Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express Mystic - Groton Area

6 Coogan Blvd. , Mystic, Connecticut 06355

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
88%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.4

based on 194 reviews
88%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

194reviews

  • 5 Stars
    125
  • 4 Stars
    38
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    7

Lots of Problems

By

18 January 2022

The room was very drafty. It was bitter cold and windy outside when I stayed, and it was coming in through the AC/heater and/or window. The front desk's solution was to turn the heat on more, so it was blasting between hot air and cold draft. On the floor, my feet were always cold. The first night with the howling wind was very uncomfortable trying to sleep. Hardly worth the money I paid for a weekend stay and probably worth asking for a refund.

The coffee table in my room became a trip hazard in the middle of the night after I had moved it a bit to sit on the couch. There was nobody at the front desk when I hobbled out to the lobby to seek first aid. The front desk didn't have an up-to-date first aid kit to treat my injuries, and the paramedics had to be called.

Read More
Read Less

YOU HAVE TO READ THIS BEFORE BOOKING A ROOM WITH HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS!

By

01 October 2021

We had a wedding to go in Mystic, CT on Friday 9/24 so we booked a room at Holiday Inn Express Mystic. When we checked in the room, room was FULL of flies and when I called front desk all she had to say was I am sorry, and sorry we don't have any other room available BUT we can spray the room BUT you need to be out of the room for 1/2 hour. So we went downstairs and told them we are leaving the hotel since our room and bathroom are flooded with flies and you are not making any effort to change our room. We had to be at the wedding @4:00pm and had a few stops at different hotels to check availability and of course nothing was available being Friday! After the wedding we HAD to go back to Holiday Inn Express because we had NO choice and driving to our house was over 2 hrs. and guess what? Room was infested with flies!!! So, think twice before booking a room with this disgusting hotel. Oh by the way I was charged twice for this unforgettable room!!!

Read More
Read Less

A Great Find at Short Notice!

By

21 September 2021

We planned a last minute trip to Mystic and had no idea where to stay, so chose this hotel by googling. It was in a fantastic spot for walking to restaurants, shops, the Seaport Museum and the Mystic Aquarium. It was just a short drive to "downtown" Mystic with its historic bridge and shops. There was plenty of parking at the hotel and it was quiet even though centrally located close to the highway. Set up on a hill, it was attractive, too. The front desk staff was super helpful and friendly, especially Jake! The only downside is due to Covid eliminating breakfast choices, although the breakfast bags were chockfull of food.

Read More
Read Less

Not what we normally expect of a Holiday Inn Express

By

07 September 2021

My wife and I have stayed at various Holiday Inn Express Hotels. This one was different than the rest. The lobby is poorly decorated. Furniture with little or no accents (lamps, plants, etc.) Very uninviting. The breakfast usually offered at other HIE's was non existent. Just coffee and very little else. Only one complaint about the room; the bathroom fan was extremely loud. We had to buy a nightlight so as to not have to turn the light/fan (same switch) in the middle of the night. On the whole, we just didn't have the usual HIE experience at this hotel. Will say the staff was responsive. The location is great. The place could just use a little more attention to detail.

Read More
Read Less

Fantastic Experience

By

05 September 2021

Amazing location and even better customer service! We were greeted by a lovely gentleman named Jake who allowed us to check in almost two hours before typical check in time. The room was clean and bathroom was very nice. While leaving and returning to the room, Jake greeted us and asked about our trip several times throughout the week, whenever he was working. He gave some great recommendations for places near the hotel to visit. I genuinely have no complaints about our stay and would love to visit again!
Only downside was breakfast is not running due to covid. However, it allowed us to try quite a few great breakfast spots in the area. I recommend Kitchen Little!

Read More
Read Less

Weekend Retreat

By

12 October 2020

I brought mom here for the first time and for her first mini vacation and was not happy at this hotel at all. Our first night, the room above us, loud and raucous kids. Two separate clerks had to tell them to quiet down as we were trying to go to sleep. No hot breakfast but go bags with cold food. We ate breakfast out so we could have a hot meal. Our last night there, we went to use the jacuzzi, NO HOT WATER! The water was colder than the water in the pool. Mom really wanted to soak herself after a long day walking at the Aquarium and Old Mystic Shops. Granted with Covid going on, the hotel could have done better. I will not be staying here again. Hopefully our next vacation in Maine will go better than the one in Connecticut. We also didn't like the over-the-bed lights that we couldn't turn off. Had to sleep with the pillows over our head.

Read More
Read Less

Great Place

By

02 October 2020

Only gripe I have is the morning of check out my husband went to the front desk and was advised by the clerk that they didn't have coffee for the guests. He also advised my husband that none of the Holiday Inn Expresses had coffee which was a total lie. Obviously this guy was lazy and didn't want to make coffee for the guests.

Other than this the stay was great and the place was clean!

Read More
Read Less

Wrong charge and poor service

By

26 August 2020

Checked out on Sunday 8/23, the staff did not give me the receipt at that time, had to call them to ask them to send me the receipt. However, the number they charged me was wrong. They charged me $39 on the vending machine but it should only be $17. Called them again on Sunday night but the staff at the front desk said he did not have the power to revise the number, asked me to call it again the next morning. Called them on Monday 8/24 morning, this time they said they need 2 days to investigate this problem. Which is ridiculous, they can just check the surveillance camera to see what I bought during my stay, there aren't many people buying things from the little store in the lobby. Overall, the room is spacious and clean but the service is poor and slow.

Read More
Read Less

Front Desk

By

26 September 2019

club

Jacob is a Rockstar as someone else said. After that, the front desk experience has not been anywhere near pleasant. That's the reason for the one star rating

In September he was great when booking and checking in. The morning person was not so congenial.

Then today, a month later, I was inquiring by phone about booking another stay there. Without boring details, the person at the hotel that answered and subsequent people in the central answering system were not so nice. Good bye Holiday Inn Express, Groton

Read More
Read Less

Fix your internet

By

21 October 2014

platinumelite

Your internet service was horribly slow and kept cutting in and out. Also there were hairs on the towels in my room. Thankfully your desk attendant put me in another room.

Read More
Read Less

Easy Access off I 95 and very comfortable room

By

18 October 2014

While traveling, I stayed at the HIE...very clean and well kept. The food was great, the staff was welcoming and as a IHG platinum elite member, I was treated as a king. Recommend this hotel to anyone traveling through Mystic...little secret, this hotel is less than 20 miles from Foxwoods Casino...might save a few bucks staying here...alos just a few miles from Mystic Pizza and the beautiful beaches in Westerly RI

Read More
Read Less

Reunion Stay

By

16 October 2014

I stayed at this hotel as part of my college reunion weekend. The hotel was great, the price very reasonable, and the room very comfortable. The only issue was that my room shared a wall with the staff room that prepped for the breakfast. The staff did something every morning that sounded like banging on the wall. It was early in the morning, and substantial enough to wake me up. Fortunately it wasn't persistent. I suspect this would not have been a problem in any other room. I wouldn't let this stop you from staying at this hotel, just don't take the room right off the lobby (room 118).

Read More
Read Less