Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island

2 Tanglewood Drive , Hilton Head, South Carolina 29928

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
30%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

2.4

based on 11 reviews
30%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

11reviews

  • 5 Stars
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

Poor management

By

20 May 2022

club

I never write reviews, first off. Our stay seemed to be okay (rooms are fine and pool was clean) but the morning we were going to leave we had a flat tire. Steel rebar was sticking out of the parking cement and had punctured the tire. It was an F150 that I pulled in and, of course, pulled all the way in to make sure the back end was not sticking out. Immediately the front desk was contacted and they came out to see the issue and right away said it was definitely rebar that was sticking out too far and damaged the tire. They were very nice and agreed that the hotel should comp a room if we have to stay again and/or pay for the tire. They said management wasn’t in but that they would contact us right away when they were or have management call us. We luckily had my parents in town who came over and picked me up with my tire, found a tire shop that got the right tire in and repaired it by around 4pm that day (an entire day of driving shot so we had to stay in town again). We had the cost of the tire (I believe it was $240-250) and made management aware of that cost and that we’d also have to stay in town again. Management never contacted us so when we contacted them they offered a second night at a rate of $99 (we looked it up and the room rate that night was $109 - $10 off! Lol) our first night stay was $180 or so and we asked that instead that be paid, they said no. Then we said that the bill for the tire then should be paid which exceeded the room rate and they said no. We packed our stuff and went to another hotel one block away just to make sure we didn’t stay there again. We contacted customer service through IHG and had two different people who were nice but unfortunately no help. They said they had contacted hotel management and would wait for a response. I called for the third time Monday (IHG) and they closed our complaint out so as of today, it’s reopened. Costs are already high for everything right now but this added expense was in no way our fault. Hoping we hear from management to resolve this matter.

Read More
Read Less

long wait, 5th floor, elevators broken, room was not cleaned

By

15 April 2022

platinumelite

We experienced a number of frustrations while staying here. The most irritating is they make you wait for a loooooong time at check in or for any issue at the front office. They have only one person attending to guests at the desk and also interrupting each transaction to respond to phone calls. What made it worse was there was another guy standing there just staring at everyone. No one concerned about the guests' time. They also mixed up our reservation and even after assuring on the phone that it was corrected it wasn't. On top of this the elevator wasn't working. They sent us to the 3rd floor (no offer to help with bags - remember broken elevator). When we got up there the room hadn't even been cleaned - the bed was messed up and slept in! I had to go back down the 3 flights of stairs and wait FOREVER again. They moved us to a room on the 5th floor (again not offer to help with bags and the elevator was not in operation). They also have dogs and pets throughout the property, so in our case there was a barking dog just on the other side of the wall. Breakfast was ok, but at the end I came in from the patio to throw away my trash and got shouted at by the staff member inside because I did't left my tray right outside the door on a table because the door was locked. How am I supposed to throw the trash away when the door is locked and the trash can outside says don't use it? Maybe the worst thing of all was the contribution to local LANDFILLS this hotel is making. Breakfast was made easier for the hotel and staff at the expense of the environment. Tons of plastic bottles and styrofoam plates and NO OPTION FOR RECYCLING. They just dumped them all in the regular trash. How shameful!!

Read More
Read Less

Left early

By

14 March 2022

This property is in need of more than a few updates.
Ut would help to start with having clean windows. The sofa had a nice soiled spot on it. When you sat on it it was like plopping on a whoppie cushion (every time). Sink and lights outside the bathroom. (Motel style). After a new person was checked into the room next to us and sat on his phone cussing & swearing for almost an hour, we. booked another hotel to leave the next morning. It was as if he was sitting in the room with us. That’s how thin the walls were.

Read More
Read Less

Bed bugs

By

18 July 2021

Found bedbugs. Asked for refund for three nights Manager refused I caught bedbug and gave it to security. I have photos of bedbug
Tried to get some compensation to stay elsewhere manager refused. I am 71 trying to have a relaxing vacation with grandchildren who were staying at a nearby hotel. So depressing. Can't really afford to go back there ever again.

Read More
Read Less

Beautiful location

By

02 June 2021

We have been to this property every yr since it opened and enjoyed our stays. There were a few problems this time that surprised us. The shower was scalding hot, couldn't adjust to cooler water first time using. Called and maintenance came promptly to replace valve. That should've been checked and repaired before our arrival, as the scalding water could be dangerous. No daily housekeeping, which was printed on Covid list handed to us at check in. We called to clarify and requested the services, assuring us we didn't have to call daily, however, it wasn't done when we returned from beach two days later, so they missed 3/8 days we stayed. Esmerelda was great, when she came. Breakfast staff were always attentive, making sure items were replenished and available daily. Elevators were not sanitized, leaving fingerprints all over the panels behind the buttons and on doors. A simple wipe down from staff passing through would be helpful. Soap dispenser empty in main lobby for two days, despite reporting to staff on duty. Toilet also does not flush properly. TV's in fitness rooms didn't work, asked staff and said it was the cable. Left TV on one day and next day, was still on, so nobody is maintaining room. No water in fitness room, despite reporting, also the sanitizing wipes were not contained, so they were drying out. As another guest menioned, luggage cart had wheel not working right. Comfortable bedding and pillows, although 8 nights w same, wrinkled sheets is a bit much. a/c unit was very loud. Room needs updating, sofa was uncomfortable to sit on. Since the location is so favorable to beach, restaurants and beautiful new park, we hope this jem of a property lives up to its potential and is properly maintained for future stays and does not go by the way of the nearby Beach House. . .

Read More
Read Less

CHARGED MORE THAN QUOTED

By

03 May 2021

Don’t believe them when they tell you a total price including all taxes and fees. We had no incidental charges, they just added an extra $25.
If you tell me something costs a dollar, I expect it to cost a dollar. DON'T LIE TO ME!

Read More
Read Less

Tired hotel for $200 a night

By

21 April 2021

club

Check in was a nightmare with only 1 person and a line out the door. 2 other employees were at the desk, but did not know how to check people in. No hot water in our room, so we had cool showers and we had to ask for the manager in order to get the empty hand sanitizer stations refilled. Rooms are pretty old and tired. I would not recommend

Read More
Read Less

Guest service

By

05 April 2021

platinumelite

I checked out a little over 24 hours ago. I realized that I left a few clothing items in one of the drawers. I've called 3 times and have spoken to 3 different individuals. No One has returned my calls to confirm that the items have been found even though I've been told I would hear back. Is it asking too much???? We are Platinum Club Members....I live close enough to pick up the items. Maybe I'm the same size as the finder?????

Read More
Read Less

Needs a lot of work...

By

16 June 2020

This Holiday Inn Express doesn't compare with even the average HIE. Our room had cigarette burns on the carpet and stains on the couch. The main window to outside was damaged and foggy.

Several services have been removed because of COVID-19 but nothing has been added that I could see. Despite the fact that your room is not cleaned and made daily, there is no evidence that extra cleaning is taking place in public areas. The elevators were dirty the whole time we were there and I never saw any evidence of cleaning.

No coffee or drinks at breakfast was puzzling. Hard to understand why handing a coffee is different from handing a bag of food.

For the price, this is definitely a "don't recommend" for me.

Read More
Read Less

Room covered in Mold

By

05 August 2019

There was mold on the ceiling, behind short dresser and under the desk. Started out with black dots on the ceiling that we thought was dirt but the spots got larger as the week went on. It was when my wife needed the hair drier and our daughter was in the shower that we pulled the dresser out to use the outlet by the desk and found lots of mold. My wife had to use her inhaler that day and the next and our daughter had respiratory issues when in the room that improved once leaving. When we told the front desk staff about the mold, they said several other complaints came in from other guests about the mold problem. We were told by the front desk manager that they had maintenance issues with the fire suppression head that blew black stuff all over the room and it must not have been cleaned up completely. Left a message with General Manager and follow up was from the maintenance guy, he said the black was from something spilled behind the dresser and the ceiling was probably an exploded soda can. We received two different stories not addressing our respiratory issues, I was promised points from front desk manager that didn't happen and no response from the General Manager.
Registration and Breakfast are in a separate building from the hotel, phone systems not working in the hotel for the whole week, hassle getting towels for the pool (waited 15 minutes after calling before leaving pool area without them) uncontrollable was the fire alarm being pulled at 1:30Am. There are no security cameras in the hallways, so person pulling the alarm was never caught.
We were let down by our experience and will not return. The staff was friendly and helpful but management gives the impression customer service isn't important by not resolving issues or taking a few minutes to follow up. The major mold issue makes the smaller problems stand out even more giving the impression this is the norm not a one off situation. High hopes that were not fulfilled this trip.

Read More
Read Less

Affordable. Close to beach.

By

05 August 2019

I chose this hotel for the proximity to Coligny Beach access and at an affordable price. Rooms are a little tight for a family of 5. Pool is small but we chose not to swim due the water being cloudy.

Read More
Read Less