Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express Charleston-Kanawha City

107 Alex Lane , Charleston, West Virginia 25304

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
80%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

3.9

based on 95 reviews
80%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

95reviews

  • 5 Stars
    39
  • 4 Stars
    29
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    8

We'll be back!

By

11 September 2021

club

This hotel has become our place to stay. We come to town every few months for Pro Wrestling Conquest. Location is perfect for us. The staff is so nice. Especially Rachael at the front desk. The rooms smelled extra clean this time. I love the shampoo too! Breakfast was great. We'll see you in a few months!

Read More
Read Less

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!

By

09 August 2021

I checked into Holiday Inn Express either late night 05/11/2021 or early morning 05/12/2021 after a house fire. Upon checking in we were informed that pets were not allowed so we kept our cats in the vehicle overnight. While going out to check on the cats, a couple of the staff members advised us to sneak the cats into the hotel. So, we did. We had a very extended stay due to the length of time to get other accommodations. During that time the staff were excellent. They became like family. However, after checkout when the room was "inspected", erroneous fees were charged that were blatantly false. I can accept three of those charges, but the rest were untrue and unfounded. Not to mention that the rooms had bed bugs. I will never stay at another Holiday Inn express unless that is my only option. DO NOT STAY THERE.

Read More
Read Less

Awesome staff

By

02 May 2021

My sleep quality I have a little less only because as someone else said the walls seem to be a little thin. I could hear someone snoring in the room next to us. But the real reason I wanted to do this review is that I have never been greeted at any hotel as friendly and as helpful as I had here. The woman behind the desk was the best. Very friendly very helpful and so kind. She loves her job and you can tell, And then we went for breakfast, the gentleman that got our food for us, explained everything, was again very friendly and kind. When I am back in the area I will stay here again! Oh and I have to mention in the morning when I opened my curtain I was greeted with a magnificent view of the sun shining on the mountain!

Read More
Read Less

Very disappointing....

By

13 August 2020

platinumelite

I was supposed to stay over for (1) night, checking in on August 6th. I have stayed at many Holiday Inn Express locations, across the US. This one is very outdated and not kept up well. My room smelled like someone had smoked in it. When I mentioned this to the front desk, she quickly offered me some room freshener, which leads me to believe that this is not a new issue.

I needed to call down to the front desk...I had two phones and NEITHER of them would work. That was the point that I decided to choose another hotel. When I went to the front desk to turn in my keys and ask for a refund of points, the lady was rude and said she couldn't help me, that the manager would have to call me tomorrow. She took down my contact information and a week later, I haven't heard from anyone.

I love IHG hotels, but this one really misses the mark for cleanliness and customer service.

Read More
Read Less

Billed for this hotel twice !

By

17 July 2020

platinumelite

On 5-22-20 we made a reservation for for Charleston-Kanawha and paid for our stay with cash and points prior to arrival. On 6-27-20 we stayed. On 6-28-20 this hotel charged our credit card $181.42. When I noticed the charge on our credit card. I called the hotel on 7-2-20 and spoke with the manager Brandon. Brandon said he would put a credit through. On 7-10-20 still no credit I called the hotel and spoke with Julia (Brandon is no longer with the company) and she was suppose to credit our account. Well 7-17-20 still no credit. I called the credit card company and have filled a dispute. Beware of staying at this hotel. It could cost you a lot more than you know.

Read More
Read Less

beware of your surroundings on the outside of hotel

By

18 May 2020

staff was excellent, room was comfy ….the only complaint I have is....(THE AMOUNT OF HOMELESS YOUNG PEOPLE) (what to me looked like drug attics)
2 police officers parked at the gas station...we went to Bob Evans 2 buildings over from hotel, as we were figuring out what we where going to order to eat, we looked over at the building just the next building from hotel ….one young man was pulling the blanket off of the young lady that was laying down...then more young people was walking this way and one walking the other way the police officers did go to see what was going on with them...we did not feel safe at all....we drove straight thru from Florida because my sister was dying and we tried to get there as soon as we could...I would NOT have stayed at this location but I was to tired to find another location close to Charleston hospital so we stayed the night...I know there are homeless people everywhere but this was something that looked like you see in the movies....maybe its because of Covid19 I don't know....if you are traveling just with females or elderly DO NOT STAY AT THIS LOCATION...if you do please be aware of your surrounding.....I did not see any of these people in the holiday inn parking area but they was in parking lots and building close to hotel....we checked out the next morning....like I said staff was super great....

Read More
Read Less

Review

By

22 June 2019

In my opinion, this was one of the most uncomfortable and unclean stays I’ve experienced at an ihg hotel.

Read More
Read Less

Front Desk Employees Good but That's It!

By

18 June 2019

My brother and I stayed overnight during a trip. The front desk employees were friendly and helpful but that is where the positive experience ended. The room had no toilet paper, the light in the bathroom flickered like a strobe light in a disco, and the charge on my credit card is still not accurate when compared to my written bill. To make things worse, the hotel was overrun with a travel soccer team of 8-year old boys, their siblings, and their parents. The following morning when we tried to eat breakfast there were no tables avaialble and we had to deal with an incredibly loud and unruly group of about 40-50 people. I would have preferred to speak to a manager about our experience in private but neither the website nor the written bill included any such email connection. Overall, we were very disappointed. Thank goodness for two very nice ladies working the front desk or all hope would have been lost!

Read More
Read Less

Good location, but ...

By

19 October 2014

I've stayed here several times. The experience would be better if (1) the internet worked at more than dial-up speed and (2) the desk chair was usable without collapsing and if the back locked in place.

(The desk chair was 100% unusable, as is the cast with most Holiday Inn properties.)

When driving to this property, if possible bring a small car as the parking spaces are the absolute minimum size and the lot is always occupied by large pick-up trucks, service vehicles, etc. (Looks like management does not have enough parking space and tried to cram as many vehicles as possible into the lot without considering the probability of damage to guests' vehicles.)

Read More
Read Less

Good first impression, professional staff, cleanliness of room.

By

19 October 2014

My one night stay was most comfortable. I was surprised about the quietness of the room despite it being so close to an interstate highway. The facility was nicely furnished as well as spotlessly clean. I enjoyed the breakfast but did not partake as much as some of the other guests. I was happy to see the Greek yogurt on the selections. The staff in the breakfast room was most efficient and helpful and especially "on task" when anyone left the table to exit the dining area. The table was immediately cleared and cleaned and done so without any appearance of wasted motions. My stay was a very good experience and one that I would recommend to others.

Read More
Read Less

Good location

By

14 October 2014

The location was right off the interstate. It was late, I was tired and the check in was quick and simple. Nice place to stay

Read More
Read Less

Comfortble bed and beautiful decor

By

11 October 2014

Great nights sleep, excellent service and beautiful room décor. Close to the local airport.

Read More
Read Less