Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salem

991 Russell Road , Salem, Virginia 24153

Have a
question?
GIVE US A CALL
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
89%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.3

based on 169 reviews
89%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

169reviews

  • 5 Stars
    107
  • 4 Stars
    35
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    7

Excellent Hotel

By

12 September 2020

I stay at this hotel every time I come to visit my daughter at a nearby college. The hotel is clean and the beds are comfortable. It also has a beautiful view of the mountains.
The front desk staff is always accommodating with any needs. Highly recommended.

Read More
Read Less

Extreme Disappointment

By

07 June 2019

club

I was traveling alone with my two children. We stayed two nights and enjoyed our accommodation. On our final morning, I realized my wallet was missing. The staff was helpful in trying to help me retrace my steps, but the search was not fruitful. I had to leave the property without my wallet, traveling without any form of payment or identification to D.C.
After we traveled about an hour away I realized where my wallet was in our room. The desk clerk checked and indeed found it. This was at 9:35am. The clerk said she would get the wallet to the Holiday Inn we were heading to in D.C. by mail. At 12:38pm that same day, I called again to confirm that the staff had everything they needed to send the wallet, and I was told that everything was in order and that it would be mailed in a few hours.
On the following day, I received several phone calls at 9:30am from the Salem Holiday Inn. I was told that they had not mailed the wallet the day before as promised and needed my credit card information to send it. I asked the clerk why I was not told this information when I called to confirm at noon the day before, and the clerk shared that she tried to call me later that day but it “went straight to voicemail.” Whether or not an actual phone call was made, I can’t imagine that you wouldn’t leave a voicemail message for a woman traveling alone with children while you have her wallet.
Moreover, this urgent morning call was made while they had a staff person at FedEx with my wallet. All of my personal forms of payment were in their possession and frozen by my bank. I asked to speak to her manager and was told she was busy. I told the clerk that I needed to have a call from her directly. After not hearing from the hotel for over an hour, I called to ask again if the manager was still busy. I was told she left the property for a meeting and would be back later that afternoon. My wallet was never mailed and the general manager had no time to return my call.

I lost my wallet - I take full ownership of this fact. But I am traveling alone with my children across multiple states and this is the response from the staff at this location.

Read More
Read Less

Salem, VA Quality

By

20 October 2014

club

Over the past 4 years I have traveled between Harrisburg, PA and Atlanta, GA multiple times. When I stay overnight I have done so at the Salem, VA, Holiday Inn Express most of the time. I have also stayed at the HIEx at Wyethville, VA, which is also a quality place.

The desk staff at the Salem motel has always been welcoming and helpful and the newly remodeled interior has made this an even more attractive place in which to stay. The showers are the best hands down and all of the linens are top quality.

While I appreciate the breakfast served in the mornings and find the most variety possible, I often do not take advantage of it when I wish to get on the road earlier than when it is served. When I do however, I find a great variety that would suit most tastes!

Read More
Read Less

Check in/Check out time

By

14 October 2014

club

Can you please change the check out time to 11am to give the staff a four hour window to get the rooms ready for check in? I arrived at 2:50pm and was told that the rooms are not ready until 3pm due to check out being 12noon. There was another couple who walked in with me as well and were told the same thing.

Posted byHotelStaff
16 October 2014
Thank You so much for relaying your arrival experience onto us and i do apologize that you were not able to get checked in when you were expecting to. I will take this information and discuss with our TEAM on better ways to improve on getting rooms ready much earlier. Thank You, Robert Crouch (GM)
Read More
Read Less

comfortable bed quiet 2ed. floor

By

05 October 2014

club

safe place to stay clean and quiet room upstair,s no smoke smell,s good tv channel selection.

Posted byHotelStaff
07 October 2014
Good Morning and Thank You for your kind comments regarding your stay. We are happy to know that we supplied you with a quiet and comfortable stay. I do hope you had safe travels to your next destination and we look forward to Welcoming you back when you are in the area again. Robert Crouch (GM)
Read More
Read Less

comfortable bed and great service

By

04 October 2014

very very nice staff and comfortable room. only negative is that I could hear the tv and voices talking from adjoining room.

Posted byHotelStaff
06 October 2014
Good Evening. We would like to Thank You for letting us know of how your recent stay experience was with us and we are happy to see that your guest room and the staff lived up to your expectations as a Holiday Inn Express should. I do apologize if there was any inconvenience to you or anyone else associated within your reservation for the noise level adjacent to your guest room. We look forward to Welcoming you back when you are in the Salem , Va area again. Robert Crouch (GM)
Read More
Read Less

Best I have stayed in.

By

01 October 2014

Great place to stay. The staff were friendly and the rooms were very clean and very comfortable. In my future travels I will be staying there again, and I high recommend it.

Posted byHotelStaff
03 October 2014
Thank You for letting us know that your stay was a pleasant and comfortable one. We look forward to your return visit with us when you are in the Salem, Va. area. Robert Crouch (GM)
Read More
Read Less

A Family Fave when in the area

By

01 October 2014

club

The appearance, accommodations and staff are to be commended. However, the scramble eggs and temperature of the hot breakfast were lacking.

Posted byHotelStaff
03 October 2014
Thank You for letting us know of yoru recent stay experience with us and I am happy to see that for the most part, we kept our promise to you as our valued guest. We appreciate your comments about the scrambled eggs. We are always glad that our guest can give us the kind of feedback so that we can find ways to improve and pass this information onto the appropriate person (s).
Read More
Read Less

Fresh, relaxing decor and variety of food

By

01 October 2014

While traveling to a conference in Roanoke, we chose to drive a little further from the center to find a hotel chain we trust - and this hotel is worth the extra travel time. The rooms are very relaxing in color scheme and furniture with comfy beds and clean, soft linens. The food variety at breakfast includes light foods, healthy stuff, soul/comfort foods, and "he-man" breakfast items with plenty of room to eat in front of a wide view of the countryside. Wonderful stay!

Posted byHotelStaff
03 October 2014
Thank You. I will relay onto our staff your kind comments. We are glad that we kept our promise to you and made your stay a pleasant one. We look forward to your return visit when you are in the area again. Robert Crouch (GM)
Read More
Read Less

Great Stay

By

29 September 2014

Outstanding Hotel well recommended. For relaxing and variety of breakfast choices.

Posted byHotelStaff
01 October 2014
That is Great news and we look forward to having you back with us when you are in the area again. Robert Crouch (GM)
Read More
Read Less

Vacatio in VA

By

25 September 2014

club

Great location, good breakfast, welcoming staff, clean rooms

Posted byHotelStaff
28 September 2014
Thank You for letting us know that we made your stay a pleasant one. Please come back and see us when you are in the area again. Robert Crouch
Read More
Read Less

Very disappointed in my stay

By

23 September 2014

My first visit to this Holiday Inn Express was in the summer of 2011 when my daughter and I attended freshman orientation at Roanoke College. I have stayed there 4 plus times a year since that time. I was always greeted warmly by the staff and Janice, the manager. Janice was a constant presence. She handled every guest with professionalism and courtesy. The staff were professional, courteous, and friendly. Everyone was accommodating and smiling. Any issues were addressed immediately.
What a shock to find that Janice is no longer the manager. How the hotel has changed. It was apparent the moment I walked in the door. I assume the manager is Robert, the man I watched speak curtly with a person on the phone. I never saw him again. The staff look like scared worker ants, afraid to speak with guests.
There was no kindness when I checked in. I was just another face. How shocked I was to be ask if I would like my points or an amenities bag! Is this company policy? My points or a bag with a water and crackers/apple in it??? I always was given a bag when I checked in previously. That bag came with a "Here's your bag. Thank you for being such a good customer of Holiday Inn. We're happy to have you back!" You decide which greeting makes a guest feel happy and welcomed.
While the room was clean there were several difference. The iron didn't work - heated but spewed water all over my clothes. There was only one trash can (in the bathroom) - very inconvenient when working at the desk.
How sad that a wonderful hotel has disappeared. I will be staying there this coming weekend but don't intend to return. My drive is a long one - 9 hours - and I want to feel welcome and glad that I have arrived.

Posted byHotelStaff
29 September 2014
I apologize if we fell below your expectations. I would like to Thank You for your feedback, as it one of the best ways we are able to grow and improve our services. We hope you will try us again the next time you are in Salem, Va. Thank You, Robert Crouch General Manager
Read More
Read Less