Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express Monterey-Cannery Row

443 Wave Street , Monterey, California 93940

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
91%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.5

based on 177 reviews
91%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

177reviews

  • 5 Stars
    120
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    4

No power

By

22 February 2021

My family stayed at your location in Monterey—near Cannery Row—Tuesday through Wednesday last week. February 16-18.

We had no power from 9am-7pm on Wednesday. No one at your hotel told us that would be the case. As we checked in late Tuesday afternoon, the clerk did not mention a power outage, but I happened to notice a small message taped to the desktop about a power outage affecting the elevator. When asked, the clerk affirmed the elevator being out and assured us our hotel room would be unaffected.

The next day, we learned that was not the case. Wednesday, we had no lights, phone, tv or hot water.

I spoke to Jose at the front desk that afternoon and he gave us no recourse and even made it seem like our fault for not understanding we’d have no power and at the end said, “What, you book a hotel for the electricity?” He was flippant, rude and totally unprofessional.

I wanted you to know about my experience so hopefully another customer doesn’t go through a similar one.

Read More
Read Less

As always - The Best in the Business

By

03 December 2019

Sanjay met me when I checked in. He knows me by name by now. I have stayed here many times and have always been greeted with professionalism and friendly during my stay. I always will stay here - so convenient and so close to the sights without the huge expense of the other hotels around the area!!

Thank you Sanjay & Holiday Inn Express!!!!!

Read More
Read Less

GEN EXPERIENCE

By

20 October 2014

THE EXPERIENCE WAS GENERALLY GOOD.

WE STAYED AT RM 304 AND THE CARPETS OF THE ELEVATOR LOBBY ON THE THIRD FLOOR CAN USE SOME ATTENTION.

Read More
Read Less

great location

By

19 October 2014

club

have stayed many times in Monterey. the location is great, staff is friendly,and good value.

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable and Clean

By

19 October 2014

club

My husband and I stayed (3) nights and the first & second night was in a double room. This room was spacious with two double beds not queen beds and situated by a residential road. Two sets of stairs totaling 14 stair steps had to be traversed to get to our room located at the back of the courtyard. There was some traffic noise throughout the night. The room and bathroom was clean & mold free. The bathroom was small and the magnified make-up mirror was mounted at (6)+ feet in height and was unusable for me at (5) foot. For our 3rd night we had a king bed located in the interior courtyard without traffic noise. The bathroom was larger with a longer vanity and appropriate height for the magnified mirror. Both rooms had comfortable beds and pillows. The room decor and furnishings are somewhat dated. Holiday Inn breakfast options are typical with scrambled eggs & omelets (not fresh but canned & frozen eggs), bakery items, bananas, apples, oranges, cereals, & Chobani Greek Yogurt. There was wine & cheese offered late afternoon. The rooms do have a small refrigerator but no microwave.

Read More
Read Less

Lots and lots of stairs

By

18 October 2014

club

This is a split level hotel. The elevators only service about half of the rooms. You have to take the elevator then walk up or down 6-8 stair steps to reach your room. Very poor design.

Posted byHotelStaff
21 October 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent stay . We want to apologize if the stairs were an inconvenience for you , we do have steps that you most go down or up depending on the room locations. This hotel was originally built as a boutique hotel in the 70's and and later the location was designated as a part of the cannery row historical landmark .Although we recently remodeled the entire hotel the steps remain and if you need any assistance with luggage please don't hesitate to ask the front office as we do have a bellman on staff. You can also request a room near the elevator or downstairs with no steps if mobility is an issue.
Read More
Read Less

Decent hotel in a good location

By

17 October 2014

It's an old hotel, but it was decent overall. HIE breakfasts have a lot of room for improvement, but there are restaurants nearby.

Read More
Read Less

Friendly staff with a view

By

15 October 2014

club

This place has a beautiful view if you are fortunate enough to be overlooking the bay. The building and grounds are very nice, clean and well decorated. My only complaint is the quality of the mattress that was in my room was less than comfortable and that the price is a little much. The room was very nice and large enough for my 3 year old to play around in while we were there. Our stay was awesome and this hotel is toward the top of our list for staying in Monterey.

Read More
Read Less

Best Night's Sleep

By

08 October 2014

club

Our stay at this hotel was enjoyable. Staff was professional, friendly and made us feel welcome. The best night's sleep I've had in a long time. Breakfast a little hum drum. Location was great, in the heart of Cannery Row. I definitely would stay here again.

Read More
Read Less

A GREAT place to stay

By

08 October 2014

club

This hotel was by and far the best place I have stayed. It is a small hotel, no pool or workout room, but the location is a block off Cannery Row and walking distance to all kinds of attractions. The staff is warm and welcoming and actually have a sense of humor. The "hot continental breakfast" was very very good and I actually went to bed looking forward to breakfast. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful. Pretty flowers and plants all over the place and wonderful sitting areas in the garden area. Wine and cheese served every night. Our room was clean and very nicely decorated. Refrigerator in the room comes in very handy. I just cannot say enough nice about our stay.

Read More
Read Less

Good Hotel, Great Location

By

06 October 2014

platinumelite

Quiet hotel in a very convenient location to Cannery Row and Fisherman's Wharf. Five minute walk to great attractions and restaurants. A great place to stay when visiting Monterey/Pacific Grove. It's my second home when I'm in town.

Read More
Read Less

Monterey-Cannery Row Holiday Inn Express

By

30 September 2014

platinumelite

Great place to stay.The only thing that I would suggest is more towels in the bathroom. ( There were only three )

Read More
Read Less