Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express Richmond - Downtown

201 East Cary Street , Richmond, Virginia 23219

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
81%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

3.9

based on 158 reviews
81%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

158reviews

  • 5 Stars
    68
  • 4 Stars
    51
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    13

Only saving grace is a comfortable bed

By

07 January 2022

club

If you appreciate sleeping in a dorm room, this will suit you just fine. My family and I have always enjoyed staying at Holiday Inn Express over the years. Clean, inviting rooms, great staff, a nice convenient breakfast, a comfortable place to stay for a night or two. Sadly this was not the case at the Richmond Va- East Cary location. Good location but the initial impression was very average when entering the lobby. Cold and bland decor. Got to our room, entrance floor was sticky as well as the bathroom floor. I am not one to complain so I overlooked this initial experience. We settled in, some unpacking. I took the time to clean the floors with towels and hot water. YIKES. The towels were super dirty after my house cleaning. We had challenges with the bedroom TV remote and after trying the other remote from the living room, the TV still was not working properly. Notice the remote was marked up. The remote had smudges of what could only be food from previous guests. Went to call the front desk...the phone too was obviously overlooked for some time. Very dirty. Attempting to call the front desk was futile using the preprogrammed front desk button. None of the preprogrammed buttons worked. Only a fast busy signal. Went down to the front desk to discuss remote and TV issues and also shared the fact the room was not at all clean. Was offered a different room but I find this to be nonsense response.. My reservation email stated the room was ready, which it was not. A long day traveling and being asked to pack up and move to another just was not what I wanted and could live with the state of the room. Becoming hyper focused to the lack of cleanliness, the condition of the hotel as a whole became evident. Not very clean, dingy, ultimately showing poor management, Missed to share the fact that both rooms (a "suite" was reserved for the night) had significant water stains on the ceilings, not just one but several big stains in each room.. I checked the air conditioners filters, both choked with dirty. Probably haven't been touched in a year or more. I had to make an effort to stop looking, I am sure more conditional issues would have been observed. The suite should never have been made available. Fortunately very comfortable beds were waiting for us to get a good night sleep. Took a shower, body wash was empty as well as the hair conditioner. The available bar of soap saved the day. Had the standard COVID breakfast that HIE offers. Needed to make a visit to the men's room, And yes, poor cleaning effort was very evident. Packed up, expressed my disappointment again and was offered "I am sorry." I stated this suite should not have been rented. And off we went to continue our travels to better and brighter memories,

Read More
Read Less

The Worst Experience Ever

By

30 March 2021

This was one of the worst experiences I have ever experienced. We checked in late on 03/26/2021 and were greeted by a rude front desk associate named Larry. He was very rude and nasty and was irritated because he was getting his hair done at the time, I was trying to check-in. The elevator was dirty which I do have pictures of, and the entire hotel smelled like smoke mostly cigarettes. Once we got to our room (My boyfriend and child) we discovered how dirty the room was, there were a lot of footprints in the bathroom and urine around the toilet. The bathroom also smelled like smoke and there was some unknown substance in the tub (Also have pictures of that). I sent my boyfriend to the front desk to switch out the room and he stated the same thing about Larry’s attitude, but Larry did switch our room. Once we got into the new room it was no different, except it smelled like smoke and air freshener. The next day we were awakened by housekeeping banging on the door asking what time we were leaving. Once we stated that we were leaving before check out the housekeeping person left with an attitude.

Read More
Read Less

It was.. ok.

By

11 January 2020

It was ok. However, if you have a sensitive nose, pray that you don't get a room that used to be a smoking room. The hotel was recently remodeled and looked nice, and is now 100% smoke free. The staff was friendly at check-in, and when I came down to request a new room due to the smell of cigarettes, they apologized assured me that someone must have recently smoked in the room. They had no problem switching the room for me. Super easy, super nice about it. However, upon entering the next room, it also smelled like cigarettes, just not as strongly as the previous one so I was able to tolerate it. Upon coming home today, my clothes reek of cigarettes and my bag is now sitting outside in the sun airing out. Good location, comfortable beds and pillows, nice staff. I just hated that the room smelled and I didn't want to bother them with another room change.

Read More
Read Less

Wonderful Stay

By

12 June 2019

club

The hotel is under renovation but, was operating smoothly. Centrally located (walking distance) for the historic places we wanted to visit. We had an issue at check-in that was resolved well above our expectations. The management is very committed to make the stay a memorable one. It showed!

The room was clean, beds were very relaxing and comfortable. The best 2 nights sleep I have had in a while in a hotel. Breakfast was fantastic both mornings.

I highly recommend this hotel.

Read More
Read Less

Super Hotel

By

20 October 2014

club

This is one of the best Holiday Inn Expresses I have stayed in. Well maintained property and a super attentive staff. I don't have one complaint.

Read More
Read Less

Exactly what I expected.

By

17 October 2014

club

Good price and everything was nice. Very friendly staff. Great breakfast! Much better than just continental!! My only minus was the bed was VERY soft... but my husband liked it, so, that's just me...

Read More
Read Less

Great place for a stopover- could stay longer

By

16 October 2014

club

Chose this hotel based on several reviews and glad we did. It was easily accessible from the Interstate. The room was very clean and had a great view. Bed was comfy and amenities were plenty. Would have liked to havwe stayed longer. There were several great choices for dining and we chose one about 6 blocks away. Easy walk and great food there. Would definitely choose this HI Express again.

Read More
Read Less

Good overall experience

By

14 October 2014

club

Comfortable, clean room. Only one desk clerk checking in during busy late afternoon/early evening time frame. Wifi service was down upon arrival but was back up and running later in the evening.

Read More
Read Less

Great place to Stay

By

14 October 2014

platinumelite

Very comfortable hotel with a fantastic breakfast bar

Read More
Read Less

Loved the 2-room Suite

By

13 October 2014

We booked this hotel solely for the 2-room suite amenity and the included breakfast. Both were worth the choice. The hotel in general seemed old, but not necessarily dirty. Since we were not accustomed to metro areas, the general atmosphere was a bit uncomfortable...but that could be said of any of the surrounding hotels.

Posted byHotelStaff
18 October 2014
Dear Crystal4, Thank you for your comments. We do apologize for the appearance of the hotel. We are working on that aspect. The next time you are in Richmond, you should try to check out the historic sites and tour some of our fabulous museums. After the recreation, we can provide you with some lovely restaurants to dine in. We would like for you to give us another shot. We are sure to please you after the next stay. Alana Jordan Acting Manager
Read More
Read Less

Comfortable bed and great service.

By

13 October 2014

club

Clean , Quiet , and Secure in the the heart of downtown. I will make this my "go to " hotel for stays in this area! Enjoyed the channel selection on the TV and the room furnishings looked new.

Posted byHotelStaff
18 October 2014
Dear Scouser05, Thank you so very much for that wonderful comment. We are pleased that we could provide an excellent stay for you. We are also proud to be your "go to" place when in Richmond. We look forward to seeing you very soon. Alana Jordan Acting Manager
Read More
Read Less

good staff

By

05 October 2014

platinumelite

Staff makes guests feel comfortable and are friendly and are ready to provide whatever assistance I might need. Breakfast is pretty good and breakfast staff is friendly

Posted byHotelStaff
07 October 2014
Dear firewood man, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that our staff could provide a pleasurable experience and stay for you. When you return, we will provide a more pleasant stay for you. Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond, VA Alana Jordan Acting Manager
Read More
Read Less