Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side

20 South Tenth Street , Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15203

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
84%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.1

based on 240 reviews
84%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

240reviews

  • 5 Stars
    126
  • 4 Stars
    60
  • 3 Stars
    26
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    14

Mostly good service.

By

08 April 2022

Mostly, I enjoyed my stay here, except for a couple of issues. I do want to compliment the young man at the front desk. He was EXTREMELY helpful and professional and I was quite impressed. The room was adequate. The breakfast wasn't so much. Dried out eggs, a couple of pieces of toast and maybe a bagel. My biggest concern was the very rude woman who worked as janitorial staff. "What floor?" she barked at my teenage son as we boarded the elevator. Instead of leaving it in the room for staff to handle, I went out of my way to throw away a larger trash item (a large soda bottle). I asked if I could throw it away in the trash bin and instead of responding with any words, she shook the trash bag in her hand and shot me an angry expression on her face. I usually would ignore something like this and not even put it in a review but her rudeness talked me out of that.

Read More
Read Less

Awful Hotel

By

25 March 2022

My husband, son and I came to visit Pittsburgh for accepted student college days. We stayed 2 nights. When we left for the day, our room wasnt cleaned. I asked if they would clean our room, and was told that they dont clean rooms for visitors who stay less than 7 days??? I never stayed in a hotel that didnt clean the room.
I asked for fresh towels, and said to come down to the front desk. When I did, I was told he only had one left.
This was, by far, the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. We will never stay there again.
For what we paid, I thought it was going to be a much better experience.
We have stayed at Holiday Inns in the past, and always had a pleasant experience.
Not this time.

Read More
Read Less

Worst Hotel and Staff - Dont book

By

07 March 2022

I booked two rooms and usually don’t write reviews but I think it is important to let people know what to expect.
The room was smelly dirty , floors sticky and sofa all stained (Sofa and carpet picture with stains).
The heating system was broken (HVAC control missing knobs) blown out bulbs.
When went to the front desk, their response was “all rooms have the same stained sofas and cant we do anything about it”. If you want, just transfer to another hotel but this was midnight. It seems that the staff is so used to complaints that they didn’t even bother apologizing and basically said “it is what it is”
Another thing I didn’t take reviews seriously before I booked but noticed at midnight in the front entrance, elevators and room corridors we came across inappropriately dressed single females. Not a place for families.

Read More
Read Less

Great Experience for a seasoned traveler.

By

20 December 2021

Many years ago I made Holiday Inn Express my first choice as a place I could count on to rest and recover from my long road trips. I’m an artist and I travel around the country usually driving for 12-15 hour stretches. When I find a Holiday Inn I know it’s going to be a great night and morning.

The South Side Holiday Inn Express in Pittsburgh was my choice for a trip I planned with my girlfriend to see one of our favorite bands. We had some car trouble on the way and we’re delayed by 3 hours. I called the hotel and let them know we would be very late checking in. They said it was no problem. We checked in after the show which we just barely made it to with a few minutes to spare. The woman at the check in counter was very professional, efficient, and had a great personality. We cracked some jokes and had a few good laughs.

The room was very spacious and well appointed. The linens were fresh and clean and the room was spotless. The room faced East which I love, but I didn’t ask for that, it was just a happy little accident. The bed was very comfortable and we had a very restful sleep for our 2 nights there.

Breakfast was on par for the type of hotel and I found just what I needed to start my day. They had the usual eggs, sausage and breads but I found plenty of fresh fruit and juices which I prefer in the mornings.

I used the exercise room both mornings. It was clean and well appointed to get my morning routine done just like I would at home.

I spoke with some of the staff on occasion and they all had a smile and good nature about them without exception. One of the staff, Paul was his name I believe, had a little chat with me outside. We talked for a little while and he gave me some good insights into the city and the people that lived there. I love this sort of thing because it helps me to identify with a place that I’m visiting which makes the experience so much better.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone that would like to visit Pittsburgh and have a "home base" that they can count on.

Read More
Read Less

Disappointed

By

04 August 2021

Checking in was a pain. There wasn’t enough room to park the car and run in and check in before we could get our key to the parking garage. We were not told that you had to pay for parking. When we walked to our room the hallways smelled of someone smoking weed. When we came into our room, it still had a dirty washcloth hanging from the shower curtain. There was a crumpled up tissue and q-tips sitting on on the tray with our coffee maker. There was something inside of the tissue but we didn’t want to know what. The hotel sits more close to the road than the pictures make it seem. You hear every loud engine and radio from your bed. You cannot completely shut the curtains to make the room darker. You can only close the sheer curtain of the window… which is not ideal since our room faced the streets…. Especially in the morning when the sun was shining in our eyes and we wanted to sleep in. It would have been nice to actually close the darkening curtains for more privacy.

Read More
Read Less

UPDATE TO COMMENT 11/25/19

By

02 December 2019

club

I was contacted by Gladys after I submitted the review, but before it was posted. She was very kind and concerned about our experience. I received a refund. I appreciate that my concerns were taken seriously even though it wasn't sooner than I expected- this is why I felt they did not care. Thank you!

Read More
Read Less

Disorganized system- STRANGERS will enter your room!

By

18 October 2019

When we checked in around 9pm, we were assigned a room on the 6th floor. I swiped our key and as I opened the door, there was a man laying on the bed yelling “WHOA WHOA WHOA!!” as we tried to enter. Luckily the door latch was on and stopped us from entering the room. We apologized and went back down to the desk and told the woman working what had happened, which she faulted “the new girl” for double booking a room. We then were assigned a room on a lower floor, checked in to drop off our stuff, and went out for a couple hours. We returned around 1am to find that our key wasn’t working, so again we went to the desk and an older man told us that our room was already taken. I told him, yeah, by us, our stuff is in there. He denied the room being assigned to us, and looked up the room and said it was under another person. Finally I asked him to look up my name to find that, indeed, we had checked into it earlier and dropped off our belongings. He proceeded to re-key our card to the room so we could enter. Upon entering I immediately noticed lights were left on and our bags were moved from the beds to the floor. The plastic cups next to the ice bucket were opened and used, and my toiletries bag (which contained several prescriptions and jewelry) was missing. We also noticed over half a bottle of Crown Royal was gone. Before going out, we filled the ice bucket and used styrofoam cups to have a drink, but whoever checked into our room in the meantime helped themselves to the bottle/, used the clear cups that were wrapped in plastic, and snagged my bag on their way out. I immediately reported this to the same older man at the desk, to which he pretty much responded that there’s nothing he can do about it and to call Gladys the next day to check the cameras. I left her a voicemail the week after our visit, and have not heard back. I have now been playing phone tag with the manager to try to resolve this issue. This is an incredibly UNBELIEVABLE issue of safety. How is it that it is 2019 yet their computer system messed up COUNTLESS times??? I am thankful that the door latch was on the first door I tried to enter, because who knows how that man would have reacted had I of entered the room completely. I am lucky he didn’t get overly startled and hurt me. SECONDLY, to assign our room to someone else after it already happened to another room?! How is it that the desk staff would have not been as vigilant considering there was clearly something wrong with the system??? Talk about paranoia, unable to relax, and poor sleep quality. The rest of the night I was thinking yet ANOTHER stranger would be assigned our room and enter. If you stay here, consider your room door to basically be unlocked to the public, because there’s a high chance of anyone just walking in and taking what they want anyway. I have already reported my stolen items, but have yet to hear from anyone at this hotel to help rectify this completely backwards and unprofessional situation. I hope they get their system under control before something crazy happens when someone enters a room that was ALREADY occupied.

Read More
Read Less

Wish I could give a ZERO rating!

By

29 September 2019

On Friday, September 27, 2019 my husband & I checked into the hotel just before 10pm. At about 5:50am I awoke to a woman walking out of our room. I was very startled. My husband got up, ran to the hallway and saw no one which made it even more unsettling. He then called and also went downstairs to the front desk where they said that they made a mistake and that there was no manager to speak with until 7am. They then told us they had accidentally checked another guest into the same room as us. (Which I don’t understand, but whatever.) We went back to our room and waited, went down at 7am where we met an older gentleman named Paul working at the desk who was NOT a manager and stated that the manager wouldn’t be there until 10am now. We explained what happened and Paul completely blew us off saying, “Yeah, I heard. It happens, it’s actually very common!” My husband was offended at how nonchalant he was and how he didn’t seem to care a bit. He asked Paul, “Are you not concerned with the safety of your guests?” He LAUGHED IN OUR FACE & replied, “No, I’m not!” I’m so disgusted. My family owns a timeshare through this company, I stay in hotels very frequently and have always liked Holiday Inn but knowing that someone who is working there has no regard to our business or our safety after THEY made a mistake they shouldn’t have even made, makes me sick. It ruined my time and my opinion of this hotel. And btw, a girl named Jasmine assisted us with manager phone numbers and was apologetic, sweet and helpful! She was the breakfast attendant. They should put more people like Jasmine behind the desk and kick Paul to the curb! He will kill your business!

Read More
Read Less

LORI went Above and Beyond

By

24 September 2019

I had a long day and all I wanted to do was rest but when I got the hotel I realized that I had made an error with my booking. It would have been very easy and justifiable for the staff to say, "I am sorry Sir but this is a problem of your own making". BUT that was not what happened. LORI, went above and beyond. She made sure I had my room and that it was perfect. I had a great night's sleep and the next morning a had a lovely hot breakfast. The whole staff was kind and courteous. THANK YOU LORI!

Read More
Read Less

Not worth what you pay for

By

17 August 2019

club

Although the staff was friendly I wouldn't stay there again unless some serious changes are made. The exhaust in the bathroom didn't work and the screws were falling out. I call the desk immediately. I was told there are no exhaust fans in any of the rooms and that I should keep the door closed when I shower as the steam has been know to set off the fire alarm. I honestly thought they were joking. Unfortunately the bathroom door was also broken so if you closed it all the way the door got stuck. The arm on the chair was broken. While I did not set off the fire alarm, between 2 of us using the shower the room had a musty order and walking on the carpet in bare feet was gross because it felt damp all over. I had to buy a fan just to make through the few days we were there. And the blow dryer only blew cold air.

Read More
Read Less

Not for this Location my City Pittsburgh.

By

20 July 2019

club

My wife and stayed there during my daughters Camp Visit at the University of Pittsburgh. The room and bed itself was excellent. The pool and my room, the pool was extremely cold what little time I had over those 2 ½ days 15 minutes of pool time which was supposed to be the high light of the time at the Hotel for my Daughter. The pancake machine was broken; as the selections for breakfast is already limited.
Now the Room where do I start, the Beds/Pillow where very comfortable outstanding. The bathroom sink would fill up when you turned on the water and would not drain for minutes on end which made washing up or just brushing teeth a very difficult task at least. The toilet would not flush correctly and backed up three times all of which was brought to housekeeping’s attention, and management at the front desk.
For this Location to be in the HEART of the City Pittsburgh it is fair to say, I was not pleased with my stay this time at your Hotel.

Read More
Read Less

Great Service

By

20 October 2014

I really enjoyed my stay. The staff and hotel accommodations were great. The staff were knowledgable about the surrounding restaurants and businesses and were always willing to give their opinion on places to eat and see.

Read More
Read Less