Should your travels bring you back to the area, we hope that you will choose to stay with us!
Read More
Read Less

Great Stay

By

13 October 2014

The stay was very relaxing. I was please with the courtesy and helpfulness of the staff.

Posted byHotelStaff
15 October 2014
JimO2443, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel! I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! I am very glad to hear that you found your stay to be relaxing and that you found the staff courteous and helpful. Thank you very much for your business and your feedback, it is greatly appreciated! We hope to see you again soon!
Read More
Read Less